The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-10-04, 01:32 PM
macaronihead macaronihead is offline
541.55 GB/267.20 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: May 2007
Firewalled, Port forwarding help!

So it says I'm Firewalled and on dreamingtree.org. So shouldn't i not be able to seed at all? Except my bittorrent is uploading and says it's connected to peers in swarms and what not. Does this mean I'm not really firewalled? I've been to portforward.com and tried to set up a static IP but when I did that then I lost internet connection. Could anyone explain or help me out with this portforwarding business, I'd really like to get my ratio up!

Thank you,

Mal
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-10-04, 01:39 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
467.74 GB/2.01 TB/4.40
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewalled, Port forwarding help!

Being firewalled simply means you cannot connect to other firewalled users. So, if other non-firewalled users are on a torrent, you will be able to connect with them and share data.

When you set up the static IP, you need to both change it on your computer and on the router at the same time or it will not work.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-10-04, 01:46 PM
macaronihead macaronihead is offline
541.55 GB/267.20 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: May 2007
Re: Firewalled, Port forwarding help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne View Post
Being firewalled simply means you cannot connect to other firewalled users. So, if other non-firewalled users are on a torrent, you will be able to connect with them and share data.

When you set up the static IP, you need to both change it on your computer and on the router at the same time or it will not work.
Do I need to be connect via ethernet to do this? Because I have my router set to use a static IP but then when I do it on my computer it loses connection.

Last edited by macaronihead; 2008-10-04 at 01:53 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-10-04, 02:00 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
467.74 GB/2.01 TB/4.40
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewalled, Port forwarding help!

Sometimes when you do it on your router, it says something like only allow static IPs in a certain range (192.168.1.200 - 192.168.1.254 as an example). Does yours say anything like that? Cuz perhaps you are picking an invalid IP to be using for your computer.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2008-10-04, 02:05 PM
macaronihead macaronihead is offline
541.55 GB/267.20 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: May 2007
Re: Firewalled, Port forwarding help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne View Post
Sometimes when you do it on your router, it says something like only allow static IPs in a certain range (192.168.1.200 - 192.168.1.254 as an example). Does yours say anything like that? Cuz perhaps you are picking an invalid IP to be using for your computer.
Now I got the static IP to work, yet I'm still firewalled here and still not connectable on dreamingtree.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2008-10-04, 02:56 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
467.74 GB/2.01 TB/4.40
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewalled, Port forwarding help!

OK, baby steps! You're on your way!

Now you need to forward your port in your router. You need to note the port you are using in yoru bittorrent client (make sure it isn't set to randomly pick one) and then note your computer's static IP (the one that looks like 192.168.1 xxx) and get into your router and forward that particular port number to that particular static IP. portforward.com should be able to help with that - go to the Port Forward tab and select your router model/make and then your bittorrent client and it should tell you how.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2008-10-05, 04:48 PM
macaronihead macaronihead is offline
541.55 GB/267.20 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: May 2007
Re: Firewalled, Port forwarding help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne View Post
OK, baby steps! You're on your way!

Now you need to forward your port in your router. You need to note the port you are using in yoru bittorrent client (make sure it isn't set to randomly pick one) and then note your computer's static IP (the one that looks like 192.168.1 xxx) and get into your router and forward that particular port number to that particular static IP. portforward.com should be able to help with that - go to the Port Forward tab and select your router model/make and then your bittorrent client and it should tell you how.
ah I've done that before and it always errors! It says internal error when i try to do that. I have a netgear wgr614v9 router. when i try to set up the port when i enter the IP server it says: Triggering Internal Error!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2008-10-05, 05:13 PM
macaronihead macaronihead is offline
541.55 GB/267.20 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: May 2007
Re: Firewalled, Port forwarding help!

If i'm downloading more than one torrent on a time do i need to add more ports in my router set up? and it was telling me the IP address had to be LAN IP. so they're being forwarded to my computer's IP? I'm just so confused.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2008-10-05, 05:51 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
467.74 GB/2.01 TB/4.40
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewalled, Port forwarding help!

Here is a page for the Netgear WGR614v9 router and Azureus (you never said what bt client you used). Did you follow a page like that before?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2008-10-05, 06:24 PM
macaronihead macaronihead is offline
541.55 GB/267.20 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: May 2007
Re: Firewalled, Port forwarding help!

yeah i used that page i use bittorrent. I set up a static IP, supposedly forwarded my ports... I just don't know what the deal is.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2008-10-05, 07:50 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
467.74 GB/2.01 TB/4.40
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewalled, Port forwarding help!

Here's the page for bittorrent - http://www.portforward.com/english/r...BitTorrent.htm

What port are you trying to use? And how about what local IP are you using? Notice that you need to select port forward, not port trigger. It sounds from your error that you selected port trigger.

I am pretty sure that if you use bittorrent, then you will need to forward several ports. If you plan to have five torrents running at a time, you will have to forward five ports.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2008-12-08, 10:44 AM
melissaatje melissaatje is offline
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Re: Firewalled, Port forwarding help!

I have been searching for a solution to this problem for hours.
Finally I discovered that you have to switch UPnP off in order to be able to forward the ports.

UPnP can be found in the left menu. Good luck!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Firewalled!-Port Forwarding Isn't Helping - fullbug Technobabble 12 2008-03-23 01:16 PM
Port Forwarding - James Reed Technobabble 1 2007-06-28 12:47 PM
Port forwarding help please - deadone Technobabble 9 2007-06-07 10:23 AM
Firewalled after port forwarding - ssquirrel Technobabble 0 2006-06-02 07:52 PM
Help with Port Forwarding... - undeath Technobabble 65 2005-06-17 08:33 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts