The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble > Lossy or Lossless?
 

Notices

Lossy or Lossless? Please use this forum to post spectral and frequency analysis posts about shows you have your doubts about.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-12-03, 03:11 PM
harmon712 harmon712 is offline
166.30 GB/333.50 GB/2.01
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Lossy or Lossless?

I was thinking about using my Zoom H4 to get the audio from DVDs would that be lossy or lossless?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-12-03, 05:18 PM
LeifH12345's Avatar
LeifH12345 LeifH12345 is offline
381.81 GB/1.67 TB/4.48
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver
Re: Lossy or Lossless?

Depends.

Only PCM (LPCM) DVD's have lossless audio. Anything else is lossy (AC3).

I might be missing one aspect, but that's the idea.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-12-03, 05:50 PM
Audioarchivist's Avatar
Audioarchivist Audioarchivist is offline
Recording/Mastering Engineer
560.16 GB/1.93 TB/3.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Re: Lossy or Lossless?

How would you be going from DVD to the Zoom?
Unless you've got some digital outs on the DVD player that go into the Zoom, you'd have to be using analog out / in and that would mean going through a needless step through extra DA/AD converters, and make it lossy in my opinion.
There are ways to rip audio directly from DVD digitally right in your computer.
But as Leif12345 said, only LPCM audio on a DVD is lossless.
__________________
"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side."
- Dr. Hunter S. Thompson (1937-2005)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-12-03, 08:27 PM
harmon712 harmon712 is offline
166.30 GB/333.50 GB/2.01
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Re: Lossy or Lossless?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audioarchivist View Post
How would you be going from DVD to the Zoom?
Unless you've got some digital outs on the DVD player that go into the Zoom, you'd have to be using analog out / in and that would mean going through a needless step through extra DA/AD converters, and make it lossy in my opinion.
There are ways to rip audio directly from DVD digitally right in your computer.
But as Leif12345 said, only LPCM audio on a DVD is lossless.
RCA inputs
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2008-12-03, 08:30 PM
harmon712 harmon712 is offline
166.30 GB/333.50 GB/2.01
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Re: Lossy or Lossless?

Thanks for the info. Maybe I'll just do it for myself and not send 'em to anyone or upload 'em.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble > Lossy or Lossless?

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Lossy or Lossless? - quadrophenia Lossy or Lossless? 14 2013-10-04 04:49 AM
Lossy or lossless? - ledzep-77 Lossy or Lossless? 2 2008-06-21 10:13 PM
Lossy or Lossless !?!?!?!?!?!? - tonygx30 Lossy or Lossless? 4 2007-10-22 08:22 AM
Lossy or Lossless - Dragonz Lossy or Lossless? 2 2007-07-21 08:42 PM
Lossy or Lossless - alchemy71085 Lossy or Lossless? 3 2005-11-07 09:34 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts