The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-09-14, 02:35 PM
artatore artatore is offline
3.27 GB/1.77 GB/0.54
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
why does the sound sometimes explode?

OK, I am relativly new to torrents, about a year.
I found out that sometimes, independant of the band or the place where I get the torrents from, when I open them up in foobar and record them via cool edit and NERO onto the disc I have a sudden change in sound at the point where tracks change (never more than 1 or 2 occassions on the certain bootleg).
When I say change in sound, I mean that at 0.00 of a new tracks the crowd can be heard clapping louder than at the very last second of the previous song. Usually it happens when the track changes from electric to acoustic. After that specific track is over, sounds turns down again at 0.00.
If anyone knows why that is so or knows what I shall do (if I can) to fix that, your help will be much appreciated. Thanx
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-09-14, 02:58 PM
mooncusser's Avatar
mooncusser mooncusser is offline
bright ambassador of morning
387.63 GB/586.28 GB/1.51
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near a man-made island
Re: why does the sound sometimes explode?

echo...echo...
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

Quote:
Vince Gill:
I just got an award presented to me by a Beatle. Have you had that happen yet, Kanye?
Quote:
Originally Posted by karmakat View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameskg View Post
I knew that was the wrong answer
such is the nature of Gilligan.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-09-14, 03:08 PM
artatore artatore is offline
3.27 GB/1.77 GB/0.54
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Re: why does the sound sometimes explode?

echo!?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-09-14, 03:13 PM
datdork datdork is offline
629.09 GB/562.36 GB/0.89
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: why does the sound sometimes explode?

why are you using cool edit at all? just burn with nero or something else.

now onto the issue. sounds to me like you have normalized or reapplied gain. you don't want to do either. what are you using to convert? are you using foobar? what ever program make sure there isn't a setting checked etc for reapply gain. if there isn't make sure you aren't normalizing in nero. hope that helps.
__________________
"Rock and Roll means well, but it can’t help tellin’ young boys lies."
Mike Cooley
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2008-09-14, 03:45 PM
mooncusser's Avatar
mooncusser mooncusser is offline
bright ambassador of morning
387.63 GB/586.28 GB/1.51
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near a man-made island
Re: why does the sound sometimes explode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by artatore View Post
echo!?
you posted the same thing twice, except this thread has smilies.
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ad.php?t=64088
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

Quote:
Vince Gill:
I just got an award presented to me by a Beatle. Have you had that happen yet, Kanye?
Quote:
Originally Posted by karmakat View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameskg View Post
I knew that was the wrong answer
such is the nature of Gilligan.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2008-09-16, 06:33 PM
artatore artatore is offline
3.27 GB/1.77 GB/0.54
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Re: why does the sound sometimes explode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by datdork View Post
why are you using cool edit at all? just burn with nero or something else.

now onto the issue. sounds to me like you have normalized or reapplied gain. you don't want to do either. what are you using to convert? are you using foobar? what ever program make sure there isn't a setting checked etc for reapply gain. if there isn't make sure you aren't normalizing in nero. hope that helps.
Like I said I am relativly new to torrents... How can I record flac without cool edit before getting to NERO when NERO doesn't support flac files?? Are you saying I don't even have to go through all of this trouble flac-foobar-cool edit - nero - cd
thanx
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2008-09-16, 06:59 PM
maidencolorado's Avatar
maidencolorado maidencolorado is offline
65.02 GB/1.56 TB/24.58
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Re: why does the sound sometimes explode?

Get Trader's Little Helper ( http://tlh.easytree.org ) , let that handle your FLAC conversions, then burn as you normally would with Nero
__________________
www.maidencolorado.com

Trade Status: VERY limited trading

My YouTube Channel
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2008-09-16, 09:43 PM
rspencer's Avatar
rspencer rspencer is offline
TTD Hoarder
TTD Staff
178.57 GB/225.72 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: the outer limits
Re: why does the sound sometimes explode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by artatore View Post
Like I said I am relativly new to torrents... How can I record flac without cool edit before getting to NERO when NERO doesn't support flac files?? Are you saying I don't even have to go through all of this trouble flac-foobar-cool edit - nero - cd
thanx
NERO does support flac. I burn directly using NERO.
__________________
My main list .... My masters

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCMAN101 View Post
Sorry. I'm busy not partying at college.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
I hate not being a real man.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2008-09-17, 06:12 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
ense et aratro
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: why does the sound sometimes explode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rspencer View Post
NERO does support flac. I burn directly using NERO.
yup, you can d/l the plugin here:
http://www.bitburners.com/category/s...audio-plugins/


but you should definitely have Traders Little Helper as well
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
Basics of EQing

"A man is none the less a slave because he is allowed to choose a new master once in a term of years."
- Lysander Spooner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Redoing sound on DVD - Wizardry007 Technobabble 1 2009-04-27 06:22 PM
NO Sound!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please Help! - gooshmoo Technobabble 11 2008-07-17 12:43 AM
low sound - rollenran Technobabble 9 2008-02-01 04:37 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts