The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-04-27, 07:16 AM
silentmachine's Avatar
silentmachine silentmachine is offline
I'm down here for your soul
23.34 GB/1.93 GB/0.08
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Limerick, Ireland
Arrow Website link in DVD menu?

Hey everyone!

I want to put a link to a website on a DVD menu so when the user selects this option, provided they are using the DVD on a PC with internet access, their default browser will display the website. Is this possible? If so, how?

Thanks in advance!!
Dominic
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-04-27, 08:47 AM
diggrd's Avatar
diggrd diggrd is offline
1.08 TB/1.70 TB/1.57
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SWNH
Re: Website link in DVD menu?

I think I've only seen a DVD open a page from the disk in a browser, using autorun.inf, then that page has links to the web. Don't know if what you ask can be done, but I was wondering if anyone knew how to put Easter eggs in a DVD?
__________________
DEMONROAST
LIST
Scene of a Perfect Crime


Quote:
Originally posted by frankenberry
anybody else who decides to call me a fuckhead troll newbie (you know who you are) should be made to listen to phish bootleg taped by a '73 led zeppelin taper
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-04-27, 08:54 AM
silentmachine's Avatar
silentmachine silentmachine is offline
I'm down here for your soul
23.34 GB/1.93 GB/0.08
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Limerick, Ireland
Re: Website link in DVD menu?

That might do, how can I do that? Using autorun.inf?
Appreciate the help!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-04-27, 10:01 AM
diggrd's Avatar
diggrd diggrd is offline
1.08 TB/1.70 TB/1.57
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SWNH
Re: Website link in DVD menu?

I'm at work and don't have a music dvd handy but a MS-Office DVD has something similar it's like this

a page with a link (default.htm), then a txt file autorun.inf containing

[autorun]

OPEN=Autorun\ShelExec default.htm

then on the disc it has a folder with the shellexec.exe
and in the root the autorun.inf and the default.inf

I will be going home soon and I will check a music DVD and post what I find
__________________
DEMONROAST
LIST
Scene of a Perfect Crime


Quote:
Originally posted by frankenberry
anybody else who decides to call me a fuckhead troll newbie (you know who you are) should be made to listen to phish bootleg taped by a '73 led zeppelin taper
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-04-27, 10:12 AM
silentmachine's Avatar
silentmachine silentmachine is offline
I'm down here for your soul
23.34 GB/1.93 GB/0.08
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Limerick, Ireland
Re: Website link in DVD menu?

I'd appreciate that...thanks diggrd!!!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-04-27, 12:25 PM
willndmb willndmb is offline
TTD VIP
437.11 GB/9.78 TB/22.92
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NY
Re: Website link in DVD menu?

you can put a link, i have never done it so i can't give you details

you can also do easter eggs, those i have done
you make your menu
you make your menu overlay, usually has to be in greyscale
you have a "egg" button that is ONLY on the overlay (the overlay is not seen unless a highlight button is on top of the actual greyscale writing)
in your authoring program you add a button that goes to the "egg" and set the other bottons so that there is only ONE that if you press right/left/up/down, whatever, EXACTLY right it moves to and highlights the "egg"

you can get more complex if you want by making 2 or 3 moves before it highlights the "egg" but for most people they will not even find it with one simple move and if anyone really wants to find a egg they can do it easy on a comp by moving the mouse over the menu and seeifn ig any hidden highlights appear
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-04-28, 11:00 AM
4candles 4candles is offline
6.36 GB/18.25 GB/2.87
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Website link in DVD menu?

There is something called "DVD@ccess" for embedding URLs into DVD menus, but I don't know very much about it. It seems to have been invented by a German company (Astarte Gmbh) in 2000, and has been adopted by Apple as a standard feature of its DVD authoring and playing software.

I don't know what PC-based authoring software supports it, but apparently, a DVD authored with DVD@ccess will "enable links on any Windows DVD player". Not quite sure how that can work though.

Dave.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-04-29, 06:00 PM
willndmb willndmb is offline
TTD VIP
437.11 GB/9.78 TB/22.92
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NY
Re: Website link in DVD menu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4candles
"DVD@ccess"
in 2000, and has been adopted by Apple as a standard feature of its DVD authoring and playing software.
that must be why i know you can do it, i have seen places in studio pro to link sites
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-04-30, 09:58 AM
diggrd's Avatar
diggrd diggrd is offline
1.08 TB/1.70 TB/1.57
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SWNH
Re: Website link in DVD menu?

The jimi hendrix DVD I have uses a macromedia executable "jimiweb.exe" and this autorun.inf file

[autorun]
open=JIMIWEB.exe

King Crimson's "deja VROOOM" has one that prompts to load acrobat to read a pdf but no web link
[autorun]
OPEN=KC_VIEW.EXE
ICON=EARTH.ICO

Tull's "Living in the Past" has a contact page with the url but no hyperlink, same with Classic Rock Legends Progressive Rock Collection

haven't found any with a link in the menu yet
__________________
DEMONROAST
LIST
Scene of a Perfect Crime


Quote:
Originally posted by frankenberry
anybody else who decides to call me a fuckhead troll newbie (you know who you are) should be made to listen to phish bootleg taped by a '73 led zeppelin taper
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2005-04-30, 12:26 PM
willndmb willndmb is offline
TTD VIP
437.11 GB/9.78 TB/22.92
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NY
Re: Website link in DVD menu?

maybe i will make one for fun to see how it works in dvdsp
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
DVD menu comes up then NOTHING !!! - Harry Herbert Technobabble 2 2008-03-27 10:00 PM
Burning a menu to dvd - RattleandHum1988 Technobabble 3 2007-07-20 04:29 PM
DVD Menu maker - zapattack Technobabble 4 2007-04-29 11:35 PM
Azureus Creating a file with is a dead link AND GSPOT link bad - doberman Technobabble 3 2006-08-22 06:18 PM
Dvd menu - ron_senses Technobabble 3 2005-06-13 09:45 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts