The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
ē Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-03-09, 01:42 AM
Bieke2be's Avatar
Bieke2be Bieke2be is offline
Bieke2be
306.15 MB/75.02 MB/0.25
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belgium
Question firewall problem

I had to re-install the pc.
And now Iím having trouble with the firewall. The light is yellow and the download is slow.
os: windows XP pro, service pack 2, virusscanner: Norton, router: Develo
Windows firewall, turned off
Norton virusscanner: just the part for the email scanning is on.
The router: ports 6881-6889 are forwarded. (This was already ok before the re-install, and I didnít touched the configuration.)

I believe I did everything correct to get the green light.
(I had this before the re-install.)
Does someone have any ideas? Every help is appreciated.
Bieke
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-03-09, 06:05 AM
jcrab66's Avatar
jcrab66 jcrab66 is offline
We all walk the Long Road....
75.63 GB/483.42 GB/6.39
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Bootleg
Re: firewall problem

i believe you also need to open port 6969 so your client can talk to tracker...
__________________
If you want to see a damn good live show check out THIS band.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-03-09, 07:41 AM
Bieke2be's Avatar
Bieke2be Bieke2be is offline
Bieke2be
306.15 MB/75.02 MB/0.25
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belgium
Unhappy Re: firewall problem

no opening port 6969 is not working.

I feel so frustrated, i tried a lot of things, but nothing is giving the green light.
Bieke
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-03-09, 10:13 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
469.38 GB/2.01 TB/4.39
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: firewall problem

You don't need to open port 6969.

Have you tried restarting your router (usually power it off for about 30 seconds and then start it again)? Try a very well seeded torrent and see if you can get a green light there (not every torrent rates a green light). Check your local IP for your computer (terminal, ipconfig I believe) and make sure it is the same number that you forwarded the ports to in your router software.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-03-09, 10:38 AM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: firewall problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bieke2be
I had to re-install the pc.
And now Iím having trouble with the firewall. The light is yellow and the download is slow.
os: windows XP pro, service pack 2, virusscanner: Norton, router: Develo
Windows firewall, turned off
Norton virusscanner: just the part for the email scanning is on.
The router: ports 6881-6889 are forwarded. (This was already ok before the re-install, and I didnít touched the configuration.)

I believe I did everything correct to get the green light.
(I had this before the re-install.)
Does someone have any ideas? Every help is appreciated.
Bieke
It would help to know what client you are using. You don't need to forward all of ports 6881-6889 with most clients, and it appears that the latest official client (v.4) can work with only one port now too.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-03-09, 11:57 AM
Bieke2be's Avatar
Bieke2be Bieke2be is offline
Bieke2be
306.15 MB/75.02 MB/0.25
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belgium
Re: firewall problem

I restarted the router, deleted all the forwarded ports, and forwarded them again. Checked if they were the right ports, ip adress.

I use Bit Tornado 0.3.10.

Even with the windows firewall off, i forwarded the ports, made the exceptions, I know this isn't needed.

There must be an other reason i stay behind this firewall.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-03-09, 12:25 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
469.38 GB/2.01 TB/4.39
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: firewall problem

Is this for only this site or all sites?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-03-09, 12:52 PM
Bieke2be's Avatar
Bieke2be Bieke2be is offline
Bieke2be
306.15 MB/75.02 MB/0.25
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belgium
Re: firewall problem

It's on all the sites.
And the trouble isn't only for Bit torrent.
I'm a frequent user of Direct Connect, here i've the same firewall problems,
i can't use that prog as an active user, only as a passive user, what means i'm behind a firewall.

Bieke
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-03-09, 04:47 PM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: firewall problem

I would bet money that you haven't configured your firewall properly. Maybe you could post a screen shot of the set up window and we could take a look at it.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2005-03-11, 01:30 PM
Bieke2be's Avatar
Bieke2be Bieke2be is offline
Bieke2be
306.15 MB/75.02 MB/0.25
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belgium
Re: firewall problem

Found the solution! Have the green light!

And what a mistake I made!
Making sure everything was ok, I forgot to correct a setting in the router,
the ip of the host...that changes with a new installation.

Thanks anyway, for the help.
Bieke
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Firewall help please - Orn Technobabble 0 2007-08-25 06:10 PM
Firewall - AfroCuban Technobabble 2 2007-08-18 08:03 PM
Need some help, serious firewall problem - europhan Technobabble 3 2007-06-18 11:49 PM
winrar, DVD Decrypter, etc no problem. --> nero authored by Movie Domino is a problem - cardinalae Technobabble 0 2006-03-02 11:48 AM
Firewall Help - Chachi420 Technobabble 10 2005-04-16 12:31 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts