The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
• Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2010-01-06, 11:43 AM
sanpablobay's Avatar
sanpablobay sanpablobay is offline
The Fisherman
195.99 GB/512.79 GB/2.62
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ro(t)chester, NY
Question about EAC rips.

I've stopped doing CDR rips ever since it became pretty much mandatory at most torrent sites to use EAC or something similar. and, here's why. every time i've used EAC to rip a CDR i never get 100% on all tracks. all the tracks come out OK and are always 99.something%. but, i never get 100% on everything.

is this normal with EAC rips & is it still okay to post a show here if all the tracks are not 100%?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2010-01-06, 12:06 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Question about EAC rips.

yeah, thats fairly normal -- just means it had to re-read a few sectors [dirt, fingerprint, etc]...can't remember exactly, but i think anything that comes out 99.7% or above is completely fine
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2010-01-06, 12:31 PM
sanpablobay's Avatar
sanpablobay sanpablobay is offline
The Fisherman
195.99 GB/512.79 GB/2.62
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ro(t)chester, NY
Re: Question about EAC rips.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AAR.oner View Post
yeah, thats fairly normal -- just means it had to re-read a few sectors [dirt, fingerprint, etc]...can't remember exactly, but i think anything that comes out 99.7% or above is completely fine
okay. i think one or two are like 99.5%. i'm not home right now & can't check. but, i'll post the show late tonight & if it needs to be pulled, then whatever. no big deal.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2010-01-06, 12:43 PM
peaktime peaktime is offline
Banned
59.73 GB/17.70 GB/0.30
 
Join Date: May 2009
Re: Question about EAC rips.

I don't think it matters what the track quality is as long as there are no read errors. When EAC gives up and stops re-reading because it's not able to get a clean rip is when there is a problem (read error).
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2010-01-06, 01:22 PM
jamroom's Avatar
jamroom jamroom is offline
81.11 GB/305.06 GB/3.76
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Re: Question about EAC rips.

While we are on this subject, what are the collective thoughts about sharing an EAC rip where there are "suspicious positions", even though I cannot hear, or see in Audition, any problems with the sound at these "positions"? The cd was sent to me and the sender sent me his only copy.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2010-01-06, 11:58 PM
tonebloke's Avatar
tonebloke tonebloke is offline
491.13 GB/783.96 GB/1.60
 
Join Date: May 2009
Re: Question about EAC rips.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamroom View Post
While we are on this subject, what are the collective thoughts about sharing an EAC rip where there are "suspicious positions", even though I cannot hear, or see in Audition, any problems with the sound at these "positions"? The cd was sent to me and the sender sent me his only copy.
What do you mean by "suspicious positions" ?
__________________
" Your tin cup and string "recorder" is worse than a Zoom, which is saying a lot".
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2010-01-07, 12:59 PM
jamroom's Avatar
jamroom jamroom is offline
81.11 GB/305.06 GB/3.76
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Re: Question about EAC rips.

That's what was stated in the EAC log after the rip. I don't need to say that I cleaned the disc (not that it needed it), tried a rip with EAC on my laptop with the same results, so have ruled out operator / equipment error.

I had posted a query to the EAC yahoo group, but despite was I was told, it doesn't seem very active.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2010-01-07, 01:18 PM
uninvited94's Avatar
uninvited94 uninvited94 is offline
alive in the superunknown
TTD VIP
TTD Staff
2.31 TB/7.43 TB/3.22
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nine Churches, Germany
Re: Question about EAC rips.

If an EAC-rip is clean, you should read something like "no errors occured". Otherwise, there may be pointed out that there went something wrong and on which positions it happened. It ainīt enough to rip the CD via EAC, there must be no errors in the rip. If there is a track only at 99,8 or 99.9%, it still is clean. I guess anything under 99,7% has an error.

In case one track doesnīt read out properly, you may try another drive. Iīve had rips being clean on the 3rd or computer I tried.
__________________

--

"never understood the snobbishness over a microphone. I mean fuck, I killed 3 moose, 2 caribou and a bear by age 16, but I sure as hell don't go bragging about the gun used (.308). the point is to knock down the animal, not what you knock it down with.

dumbass."


(Ballsdeep, 2015-02-16)

--


Looking for any


Kaki King and Team Dresch

http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...faq_audioguide

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2010-01-07, 02:18 PM
sanpablobay's Avatar
sanpablobay sanpablobay is offline
The Fisherman
195.99 GB/512.79 GB/2.62
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ro(t)chester, NY
Re: Question about EAC rips.

Quote:
Originally Posted by uninvited94 View Post
If an EAC-rip is clean, you should read something like "no errors occured". Otherwise, there may be pointed out that there went something wrong and on which positions it happened. It ainīt enough to rip the CD via EAC, there must be no errors in the rip. If there is a track only at 99,8 or 99.9%, it still is clean. I guess anything under 99,7% has an error.

In case one track doesnīt read out properly, you may try another drive. Iīve had rips being clean on the 3rd or computer I tried.
okay. the few that weren't 100% on the rip i just did came out at 99.7% or above with no errors. so, i posted it already.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2010-01-07, 02:28 PM
Unidecker's Avatar
Unidecker Unidecker is offline
TTD VIP
2.28 TB/31.75 TB/13.91
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: right here ..where you are.
Re: Question about EAC rips.

alot of the errors are caused by jitter in diffrent drives unlessit sails failed dont sweat it in most cases..
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
TLH Shn Decoding Question + Torrent Question - EasilyFound Technobabble 13 2009-03-24 06:13 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts