The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-01-26, 08:43 PM
Drewa311's Avatar
Drewa311 Drewa311 is offline
jack your body
379.68 GB/353.76 GB/0.93
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chicago at ashland
Mac Recording Help

I have a dj friend who has a pro mac tower. he needs to know how to record on his computer through his mixer output(RCA).The mac has optical in/out and m audio sells a box RCA>OPT. Is it worth him buying the box, or is there a better way, does going from rca>opt defeat the purpose? any help on the subject would be great, software, tips, methods, etc. thanks in advanced
__________________
"You don't work, you don't eat, you don't grind, you don't shine"
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-01-26, 09:21 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Mac Recording Help

hey drew

is he goin from a mixing board, or his DJ mixer? either way tho, he'll need to install a soundcard [MAudio's Audiophile 2496 or Delta 1010 are good options]...OR he'll need an external A/D interface such as MAudio's Mbox2 or one of Edirol's boxes [FA101, UA25, etc]

as far as having a multitrack recording prog that also pairs well for producing beats/time warp/effects/etc, by far the best option is Ableton Live...actually its probably the only prog he should even look at, i love it for both beats as well as some of its internal processors

let me know a bit more and we'll go from there
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-01-26, 10:09 PM
willndmb willndmb is offline
TTD VIP
437.11 GB/9.85 TB/23.07
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NY
Re: Mac Recording Help

he should be able to go from the rca outs into the optical port which is also a 1/8
so he can go dual rca male > 1/8m
then use audacity to record the audio
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-01-26, 10:51 PM
Drewa311's Avatar
Drewa311 Drewa311 is offline
jack your body
379.68 GB/353.76 GB/0.93
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chicago at ashland
Re: Mac Recording Help

its just a dj mixer

2 turntables and an mpc

he would have to install a sound card? why not just use the on board optical in? this is the top of the line mac tower id hope id have the ability to record audio with no add-ons
__________________
"You don't work, you don't eat, you don't grind, you don't shine"
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2008-01-27, 08:14 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Mac Recording Help

werd, i was assuming he'd need more than one channel at a time...but if he's only needing one track at a time just do as willndnb said, go RCA > mini...

as for progs--if he's just wanting to record a stereo [2channel] live mix with little to no post-production on it, Audacity is the way to go fo sho...but if he's wanting to do a bit more production wise, beat making or using any sort of filters/effects, Ableton Live is the ticket
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2008-01-27, 01:24 PM
Drewa311's Avatar
Drewa311 Drewa311 is offline
jack your body
379.68 GB/353.76 GB/0.93
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chicago at ashland
Re: Mac Recording Help

so an optical input will take a 1/8 in, like a head phone jack. no need for the expensive optical cables? or the m audio box. the idea being that if he has the optical inputs for high quality recording, why not use them for that?
__________________
"You don't work, you don't eat, you don't grind, you don't shine"
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2008-01-29, 06:53 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Mac Recording Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewa311 View Post
so an optical input will take a 1/8 in, like a head phone jack. no need for the expensive optical cables? or the m audio box. the idea being that if he has the optical inputs for high quality recording, why not use them for that?
i guess he could, if he can find RCA>Toslink cable [i've never heard/seen one, but i could be wrong]...however, i don't really think there will be that significant of a difference in sound quality since he's "limited" by the RCA outs on his mixer

i'd recommend him picking up a RCA>1/8" cable and tryin it all out that way...he can always upgrade to a MBox 2 or similar at a layer point if he's unhappy with the quality of the RCA>1/8" route
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
help with recording - PEPPER Technobabble 2 2006-03-28 08:26 AM
Recording XM - wharfrat73 Technobabble 25 2004-11-24 10:37 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts