The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #61  
Old 2008-11-03, 09:56 AM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: What about High Definition streams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltman View Post
I've "streamed" blu-rays to my 24" monitor that is hdcp compliant via hdmi (dvi also fwiw). That's the same thing right? My card is pretty cheap and I haven't noticed any issues. Never to a TV yet but I can't imagine it would be an issue. What is the conflicting info. you are seeing? Are you questioning whether it is worth having an HD TV without HDCP DVI?
I was curious if anyone could recommend (make/model) a 'tested out' HDMI (out) video card.
I've read that some were choppy in blu ray playback - rejected by the HDCP..etc..etc.
a video card HDMI 1.3 compliant connection is what I'm after/curious about. (as an alternative to a blu ray/upscale standalone player)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #62  
Old 2008-12-16, 07:21 AM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Icon4 TMPGEnc Authoring Works 4

I tested today TMPGEnc Authoring Works 4 with the following clips (5 minutes each):
* AVCHD (.m2ts) from Sony HDR-SR7E camera
* H264 1920x1080 25fps / AC3 2.0 448 kbps DVB-S satellite stream from Astra HD channel
* H264 1280x720 25fps / MP2 384 kbps DVB-S satellite stream from Arte HD channel
* MPEG2 HD 720x576 25fps (10.7 Mbps) / MP2 384 kbps DVB-S satellite stream from Hungarian M2 channel

Works OK with .ts and .m2ts containers containing MPEG2 HD and/or H264 video - seems that it has built-in AVCHD reader.

Cannot open demuxed .h264 file. Kinda strange. Maybe it depends on installed codecs - I have Haali Media Splitter which works great with any other software.

May output BR video in MPEG2 HD format only, thus any H264 is converted.

In default audio setting ("Automatic", no conversion) source audio AC3 448 kbps from m2ts/ts container is converted to AC3 224 kbps (sic!). Dialog normalization is set to -31 db which is very low, and audio bandwidth is limitted to 18 kHz.
Of course any MP2 audio has to be converted to AC3 or PCM to be compatible with BR standard.

Conversion time from H264 to MPEG2 HD is good: it took 11 minutes to convert 5 min. clip (Intel Core 2 Duo 6400).

MPEG2 HD renders to BR without any (partial) conversion, at least for the file I had.

Menu design, including pop-up, is identical to DVD one, known from previous versions of the program. Rendering quality is very good.

So, for any H264 in .ts/m2ts source TDA4 should be avoided like a plague, especially for music videos as it converts audio. Perhaps it can be avoided if audio is demuxed and imported to TDA4 separately.

TDA4 has new rendering preview window which shows what frames are being converted only. Preview for standard definition DVB-S captures shows that a lot, even the source is fully compatible with DVD standard (GOP structure, and bitrate)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #63  
Old 2008-12-26, 01:44 PM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: What about High Definition streams?

PS3 Media Server is a DLNA compliant Upnp Media Server for the PS3, written in Java, with the purpose of streaming or transcoding any kind of media files, with minimum configuration. It's backed up with the powerful Mplayer/FFmpeg packages. All formats PS3 natively supports: MP3/WMA, JPG/PNG/GIF/TIFF, and all kind of videos (AVI, MP4, TS, M2TS, MPEG) the ps3 is willing to play. You can choose with a virtual folder system your audio/subtitle language on the PS3! Freeware.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #64  
Old 2011-05-29, 09:20 AM
jabulon's Avatar
jabulon jabulon is offline
IC Elvis & hear God on my iPod
TTD Staff
704.58 GB/2.33 TB/3.39
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Latitude: 52,3500, Longitude: 4,9167, Altitude: High
Re: What about High Definition streams?

Interesting thread this.
__________________
Dubbin' is a must. Strictly add music!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #65  
Old 2013-10-02, 11:41 AM
doctorzap's Avatar
doctorzap doctorzap is offline
TTD VIP
227.75 GB/1.40 TB/6.30
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: West Haven
Re: What about High Definition streams?

what about my Nikon s9100 it is 1080 p .mov files /

are they allowed ?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #66  
Old 2013-10-02, 11:55 AM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: What about High Definition streams?

good question. I know many tv shows use handheld HD cameras today.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #67  
Old 2013-10-03, 09:08 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: What about High Definition streams?

the problem with consumer-level dslr's & video is that there are so many quality factors involved that, for us, creating a simple "rule" is impossible -- there's as many factors as there are camera models

i'm not familiar with this camera model, and i leave all judgements up to the video mods, but theoretically if your shooting at 1080p and use a high-quality intermediary codec like ProRes 422 for your editing, i don't see why it wouldn't be allowed...but thats just my personal opinion, not TTD Rules
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #68  
Old 2013-10-03, 11:52 AM
vladsmythe's Avatar
vladsmythe vladsmythe is online now
TTD VIP
11.01 TB/4.71 TB/0.43
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: What about High Definition streams?

I put HD files that I download on a portable hard drive and play it on TV with this: http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=330
USB in - HDMI out. It also works wirelessly to an existing network.
This device plays every media format that I have thrown at it, with the exception of SHN files, which I haven't tried yet.
__________________
"Anyone that likes Bob Wills' music is bound to have some good in them."
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #69  
Old 2013-10-03, 04:41 PM
Homebrew101's Avatar
Homebrew101 Homebrew101 is online now
1.35 TB/1.44 TB/1.07
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: City of Festivals
Re: What about High Definition streams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vladsmythe View Post
I put HD files that I download on a portable hard drive and play it on TV with this: http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=330
USB in - HDMI out. It also works wirelessly to an existing network.
This device plays every media format that I have thrown at it, with the exception of SHN files, which I haven't tried yet.
so can that play DVD files I download from here withouthaving to change anything? just point it to the VIDEO_TS folder of the VOB files within it?


Edit: I see one model can't play both NTSC and PAL
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddyray View Post
I got a big bunch of dick, I am measuring it with a chicken.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #70  
Old 2013-10-03, 04:45 PM
vladsmythe's Avatar
vladsmythe vladsmythe is online now
TTD VIP
11.01 TB/4.71 TB/0.43
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: What about High Definition streams?

I think you can do it that way, but not sure. I know it works 'cause I tried it. You might have to open the VIDEO_TS folder and start the video by selecting VOB 01. Mine plays both PAL and NTSC. I tested it by watching Jazz vids from PAL sources.
__________________
"Anyone that likes Bob Wills' music is bound to have some good in them."
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #71  
Old 2013-10-04, 01:54 PM
doctorzap's Avatar
doctorzap doctorzap is offline
TTD VIP
227.75 GB/1.40 TB/6.30
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: West Haven
Re: What about High Definition streams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AAR.oner View Post
the problem with consumer-level dslr's & video is that there are so many quality factors involved that, for us, creating a simple "rule" is impossible -- there's as many factors as there are camera models

i'm not familiar with this camera model, and i leave all judgements up to the video mods, but theoretically if your shooting at 1080p and use a high-quality intermediary codec like ProRes 422 for your editing, i don't see why it wouldn't be allowed...but thats just my personal opinion, not TTD Rules


I think with sony vegas you can edit mov files directly if you have quicktime installed ?

I will be shooting some video soon so hopefully this can be resolved

also shooting with an asus tf700t that also has a great lens and 1080 p !
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
High Definition poll - AAR.oner Technobabble 9 2008-10-25 01:27 AM
Motorola Dual-Tuner DVR High-Definition DCT6412 - Black Dog Technobabble 1 2005-10-18 10:09 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts