The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-11-30, 12:27 PM
Scott Scott is offline
305.86 GB/764.55 GB/2.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bottom of a bottle
Transferring vinyl to digital

What's the best way to go about this?

I have a MAC and a turntable (RCA outputs). Do I need a pre-amp?
__________________
ROMNEY 2012
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-11-30, 12:31 PM
Alex231's Avatar
Alex231 Alex231 is offline
仇連環
1.01 TB/2.17 TB/2.15
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Re: Transferring vinyl to digital

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott View Post
What's the best way to go about this?

I have a MAC and a turntable (RCA outputs). Do I need a pre-amp?
I think skip did a transfer recently. you might want to ask him, although I'm sure you will get help here also.
__________________
'This ain't employee of the month behavior!!'


Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-11-30, 12:43 PM
daddyray's Avatar
daddyray daddyray is offline
wanna buy me a drink????
1.32 TB/1.80 TB/1.36
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: serenity
Re: Transferring vinyl to digital

http://www.amazon.com/Phono-Plus-USB.../dp/B000BBGCCI

I was helped by my friend who works for ART and I still found it to be too much trouble for me but I am not so slick with this stuff...I just play the LPs.
__________________
"We're here to have a ball." Art Blakey
"Reality is a hallucination brought on by lack of alcohol." Graham Chapman
"I'll drink to your health til it ruins mine" Art Blakey
"Trust a pro" Keith Richards
"here is my offer: nothing" Mike C
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-11-30, 01:05 PM
Scott Scott is offline
305.86 GB/764.55 GB/2.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bottom of a bottle
Re: Transferring vinyl to digital

Thanks Dad. I'm guessing I'll need some type of preamp so I'll check it out.
__________________
ROMNEY 2012
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2008-11-30, 01:06 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Transferring vinyl to digital

you'll of course need to run yer turntable into a RIAA amp to boost the signal [i'm guessing yer running yer TT into a home stereo amp w/ phono in]

depending on the "quality" of transfer yer looking for, you can go a few ways...easiest/cheapest would be running TT > home stereo amp > output via RCA-to-stereo 1/8" mini > 1/8" mini input on your computer

but i'd recommend something better quality for the A/D conversion, be it a soundcard or external preamp...

personally, i transfer one of 2 ways, depending on what state the lab is in:
TT > DJ mixer > RCA > Marantz PMD671
TT > DJ mixer > 1/4" > Edirol UA5 > USB > comp


depending on the amount of records yer working on and whether or not you trust sending em thru the mail, i'd be more than happy to help ya out Scott, just PM me
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2008-11-30, 01:58 PM
Scott Scott is offline
305.86 GB/764.55 GB/2.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bottom of a bottle
Re: Transferring vinyl to digital

AA, based on a google search, I take it the "DJ Mixer" is software?

I have so many vinyl LP's and 45's lying around, this will be an ongoing project.

Let me ask you this, I have Pro Tools with an I/O box. I'm thinking I could plug the TT into the I/O box (preamp?, then record using protools?

Forgive me for not being up on Pro Tools, but I'm not.
__________________
ROMNEY 2012
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2008-11-30, 03:11 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Transferring vinyl to digital

no, by "DJ mixer" i meant my actutal mixer i used for DJing:





you can use pro tools to record with, yes...but you will need to use some sort of RIAA preamp for boosting the TT's signal level [phono] -- my mixer above is what handles this stage in my setup...you could also use a home stereo that has a specific phono/turntable input

what specific I/O box are you using? MBox? or something else....
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2008-11-30, 03:18 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Transferring vinyl to digital

also, keep in mind that your needle cartridge plays a major factor in the overall quality...as does a clean record surface

feel free to PM me if you run into any ?s or are looking for advice, i've messed with vinyl for years & am in the midst of a major archiving project as well
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2008-11-30, 03:21 PM
daddyray's Avatar
daddyray daddyray is offline
wanna buy me a drink????
1.32 TB/1.80 TB/1.36
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: serenity
Re: Transferring vinyl to digital

I'll be watch you guys.
__________________
"We're here to have a ball." Art Blakey
"Reality is a hallucination brought on by lack of alcohol." Graham Chapman
"I'll drink to your health til it ruins mine" Art Blakey
"Trust a pro" Keith Richards
"here is my offer: nothing" Mike C
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2008-11-30, 03:26 PM
Scott Scott is offline
305.86 GB/764.55 GB/2.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bottom of a bottle
Re: Transferring vinyl to digital

Yes, I have the mbox which I thought was a sort of preamp?

My home stereo is downstairs and not convenient for this project. That's why I'm searching my options for going TT>Comp.



This is going to be a huge project since I
__________________
ROMNEY 2012
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2008-12-01, 02:57 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Transferring vinyl to digital

mbox is designed to work with line inputs or microphones... you could try it with that but will most probably get the best results using an amp specifically designed to amplify the signal that comes from a turntable.

ps if you search technobabble thread titles for "vinyl" you'll find a few more threads on this topic with lots of good advice in them.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2008-12-01, 04:03 AM
Audioarchivist's Avatar
Audioarchivist Audioarchivist is offline
Recording/Mastering Engineer
560.16 GB/1.94 TB/3.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Re: Transferring vinyl to digital

standard turntable outputs are similar in level to microphone - except for grounding the TT if you can adapt the rca's to go mic in you might be all set, but a TT preamp is an easier way and probably better.
I have gone TT out rca > 1/4 inch adapters into mic in, but that mbox has xlr mic in, line in 1/4 and DI 1/4, so I dunno 4 sure. Ground wire (if your TT has an external ground wire) could attach to something metal on the mbox or to the outer ring of one of the rca's - just listen for no more buzzing hum when it's on right.
With most mic pre's there's some sort of trim pot or pad that will let you adjust levels to boost or cut enough to bypass a TT pre altogether...
__________________
"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side."
- Dr. Hunter S. Thompson (1937-2005)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
tape transferring - desiderus Technobabble 104 2010-12-15 07:59 PM
Help with transferring/seeding/etc...! - dannyandamie Technobabble 14 2008-11-26 11:13 PM
Transferring Mini DV to DVD - bosscheech Technobabble 9 2008-09-15 11:00 AM
transferring cassettes to cdr - PEPPER Technobabble 20 2007-01-15 05:37 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts