The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-04-20, 12:12 PM
DDSTree's Avatar
DDSTree DDSTree is offline
Dentist
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
DVD Audio - MPEG 2CH/TOSLINK problem

I recently obtained a copy of the UNC/Illinois NCAA Championship game on DVD (Go HEELS !!!), and the audio is in MPEG 2CH, but for argument's sake, we'll say it's one of the Dave Matthews Band woodstock shows (which is also in MPEG 2CH).

My problem is the video plays just fine, but I get no audio coming thru my receiver.

my setup:
Toshiba standalone DVD player (3108)
component video cables direct to TV
TOSLINK digital optical cable to receiver

Is the Toslink cable the problem? Do I have to use RCA (red/white) cables in order to listen to this?

thanks
__________________
- Doc
Traders' Den Staff

Charlotte Laser Dentist . com | Tongue & Lip Tie issues
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-04-20, 12:17 PM
jcrab66's Avatar
jcrab66 jcrab66 is offline
We all walk the Long Road....
75.63 GB/483.42 GB/6.39
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Bootleg
Re: DVD Audio - MPEG 2CH/TOSLINK problem

wouldnt hurt to try it, my gut feeling is yes you need to use RCA but now i am gonna have to experiment with that myself...
__________________
If you want to see a damn good live show check out THIS band.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-04-20, 08:24 PM
DDSTree's Avatar
DDSTree DDSTree is offline
Dentist
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Re: DVD Audio - MPEG 2CH/TOSLINK problem

figure it out jc?

or anyone have input on this?
__________________
- Doc
Traders' Den Staff

Charlotte Laser Dentist . com | Tongue & Lip Tie issues
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-04-20, 09:06 PM
wazoo2u wazoo2u is offline
82.15 MB/96.22 MB/1.17
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: DVD Audio - MPEG 2CH/TOSLINK problem

Isn't there a menu for audio output configuration ? Explore those possibilities ?

Just a thought.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
unzipping MPEG-2 Audio - alzeppelin Technobabble 4 2007-05-08 04:10 PM
Problem with MPEG-2 - zappoli Technobabble 3 2007-03-17 09:49 AM
MPEG-4 Audio Lossless is served - ffooky Technobabble 26 2005-12-31 07:08 AM
Main Concept MPEG Encoder problem HELP! - livedead13 Technobabble 5 2005-06-23 12:58 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts