The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-08-30, 06:20 PM
leex100 leex100 is offline
leex100
44.94 GB/299.59 GB/6.67
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
mp3 samples problem

Hi.
Would anyone know why an mp3 sample uploaded to the site would playback with flaws even although the original mp3 sample is flaw free and when uploaded a second time (the exact same sample) reproduces with no flaws.
I've had this happen a number of times on different torrents.
I use Switch to convert the WAV to mp3 and the mp3's are always fine but need uploaded twice or more to play flaw free on site?

Cheers

Last edited by leex100; 2008-08-31 at 09:26 AM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-08-31, 01:03 PM
Audioarchivist's Avatar
Audioarchivist Audioarchivist is offline
Recording/Mastering Engineer
560.16 GB/1.94 TB/3.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Re: mp3 samples problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by leex100 View Post
Hi.
Would anyone know why an mp3 sample uploaded to the site would playback with flaws even although the original mp3 sample is flaw free and when uploaded a second time (the exact same sample) reproduces with no flaws.
I've had this happen a number of times on different torrents.
I use Switch to convert the WAV to mp3 and the mp3's are always fine but need uploaded twice or more to play flaw free on site?

Cheers
I'd have to say it could be a bad connection you have for uploading, and the data is getting corrupted on the way from your modem to the site...
__________________
"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side."
- Dr. Hunter S. Thompson (1937-2005)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-08-31, 02:20 PM
leex100 leex100 is offline
leex100
44.94 GB/299.59 GB/6.67
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Re: mp3 samples problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audioarchivist View Post
I'd have to say it could be a bad connection you have for uploading, and the data is getting corrupted on the way from your modem to the site...
Thanks for the suggestion, it's a possible answer but I must say that the problem is site specific?
I don't have the problem on any other site.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-08-31, 02:24 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: mp3 samples problem

I'm not getting any database errors from your upload so I'm not sure what the problem may be.

Have you heard of any others having this problem? What ISP are you using? And has this happened forever or just lately? Do you see this problem when you download mp3 samples from others or just from your uploaded mp3 samples?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2008-08-31, 02:38 PM
leex100 leex100 is offline
leex100
44.94 GB/299.59 GB/6.67
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Re: mp3 samples problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne View Post
I'm not getting any database errors from your upload so I'm not sure what the problem may be.

Have you heard of any others having this problem? What ISP are you using? And has this happened forever or just lately? Do you see this problem when you download mp3 samples from others or just from your uploaded mp3 samples?
Hi
If you have time to play the Coldplay trouble sample on the Coldplay live Radio Theatre at about 45 sec's an error appears?
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ad.php?t=63525

The ISP etc are large established providers and with regard to when the problem started I think I've always had it. Sometimes it works first time but most of the time not and I don't think I've taken many sample downloads or at least I've not noticed a problem with other users torrents.

Cheers
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2008-08-31, 04:17 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: mp3 samples problem

Yeah, I can barely hear a tiny blip. I don't think I would have noticed it unless you told me where it was! I really can't think of what is going on though. It simply gets uploaded to the site via your ISP and TTD's host (and of course all the in between servers). I can't think of anything I can do though since I'm getting no errors and wouldn't know what to look at. Very weird.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2008-08-31, 04:21 PM
leex100 leex100 is offline
leex100
44.94 GB/299.59 GB/6.67
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Re: mp3 samples problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne View Post
Yeah, I can barely hear a tiny blip. I don't think I would have noticed it unless you told me where it was! I really can't think of what is going on though. It simply gets uploaded to the site via your ISP and TTD's host (and of course all the in between servers). I can't think of anything I can do though since I'm getting no errors and wouldn't know what to look at. Very weird.

Hi.

Thanks for taking the time to listen it's appreciated and to be honest it's not a great problem just a little frustrating

Thanks again

Cheers
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2008-08-31, 06:19 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: mp3 samples problem

very strange... you could try running an md5 on the file before uploading, then re-download and check it against the downloaded version to detect one iota of difference. that doesn't exactly solve the problem, but will make checking the files a little bit faster.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2008-08-31, 07:07 PM
leex100 leex100 is offline
leex100
44.94 GB/299.59 GB/6.67
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Re: mp3 samples problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Five View Post
very strange... you could try running an md5 on the file before uploading, then re-download and check it against the downloaded version to detect one iota of difference. that doesn't exactly solve the problem, but will make checking the files a little bit faster.
Thanks for the suggestion I'll try it on the next upload.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
MP3 samples? - ZeppHead72 Technobabble 1 2006-12-01 06:29 AM
winrar, DVD Decrypter, etc no problem. --> nero authored by Movie Domino is a problem - cardinalae Technobabble 0 2006-03-02 12:48 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts