The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 2008-06-17, 01:30 AM
tgunn2760's Avatar
tgunn2760 tgunn2760 is offline
1.12 TB/1.19 TB/1.06
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, eh?
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by bokkers View Post
To make sure older standalone players can read the disc too, it's best to also create an AUDIO_TS folder on the disc, even if it's empty.
How old would these players be?
__________________
Partial DVD list here:
http://db.etree.org/tgunn2760

Text file of over 1500 DVDs:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxX3...Q2M/edit?pli=1

Trading status: Canada and USA only-please VERIFY all discs.

http://db.etree.org/public_wantlist....erid=tgunn2760
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #17  
Old 2008-06-17, 03:37 AM
vladsmythe's Avatar
vladsmythe vladsmythe is offline
TTD VIP
10.95 TB/4.69 TB/0.43
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by tgunn2760 View Post
How old would these players be?
I'm with tgunn on this. How old are we talking?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #18  
Old 2008-06-18, 05:25 AM
KoolKat's Avatar
KoolKat KoolKat is offline
Video Guru
49.89 GB/89.01 GB/1.78
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: On A Shelf Near You
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by vladsmythe View Post
With NERO it doesn't matter. You can open the VIDEO_TS folder if you wish, and drag the contents into the program, or move the VIDEO_TS folder. As long as all the files are included, I don't think it matters.
Because when you drag just the files Vlad,you are dragging them to Neros RED folder yes?(Or the centre space ,which is the path end of the RED folder)

That RED folder is called VIDEO_TS.
So although it doesn't matter for Nero ,it is because they thought ahead just as this thread reveals ,and made their own TS folder.
Some SA's will play the files as files because it can see the mpeg video.But most will stop after playing what is in effect just the 1st VOB.
Some may give a menu choice for the amount of VOBs.It all depends on the way codecs have been placed and set inside the SA....even for audio as some play VCD and SVCD but give no sound for SVCD because of the A/V combo of an SVCD...as an example.

In general ,a rule of thumb for DvD Video,for playing,viewing,recording etc...ALL need a VIDEO_TS folder.
As for the files ,hell you can change the .VOB extention to .mpg & it'll play because it is as it says itself ,just a Video OBject.

K_K
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #19  
Old 2008-06-18, 02:43 PM
tgunn2760's Avatar
tgunn2760 tgunn2760 is offline
1.12 TB/1.19 TB/1.06
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, eh?
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Thanks for explaining the technical aspect of this.

I think it's good that some software won't burn files that do not contain a VIDEO_TS folder.

BTW, K_K, some shows have been upped at HC that do not contain such folders. The three Harrison shows for example.
__________________
Partial DVD list here:
http://db.etree.org/tgunn2760

Text file of over 1500 DVDs:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxX3...Q2M/edit?pli=1

Trading status: Canada and USA only-please VERIFY all discs.

http://db.etree.org/public_wantlist....erid=tgunn2760
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #20  
Old 2008-06-18, 07:49 PM
KoolKat's Avatar
KoolKat KoolKat is offline
Video Guru
49.89 GB/89.01 GB/1.78
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: On A Shelf Near You
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by tgunn2760 View Post
BTW, K_K, some shows have been upped at HC that do not contain such folders. The three Harrison shows for example.
To be brief ,it seems i only advised the video rules and faqs chap.Not my problem.

K_K
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #21  
Old 2008-06-19, 07:12 PM
tgunn2760's Avatar
tgunn2760 tgunn2760 is offline
1.12 TB/1.19 TB/1.06
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, eh?
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolKat View Post
To be brief ,it seems i only advised the video rules and faqs chap.Not my problem.

K_K
It might be a good idea to put it in the FAQ.

Newbies might not realize they need to create a VIDEO_TS folder in order to burn these DVDs.
__________________
Partial DVD list here:
http://db.etree.org/tgunn2760

Text file of over 1500 DVDs:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxX3...Q2M/edit?pli=1

Trading status: Canada and USA only-please VERIFY all discs.

http://db.etree.org/public_wantlist....erid=tgunn2760
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
decoding a ISO DVD file image-> VIDEO_TS +AUDIO_TS folder - alzeppelin Technobabble 5 2008-11-16 05:28 PM
How do you burn a "mini DVD" with a VIDEO_TS folder on a CD - Branston Technobabble 5 2008-05-29 02:21 PM
Mac: extracing VIDEO_TS audio; replacing VIDEO_TS audio? - cleantone Technobabble 37 2007-11-05 10:02 AM
Fit 8GB video_ts folder onto standard DVD? - greystreet33 Technobabble 4 2006-06-26 06:02 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts