The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2009-08-12, 04:23 PM
Jerm's Avatar
Jerm Jerm is offline
131.88 GB/356.29 GB/2.70
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Question Network Media Player

Recommendations? Likes/Dislikes? Cost?

I'd like to get one of these to tie my PC into my home theater system and would definitely need flac16, flac24 and .wav support...preferably gapless playback.
Looking for something that integrates via network/ethernet cable.

Started looking online and found that there are quite a few more of these available than when I first looked at them about a year ago.

Don't have tons of cash to drop on one, but am willing to pay for something that has superior sound quality. If it can play HD .tod files that'd be awesome, but it's main use would be for audio.

If this question was already posted, kindly include a link to that discussion if ya would.

Thanks!
Jeremy
__________________
"Don't tell me your troubles. I've got enough of my own. Be thankful you're living. Drink up and go home."
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2009-08-12, 04:46 PM
dcbullet's Avatar
dcbullet dcbullet is offline
Anti-Temperance League
TTD Staff
68.39 GB/422.37 GB/6.18
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Re: Network Media Player

I'm interested in the gapless solution too. I use my PS3 but none of the software I have used has had that capability. So if you already have an XBox or a PS3, you can do this for free, but the gapless playback is an issue (at least I haven't found a solution yet).
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2009-08-12, 06:22 PM
dude87 dude87 is offline
1.11 TB/8.95 TB/8.05
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Re: Network Media Player

Why not connect a PC directly to your stereo? It doesn't have to be a high-end PC for music playback. If you've got an HD TV you can generally connect to the TV from your PC via HDMI, many HD TVs even accept standard 15 pin "VGA" connector cables. Then use the media player on the PC of your choice.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2009-08-12, 08:09 PM
dcbullet's Avatar
dcbullet dcbullet is offline
Anti-Temperance League
TTD Staff
68.39 GB/422.37 GB/6.18
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Re: Network Media Player

I assume there is a distance issue.

Additionally, these appliances or software allow you to control the media via the TV screen.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2009-08-12, 08:16 PM
SpikeKiller SpikeKiller is offline
Not Banned or Suspended... Yet
7.38 GB/10.10 GB/1.37
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Re: Network Media Player

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
I'm interested in the gapless solution too. I use my PS3 but none of the software I have used has had that capability. So if you already have an XBox or a PS3, you can do this for free, but the gapless playback is an issue (at least I haven't found a solution yet).
I tried setting that up. Apparently the PS3 doesn't recommend .WMA? What format do you use for music and video? And can you use it to watch netflix?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2009-08-12, 09:06 PM
Jerm's Avatar
Jerm Jerm is offline
131.88 GB/356.29 GB/2.70
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Re: Network Media Player

I've got a PS3 and TVersity running on the PC, but my wireless signal isn't good enough to support streaming without playback issues
Definitely need to add a wired port in the living room, but then there's the appliance issue...we tend to favor a minimalist/clean look so a PC may be a bit cumbersome.

Another nice thing would be DTS, DD decoding from flac or wav files
But it must at least support 24bit.
__________________
"Don't tell me your troubles. I've got enough of my own. Be thankful you're living. Drink up and go home."
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2009-08-12, 10:11 PM
dcbullet's Avatar
dcbullet dcbullet is offline
Anti-Temperance League
TTD Staff
68.39 GB/422.37 GB/6.18
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Re: Network Media Player

I've used TVersity and PS3 Media Server (this is a third party app, it's not from Sony). I think I like PS3 Media Server the best out of the two. But again, no gapless playback!!!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2009-08-12, 10:13 PM
dcbullet's Avatar
dcbullet dcbullet is offline
Anti-Temperance League
TTD Staff
68.39 GB/422.37 GB/6.18
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Re: Network Media Player

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpikeKiller View Post
I tried setting that up. Apparently the PS3 doesn't recommend .WMA? What format do you use for music and video? And can you use it to watch netflix?
I don't know about .wma, I don't have any files in that format. I stream mp3's or flac to my stereo and watch DVD's as downloaded here, in the TS_Video folder format.

As far as I know you can't stream netflix to PS3. I think they want you to use their PS3 store. Xbox can stream netflix.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2009-08-12, 10:43 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Network Media Player

first solution that comes to mind is to run reastream from winamp using the freeware ffx-4 plugin by victor burril. its at the bottom of this page:
http://pagesperso-orange.fr/vb-audio...ack/dxrack.htm

reaplugs here:
http://www.reaper.fm/reaplugs/index.php

I haven't tried this but have read it works very well... you just have a "recieve" computer on a local network hooked up to yer stereo then any other can be set to 'send' what you're playing to the computer by the stereo > tp the stereo. personally, I don't have a need to trigger music in another room at this time, but to each their own
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2009-08-14, 09:11 AM
Jerm's Avatar
Jerm Jerm is offline
131.88 GB/356.29 GB/2.70
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Re: Network Media Player

After looking at the specs on many of these...I'm most impressed with the Logitech Squeezebox Duet.
http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/sp.../3817&cl=us,en

The reason I'm trying to do this is because my PC work area is in a separate room from my home theater and I want to view HD videos on the 52" monitor in 1080 as well as be able to listen to shows on my HD without converting them and through my A/V receiver.
Klipsch speakers on the PC sound great, but not as good as the setup in the living room.

Thanks for the suggestions. I didn't know there was a PS3 media server. Also not sure if this Duet is gapless, but it does support flac16, flac24 so that's really all I need.
__________________
"Don't tell me your troubles. I've got enough of my own. Be thankful you're living. Drink up and go home."
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2009-08-14, 09:54 AM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Network Media Player

the Sqeezebox Duet is gapless. ($375) and has the remote with browser.

its sweet as most network/FLAC receivers are still in the $2500 range.
http://www.usa.denon.com/productdetails/3494.asp

but thats just the audio side.. no video.

this gadget is awesome for HD video playback..but no network/stream.
you cant beat it for $100: http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=572

but, you can/could purchase an entry level PC package like this PC + 20" monitor for $599 which can do it all..
con: not all audio players are preconfigured to use a remote (think winamp) and need 3rd party tweaks.
if you dont use a remote - you're back to keyboard/mouse which kinda sucks, imo.

currently Im using winamp on the local network for gapless playback
and the WDC device for HD playback of video. (two 1.5TB drives into the device = boatload of video to choose from)

also checkout www.orb.com for remote playback of audio/video (it works on your local network as well) you can even stream video and audio to a Wii web browser or cell phone (anything with a browser)

personally, Im waiting for the next gen of network audio receivers - hard drive/network direct to amp for flac audio/HD video
(these amps also handle the new HD audio codecs for blu ray..etc)

sidenote: netflix HD streaming on the xbox360 is awesome.

rambling 2 thoughts
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2009-08-14, 10:09 AM
daddyray's Avatar
daddyray daddyray is offline
wanna buy me a drink????
1.32 TB/1.80 TB/1.36
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: serenity
Re: Network Media Player

personally, Im waiting for the next gen of network audio receivers - hard drive/network direct to amp for flac audio/HD video
(these amps also handle the new HD audio codecs for blu ray..etc)...sez Wolf

Agreed... I am not even fucking with this stuff til it is sorted out more. I'll just burn stuff and play it til then.
__________________
"We're here to have a ball." Art Blakey
"Reality is a hallucination brought on by lack of alcohol." Graham Chapman
"I'll drink to your health til it ruins mine" Art Blakey
"Trust a pro" Keith Richards
"here is my offer: nothing" Mike C
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2009-08-14, 01:14 PM
dcbullet's Avatar
dcbullet dcbullet is offline
Anti-Temperance League
TTD Staff
68.39 GB/422.37 GB/6.18
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Re: Network Media Player

Quote:
Originally Posted by direwolf-pgh View Post
but, you can/could purchase an entry level PC package like this PC + 20" monitor for $599 which can do it all..
con: not all audio players are preconfigured to use a remote (think winamp) and need 3rd party tweaks.
if you dont use a remote - you're back to keyboard/mouse which kinda sucks, imo.
If one went the PC route and aesthetics were important, I would build my own computer in one of those tiny boxes or they also have black horizontal cases that could probably fit in with the stereo.

My wife would not go for a regular PC case in the living room. Too ugly.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2009-08-14, 01:23 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Network Media Player

what about one of these?

http://www.slingmedia.com/go/slingbox-prohd
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2009-08-14, 01:33 PM
SpikeKiller SpikeKiller is offline
Not Banned or Suspended... Yet
7.38 GB/10.10 GB/1.37
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Re: Network Media Player

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpikeKiller View Post
I tried setting that up. Apparently the PS3 doesn't recommend .WMA? What format do you use for music and video? And can you use it to watch netflix?
I don't know about .wma, I don't have any files in that format. I stream mp3's or flac to my stereo and watch DVD's as downloaded here, in the TS_Video folder format.

As far as I know you can't stream netflix to PS3. I think they want you to use their PS3 store. Xbox can stream netflix.
I am trying to allow is so that my PS3 can play my media files from my computer. I got the connection working, but the file format isn't working. It would appear that .mp3 and .wav are what my files need to be in for my PS3 to play them. Is that correct?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
What Media Player to use... - AfroCuban Technobabble 7 2008-01-27 12:52 AM
What media player to use.. - AfroCuban Technobabble 4 2007-10-07 06:51 PM
Windows Media Player - mkrahn Technobabble 1 2007-09-07 07:10 PM
Windows Media Player 11? - schmoe75 Technobabble 4 2006-12-23 10:46 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts