The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-06-06, 10:35 AM
Mr. Brownstone Mr. Brownstone is offline
21.69 GB/25.30 GB/1.17
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Jersey
Question DAO-2 second Gap

Morning all: This is a common question with an all too obvious answer but I still need help. How do I configure my computer to eliminate the two second gap. I have read in the FAQ about TAO and DAO and would like to know how to set up things so maybe someone would like to trade with me someday. All of my shows have gaps between tracks. Thanks very much.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-06-06, 11:06 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: DAO-2 second Gap

What software are you using to burn your shows? That would help for us to give you instructions on how to go DAO instead of TAO.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-06-06, 11:32 AM
Mr. Brownstone Mr. Brownstone is offline
21.69 GB/25.30 GB/1.17
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Jersey
Re: DAO-2 second Gap

Thanks Lynne: I'm using DB Power AMP cd writer and the converter to burn shows.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-06-06, 11:47 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: DAO-2 second Gap

I'm not sure about db power amp

foobar2000 works well. just highlight the songs you want to burn,right-click and select "Write audio cd". Make sure you have the special installer and do the "full installation" first. You can burn right from FLAC or whatever. I think this is the most painless free software solution.

and while we're at it, does anybody know why any program would want to burn audio cdrs TAO?? That's always baffled me. All audio cdrs should be DAO at all times.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-06-06, 12:07 PM
Ted Ted is offline
You are TOO
2.08 GB/7.38 GB/3.55
 
Join Date: May 2005
Re: DAO-2 second Gap

Quote:
Originally Posted by Five
...and while we're at it, does anybody know why any program would want to burn audio cdrs TAO?? That's always baffled me. All audio cdrs should be DAO at all times.
Maybe so they can add more songs later or maybe it has something to do with CDRW's
As cheap as media is nowadays, I don't see why not burn DAO, if even for only a couple of songs.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-06-07, 06:57 AM
Karst's Avatar
Karst Karst is offline
Utterly Bastard Groovy
71.16 GB/89.50 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belfast
Re: DAO-2 second Gap

It is not as if it would actually burn it as TAO but iTunes does have a setting where it inserts 2 sec gaps between tracks. Other programs do that as well and I suppose that came from people wnating to make compilations discs from studio material and wanting the 2sec. gap between tracks. Not realising probably that it makes the disc difficult to read on quite some stereo equipment.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-06-07, 05:39 PM
Morphius
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: DAO-2 second Gap

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karst
It is not as if it would actually burn it as TAO but iTunes does have a setting where it inserts 2 sec gaps between tracks. Other programs do that as well and I suppose that came from people wnating to make compilations discs from studio material and wanting the 2sec. gap between tracks. Not realising probably that it makes the disc difficult to read on quite some stereo equipment.
This is true for Nero as well. Even if you select DAO mode, it will insert a 2 second gap between each track. You have to manually remove the 2 second gap property between the tracks before burning.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-06-07, 05:58 PM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.61 GB/1.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: DAO-2 second Gap

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karst
It is not as if it would actually burn it as TAO but iTunes does have a setting where it inserts 2 sec gaps between tracks. Other programs do that as well and I suppose that came from people wnating to make compilations discs from studio material and wanting the 2sec. gap between tracks. Not realising probably that it makes the disc difficult to read on quite some stereo equipment.
iTunes will introduce microgaps even if 0 sec gap is selected.
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-06-07, 11:36 PM
Allwriter's Avatar
Allwriter Allwriter is offline
354.89 GB/186.67 GB/0.53
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: DAO-2 second Gap

Quote:
Originally Posted by ffooky
iTunes will introduce microgaps even if 0 sec gap is selected.
Yes, I have this problem! How do I burn a CD using iTunes without having a microgap/click between tracks?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2005-06-08, 03:30 AM
Evenreven's Avatar
Evenreven Evenreven is offline
smile!
11.18 GB/48.46 GB/4.33
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: DAO-2 second Gap

My guess is: stop burning with iTunes.

I don't think you can avoid the microgaps.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2005-06-08, 05:43 AM
Karst's Avatar
Karst Karst is offline
Utterly Bastard Groovy
71.16 GB/89.50 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belfast
Re: DAO-2 second Gap

Not had the problem with the microgaps. Was worried though and did a Led Zep studio disc with it and there wasn't a problem. What I did however was import it into iTunes with error correction as AIFF files set to automatic. Then burned them at two speed with gaps as none selected. I EAC'd them and put them in an audio editing program to look at the wav's more closely and there wasn't anything there. Mind you I use a PC and the 4.7 version of iTunes. I've heard people having problems on a mac where the burnspeed setting doesn't work properly. That's just my experience, think it really depends on your own setup what works?!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts