The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-05-16, 12:29 PM
direwolf direwolf is offline
82.20 GB/70.64 GB/0.86
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
flac/shn > aac

Is there any easy way to transcode flac/shn > aac using a suitable frontend ?

Before you leap up and down, this is purely for my own use and the resulting lossy files wouldn't escape from my hard drive.

ie, I'd be dragging flacs from my dvd-r archive onto the hard drive and then converting > aac for casual listening in iTunes.

My PC is hooked up to the amp - this is purely a hard drive space saving exercise.

I know I could transcode directly to mp3 but I prefer the sound quality of aac.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-05-16, 12:43 PM
spontabmark
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: flac/shn > aac

Audio File Format Converter can do it. it comes with Free CD-DA Extractor http://www.download.com/Free-CD-DA-E...ml?tag=lst-0-5
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-05-16, 05:32 PM
ssamadhi97's Avatar
ssamadhi97 ssamadhi97 is offline
meow.
87.81 GB/69.41 GB/0.79
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Old Europe
Re: flac/shn > aac

"just use foobar2000"

</knee-jerk>
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-05-16, 06:50 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: flac/shn > aac

^what he said
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-05-16, 07:06 PM
DoIFeelLucky's Avatar
DoIFeelLucky DoIFeelLucky is offline
89.39 GB/113.04 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Re: flac/shn > aac

To elaborate on foobar2000...

If you have iTunes (currently regarded as the best AAC encoder), you can use the free iTunesEncode program as a commandline encoder through foobar2000's diskwriter. Read about it here. Basically it automatically imports the track on the fly to iTunes, which then encodes it using the settings that you specify within iTunes.

In foobar2000, click the foobar2000 menu>preferences. Select "discwriter" from the list on the left. Under "output presets," click "add new," choose commandline encoder, and click OK. Then you get an empty encoder options window.

Encoder: [whatever your path to iTunesEncode is]
Extension: m4a
Parameters:
Code:
-e "AAC Encoder" -a "%a" -l "%g" -t "%t" -g "%m" -y %y -n %n -i %s -o %d
This is the commandline the author gave, but without the "-d" option, which would remove the file from iTunes (since you said that's where you wanted it to go anyway).

Format is: lossy
Highest BPS mode supported: 16

Give this encoder preset a display name, and don't worry about the other options.

Now, just select files in the playlist, right-click>convert>run conversion.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts