The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2010-03-30, 07:38 PM
russellhodgson russellhodgson is offline
1.00 GB/0.00 KB/0.00
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Router trouble

I'm totally frustrated. Someone please help! I've got a Linksys WRT 54 Version 4. I'm trying to set it to allow me to open certain ports so I'm not firewalled for this site.

Im unable to get support through linksys. What do I need to do. I'm signed in to my router. So I just need directions.

Cheers,

Russ
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2010-03-31, 11:22 AM
shopkin's Avatar
shopkin shopkin is offline
The Happy Guy
558.64 GB/1.09 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SJC SO-CAL
Re: Router trouble

http://portforward.com/
great place to start.....
__________________
Kill Your Ego!!
Catch The K-Waves

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2010-04-01, 12:28 PM
mrpete's Avatar
mrpete mrpete is offline
7.27 GB/172.85 GB/23.77
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Midwest, USA
Re: Router trouble - router configs, passwords, etc.

There's another thread that makes a good point or two (EG static IP likely is a good thing) at the URL below.

http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ad.php?t=80208

I gotta agree with shopkin ... portforward.com is a good place to start. It walks you through the process based on what router/model you have and what application you are trying to configure the ports for. One thing about portforward.com is that they have advertisements there that can be difficult to tell apart from the site content.

One point about ports is that, for you, portforward.com appears to show a low port number in use for some of the P2P clients; a port below 10000. It is best for you to choose/use a random high port above 10000. 49152 - 65535 might be slightly better. Set your P2P client to use the port you've chosen.

portforward.com appears to remain silent about router passwords. You NEVER want to go with the default router password. It is possible that the router will someday be subject to a brute force password attack [(maybe intelligently) "try them all"]. Therefore, set the router password to something STRONG. No words in the PW or anything like that (p33rn3t). That includes words from other languages. Password length should be 7 - 8 chars or longer.

Have one or more of all of the below in the PW:
- upper case letters
- special chars (~!@#$%^&*)
- numbers

It is best to randomly position those numbers/specials/caps in the PW.

An excellent strategy for making a PW is to choose a "pass phrase" and use the 1st letters of the words. For example ...

four
score
and
seven
years
ago

start PW = fsasya
next step = fsa8#SYA (maybe the number 8 is your lucky number?)


If you have port problems after going through the instructions at portforward.com then post here.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Got a new router...having trouble getting connectable AGAIN - superhokie Technobabble 24 2009-07-10 08:05 PM
lan card or router? - ep620 Technobabble 1 2007-11-22 06:32 AM
router question - rents Technobabble 11 2006-08-20 10:16 PM
Firewalled with no router? - Black Dog Technobabble 5 2006-06-29 08:06 AM
"Converting" A Regular Router Into A Wirless Router? - thisistoto Technobabble 1 2005-10-11 04:08 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts