The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-09-08, 09:52 PM
Nathant's Avatar
Nathant Nathant is offline
Banned
43.96 GB/166.70 GB/3.79
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Reseeding an inactive torrent

If a torrent goes inactive and you have the files is there a way to reseed it without creating a new torrent and thread?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-09-08, 10:03 PM
cicada's Avatar
cicada cicada is offline
Long Distance Runner
1.43 TB/2.18 TB/1.52
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: north of the medicine line
Re: Reseeding an inactive torrent

Nathant... I am not any authority. My first torrent here at TTD was exactly the same consditions you have describe. My understanding is that someone will have to create a new torrent (technically, it a "RE-SEED"). Once it goes inactive, I think your cooked. I learned a lot by doing the torrent and it was not that hard. Otherwise, it stays inactive until someone else decides to Re-Seed it by creating a new torrent.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-09-08, 10:19 PM
Nathant's Avatar
Nathant Nathant is offline
Banned
43.96 GB/166.70 GB/3.79
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Re: Reseeding an inactive torrent

Well I have had torrents go inactive before and reseeded them, but then on my torrent list under my user cp it would list the old inactive torrent and the new one. I want to know why if inactive torrents can't be reseeded they even stay around. Especially after being reseeded. I figured there might be a way to do it without starting a new thread.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-09-08, 10:23 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
474.39 GB/2.01 TB/4.34
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: a cold place
Re: Reseeding an inactive torrent

Once a show is moved out of the ABT or VBT forum, the torrent file is gone, gone, gone. So, if you wish to reseed it, a new torrent file must be made and a new thread made (with the Reseed option checked).

Nathant, I'm not sure which list you are talking about. There is a list of your last 10 torrents and some of those are active (still on the tracker), and some are not (no longer on the tracker). Then there is the list of Active torrents (you need to click to open it) and that only lists torrents still on the tracker.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X


Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-09-08, 10:24 PM
Nathant's Avatar
Nathant Nathant is offline
Banned
43.96 GB/166.70 GB/3.79
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Re: Reseeding an inactive torrent

Well that kinda sucks. Oh well, thanks Lynne.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Joining a Seed or Reseeding Existing Torrent - dr-funkenstein Technobabble 5 2007-11-04 12:00 PM
ISO Argent - currently inactive torrent - GRC Seeding Talk - ISO Requests 2 2007-08-24 06:08 AM
Help with seeding on inactive torrent - insig_c Technobabble 3 2007-01-26 09:27 AM
Re-activating an inactive torrent? - Vic Technobabble 8 2006-07-03 10:17 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket