The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-06-13, 09:08 PM
fonzbear2000's Avatar
fonzbear2000 fonzbear2000 is offline
37.39 GB/42.73 GB/1.14
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oakdale, MN., USA
Question Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

I downloaded a DVD bootleg and the .vob files are not in a VIDEO_TS folder, but are in a folder that is the name of the concert itself. Well, I burned the folder and when I put the DVD in my player, the files came up instead of the video starting a screen came up with all the .vob files and when I selected a file, part of the video played, but there was no sound. Is this because the folder the .vob files are in isn't named correctly? Would renaming it to VIDEO_TS fix the problem?
__________________
Millhouse: Hey Bart, do bugs feel pain?
Bart: If they don't, I've wasted a LOT of my life!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-06-13, 09:38 PM
tgunn2760's Avatar
tgunn2760 tgunn2760 is offline
1.12 TB/1.19 TB/1.06
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, eh?
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzbear2000 View Post
I downloaded a DVD bootleg and the .vob files are not in a VIDEO_TS folder, but are in a folder that is the name of the concert itself. Well, I burned the folder and when I put the DVD in my player, the files came up instead of the video starting a screen came up with all the .vob files and when I selected a file, part of the video played, but there was no sound. Is this because the folder the .vob files are in isn't named correctly? Would renaming it to VIDEO_TS fix the problem?
I'm surprised you were able to burn it.

Imgburn will not burn a file like that, it has to have a VIDEO_TS folder.

Make a folder inside the folder that has the VOBs and name it VIDEO_TS, then burn it. If it doesn't work, the DVD has problems.

It's handy to have DVD-RWs to test things like this.
__________________
Partial DVD list here:
http://db.etree.org/tgunn2760

Text file of over 1500 DVDs:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxX3...Q2M/edit?pli=1

Trading status: Canada and USA only-please VERIFY all discs.

http://db.etree.org/public_wantlist....erid=tgunn2760
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-06-13, 10:24 PM
fonzbear2000's Avatar
fonzbear2000 fonzbear2000 is offline
37.39 GB/42.73 GB/1.14
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oakdale, MN., USA
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by tgunn2760 View Post
I'm surprised you were able to burn it.

Imgburn will not burn a file like that, it has to have a VIDEO_TS folder.

Make a folder inside the folder that has the VOBs and name it VIDEO_TS, then burn it. If it doesn't work, the DVD has problems.

It's handy to have DVD-RWs to test things like this.
Thanks. What's Imgburn? I use Mac's burning program and it worked fine for other DVD's that were already in a VIDEO_TS folder. Hopefully the one I'm having problems with will play fine after I rename and burn the folder.
__________________
Millhouse: Hey Bart, do bugs feel pain?
Bart: If they don't, I've wasted a LOT of my life!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-06-13, 10:40 PM
tgunn2760's Avatar
tgunn2760 tgunn2760 is offline
1.12 TB/1.19 TB/1.06
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, eh?
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzbear2000 View Post
Thanks. What's Imgburn? I use Mac's burning program and it worked fine for other DVD's that were already in a VIDEO_TS folder. Hopefully the one I'm having problems with will play fine after I rename and burn the folder.
It should work after you create a TS folder. If it doesn't, the DVD is corrupt.

http://www.imgburn.com/
__________________
Partial DVD list here:
http://db.etree.org/tgunn2760

Text file of over 1500 DVDs:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxX3...Q2M/edit?pli=1

Trading status: Canada and USA only-please VERIFY all discs.

http://db.etree.org/public_wantlist....erid=tgunn2760
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2008-06-13, 10:45 PM
E_rock's Avatar
E_rock E_rock is offline
93.01 GB/90.94 GB/0.98
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

If you're done seeding it, just rename the folder VIDEO_TS. That will do it. Someone just renamed it when they uploaded.

http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...hlight=newbies
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2008-06-14, 05:16 PM
fonzbear2000's Avatar
fonzbear2000 fonzbear2000 is offline
37.39 GB/42.73 GB/1.14
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oakdale, MN., USA
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

It worked fine after renaming the folder correctly. Also, no need for imgburn. You can use any burning software and burn the video ts folder as a data disc and it works just fine.
__________________
Millhouse: Hey Bart, do bugs feel pain?
Bart: If they don't, I've wasted a LOT of my life!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2008-06-14, 05:39 PM
LeifH12345's Avatar
LeifH12345 LeifH12345 is offline
359.41 GB/1.49 TB/4.25
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kelowna
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzbear2000 View Post
It worked fine after renaming the folder correctly. Also, no need for imgburn. You can use any burning software and burn the video ts folder as a data disc and it works just fine.
Yep, although here, VIDEO_TS is the requirement. You can also just drag the folder containing the video files in the program you're going to burn with, and it won't matter what the folder is called, so long as its a half decent program.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2008-06-14, 05:58 PM
fonzbear2000's Avatar
fonzbear2000 fonzbear2000 is offline
37.39 GB/42.73 GB/1.14
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oakdale, MN., USA
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeifH12345 View Post
it won't matter what the folder is called, so long as its a half decent program.
Actually it does matter what the folder is called. The burned DVD DIDN'T play correctly until I renamed the folder to VIDEO_TS.
__________________
Millhouse: Hey Bart, do bugs feel pain?
Bart: If they don't, I've wasted a LOT of my life!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2008-06-14, 06:16 PM
vladsmythe's Avatar
vladsmythe vladsmythe is offline
TTD VIP
6.75 TB/3.86 TB/0.57
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzbear2000 View Post
Actually it does matter what the folder is called. The burned DVD DIDN'T play correctly until I renamed the folder to VIDEO_TS.
With NERO it doesn't matter. You can open the VIDEO_TS folder if you wish, and drag the contents into the program, or move the VIDEO_TS folder. As long as all the files are included, I don't think it matters.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2008-06-14, 06:21 PM
LeifH12345's Avatar
LeifH12345 LeifH12345 is offline
359.41 GB/1.49 TB/4.25
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kelowna
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by vladsmythe View Post
With NERO it doesn't matter. You can open the VIDEO_TS folder if you wish, and drag the contents into the program, or move the VIDEO_TS folder. As long as all the files are included, I don't think it matters.
Shoulda said Nero.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2008-06-14, 06:41 PM
vladsmythe's Avatar
vladsmythe vladsmythe is offline
TTD VIP
6.75 TB/3.86 TB/0.57
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeifH12345 View Post
Shoulda said Nero.
Greetings from the Great Barrier Reef. Sunday Morning here...Happy Father's Day! My beach house has a screaming connection. Twice as fast as back home!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2008-06-14, 08:42 PM
tgunn2760's Avatar
tgunn2760 tgunn2760 is offline
1.12 TB/1.19 TB/1.06
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, eh?
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by vladsmythe View Post
With NERO it doesn't matter. You can open the VIDEO_TS folder if you wish, and drag the contents into the program, or move the VIDEO_TS folder. As long as all the files are included, I don't think it matters.
And that might cause write errors.

Best to verify disc after burning.
__________________
Partial DVD list here:
http://db.etree.org/tgunn2760

Text file of over 1500 DVDs:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxX3...Q2M/edit?pli=1

Trading status: Canada and USA only-please VERIFY all discs.

http://db.etree.org/public_wantlist....erid=tgunn2760
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2008-06-14, 09:01 PM
schmoe75's Avatar
schmoe75 schmoe75 is offline
VBT Mod
TTD Staff
0.00 KB/5.43 TB/Inf.
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

Yes

http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...faq_videorules
3. All seeds must have a properly named DVD file structure, including an appropriately named main folder and a VIDEO_TS subfolder.
The correct file structure for a DVD seed is to have a main "parent" folder which will be named appropriately to indicate the respective seed. Inside this parent folder will be the VIDEO_TS folder (must be in ALL CAPS), authored so that it can be directly burned to a DVD-Video disc with any DVD burning suite.
__________________
While we were all dancing these people were working & now freely sharing - Ray
We dont play black, we dont play white, we just play what we know & feel - Miles
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2008-06-16, 11:51 AM
bokkers's Avatar
bokkers bokkers is offline
57.12 GB/58.66 GB/1.03
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

To make sure older standalone players can read the disc too, it's best to also create an AUDIO_TS folder on the disc, even if it's empty.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2008-06-16, 12:50 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Does a DVD folder need to be named VIDEO_TS

yes.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
decoding a ISO DVD file image-> VIDEO_TS +AUDIO_TS folder - alzeppelin Technobabble 5 2008-11-16 04:28 PM
How do you burn a "mini DVD" with a VIDEO_TS folder on a CD - Branston Technobabble 5 2008-05-29 01:21 PM
Mac: extracing VIDEO_TS audio; replacing VIDEO_TS audio? - cleantone Technobabble 37 2007-11-05 09:02 AM
Fit 8GB video_ts folder onto standard DVD? - greystreet33 Technobabble 4 2006-06-26 05:02 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts