The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2009-10-29, 07:38 PM
optiplex2 optiplex2 is offline
61.19 GB/6.34 GB/0.10
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
48k audio??

i recorded a show and by mistake i set the setting to record on wav at 48k. Now all my files are all wav files (48k)

would it be allright if i just convert them from a 48k wav file straight to a FLAC file using traders little helper?

or should i convert it first to a 44k wav file and then convert to FLAC?

or is it useless because I recorded it in 48k instead of 44k and should just leave it as it is, not trade or spread it out?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2009-10-29, 09:03 PM
rspencer's Avatar
rspencer rspencer is offline
TTD Hoarder
TTD Staff
262.05 GB/271.31 GB/1.04
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: the outer limits
Re: 48k audio??

If it's 16 bit, I'd downsample it to 44.1K to make it redbook standard.

You don't have to do it, but by making it CD-compliant you'd make it usable to more people.

Just my $.02
__________________
My main list .... My masters

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
Sometimes im dense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
I hate not being a real man.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2009-10-29, 09:18 PM
optiplex2 optiplex2 is offline
61.19 GB/6.34 GB/0.10
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Re: 48k audio??

yes it was recorded as 16bit 48k. thanks i guess i will change it to 44k and then to FLAC. just thought it would reduce the quality if i changed it, i guess not
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2009-10-30, 03:54 PM
alzeppelin's Avatar
alzeppelin alzeppelin is offline
650.61 GB/850.06 GB/1.31
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NW Iowa
Re: 48k audio??

You will lose quality, but 99% of the people won't tell the difference when they listen to it. I'm running into the same issue right now since I am archiving my DAT masters recorded at 16bit 48hz.

I suggest saving a straight 48khz "clone" as a flac file and creating 44khz individual flac files for CD burning. That way in case you need one or the other you have both formats available. Memory is cheap anyway.
__________________
"Putting on a headphone and listening to MP3 is like hell."
--Neil Young
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2009-10-31, 11:34 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: 48k audio??

Quote:
Originally Posted by alzeppelin View Post

I suggest saving a straight 48khz "clone" as a flac file and creating 44khz individual flac files for CD burning. That way in case you need one or the other you have both formats available. Memory is cheap anyway.
i do the same
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading audio on DVD with an alternate audio source (Mac user) - caverluke Technobabble 2 2009-06-29 06:31 AM
No audio when I FF to missing video section w/audio sync - aikox2 Technobabble 0 2006-08-26 04:24 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts