The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-10-09, 07:33 PM
DialUpSufferer DialUpSufferer is offline
7.07 GB/5.58 GB/0.79
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
My ratio isn't right

As my name suggests, I've been using a dial-up connection for the past 1.5 years. I just upgraded to a broadband connection, so I've been letting uTorrent run at night to improve my bad ratio. I've uploaded over 3 gigs in the past couple days on top of my pre-broadband upload of about 700 MB, but the site isn't showing that. On uTorrent, my tracker status lately usually reads "connection blocked by peer", so I'm assuming that that has something to do with it. Am I doing something wrong? Is this fixable? Also, is there any way to fix my upload counter/ratio to where it should be? Any help with solving this would be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-10-09, 08:14 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: My ratio isn't right

Make sure you turn DHT off, or your client may bypass the tracker when connecting to users and thus you won't get your stats updated. I will add another 3 GB to your upload stats, but please make sure you turn DHT off or your stats will continue to be off.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-10-09, 08:24 PM
DialUpSufferer DialUpSufferer is offline
7.07 GB/5.58 GB/0.79
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Re: My ratio isn't right

Thanks! I think I was only getting connections through DHT because my tracker has that "connection closed by peer" message. I couldn't find anything in the FAQ about that. Is there a fix?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-10-09, 10:51 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: My ratio isn't right

Quote:
Originally Posted by DialUpSufferer View Post
Thanks! I think I was only getting connections through DHT because my tracker has that "connection closed by peer" message. I couldn't find anything in the FAQ about that. Is there a fix?
Yes, the fix is to turn off DHT in your bittorrent client. Both Azureus and uTorrent allow you to turn it off in the Preferences/Options.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Ratio ?? - bird13 Site Announcements & Suggestions 1 2008-03-26 03:42 PM
my u/l ratio - kn5150 Technobabble 9 2008-01-03 06:05 PM
Ratio - Jimijames Technobabble 2 2006-11-26 12:27 PM
Why is my ratio so sh*tty? - CGriswald309B Technobabble 2 2006-11-11 10:32 PM
Where's my DL/UL ratio gone? - NOP Site Announcements & Suggestions 1 2005-10-25 12:16 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts