The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-04-04, 11:34 AM
tgc225 tgc225 is offline
9.23 GB/4.37 GB/0.47
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Problem creating an SHNtool MD5

I followed these instructions:

http://www.audiophilia.net/shntoolmd5.shtml

I have the batch file in the SHNTool unzipped folder, and I'm dragging my folder of audio files onto the batch file, but I'm getting this error. Anyone know what could be up?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg shntool.jpg
( 42.3 KB, 33 views)
 
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-04-04, 11:39 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Problem creating an SHNtool MD5

try looking here, 3rd post down:
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ead.php?t=5597

hope this helps
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-04-04, 11:40 AM
koenimex koenimex is offline
4.65 GB/6.78 GB/1.46
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Re: Problem creating an SHNtool MD5

Hit Start -> run and type %WINDIR%. Usually this dir is C:\Windows, but your system is installed on D:\. Copy the files of shntool to the dir that shows up. That should fix the problem.

If not, then I'm a real newbie (cause this is my first post )

EDIT: My 2nd post...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-04-04, 02:40 PM
pmonk pmonk is offline
473.91 GB/618.14 GB/1.30
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Problem creating an SHNtool MD5

Maybe shntool is not installed in your PATH drive???
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain beyond
Mine is nearly dead. FUCK YOU and THE MOM THAT SHIT YOU OUT, you worthless POS. Now you go right ahead and call Lynne and get me banned you fucking cockroach. No problem. THREADS ALL YOURS, along with THE LOUNGE. See ya out there on the trail, Cowgirl. Classy. Real Classy. COWARD.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-04-04, 03:54 PM
tgc225 tgc225 is offline
9.23 GB/4.37 GB/0.47
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Problem creating an SHNtool MD5

I just dowloaded the ZIP package and unzipped it on the desktop on my D: drive (I have a dual boot system, and D: is the one I use). I tried putting it %WINDIR% (D:\Windows\) but that didn't work either.

I guess I'll try Trader's Little Helper, since based on the example fingerprints in the post Five linked to, it looks like it uses shntool anyway.

By the way, is there any preference as to how the extension of the fingerprint file looks like? shntool outputs an .md5.txt file, while TLH outputs a .st5, and I want to keep things as standard as possible.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-04-04, 04:13 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Problem creating an SHNtool MD5

That's correct, TLH uses SHNtool. We're pushing for .st5 extension to avoid confusion with traditional wholefile .md5s. I also prefer the .ffp extension for FLAC fingerprints. In the grand scheme of things, it doesn't matter so much if you want to use the traditional .txt extension for both, the most important thing is the information contained in the files.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-04-04, 09:21 PM
pmonk pmonk is offline
473.91 GB/618.14 GB/1.30
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Problem creating an SHNtool MD5

You can use shntool to create an .st5 using the following command

shntool md5 *.flac > [filename].st5

After going back and forth, the way to go is to use an .st5 signature.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain beyond
Mine is nearly dead. FUCK YOU and THE MOM THAT SHIT YOU OUT, you worthless POS. Now you go right ahead and call Lynne and get me banned you fucking cockroach. No problem. THREADS ALL YOURS, along with THE LOUNGE. See ya out there on the trail, Cowgirl. Classy. Real Classy. COWARD.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Creating 24bit DVD help please.. - bobs23 Technobabble 9 2008-09-26 05:59 AM
Creating a Torrent From CD - samiam236 Technobabble 14 2008-05-27 08:14 AM
Creating Torrent - shadyogrady Technobabble 2 2008-01-15 02:43 PM
Creating a .torrent - LeonJackson Technobabble 4 2007-06-30 11:10 AM
winrar, DVD Decrypter, etc no problem. --> nero authored by Movie Domino is a problem - cardinalae Technobabble 0 2006-03-02 11:48 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts