The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-08-01, 08:35 PM
b3118207 b3118207 is offline
108.98 GB/121.08 GB/1.11
 
Join Date: May 2007
Video_TS for multiple discs

I found a torrent that i want to download on another site and it contains several dvd's. They are all in one video_ts folder though and it's almost 8Gb. Does anyone know how to seperate this folder to burn seperate dvd's once i have downloaded the whole torrent? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-08-02, 01:38 AM
Drewa311's Avatar
Drewa311 Drewa311 is offline
jack your body
379.68 GB/353.76 GB/0.93
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chicago at ashland
Re: Video_TS for multiple discs

get a program that extracts dvds, assuming you have an original or its free trade material commonly these programs will allow you to split a dvd/VIDEO_TS in two discs instead of losing quality due to compression, i normally run my dvd9s through this instead of using dual layers(my burner makes too many errors). also several(3) full dvds is like what 15 gigs? 8GB is most likely one dvd9-dual layer. its probally serveal clips of avi conversions put on to dvd. the program i use for pc is called dvdfabplatinum i thin mac the ripper and dvd2one for mac have the splitting options as well-good luck-drew
__________________
"You don't work, you don't eat, you don't grind, you don't shine"
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-08-02, 05:11 AM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
369.86 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: Video_TS for multiple discs

It cannot contain correctly authored several DVDs as DVD file naming convention doesn't allow it. It can be dual layer disc or complete disaster.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-08-02, 04:04 PM
hashysh13's Avatar
hashysh13 hashysh13 is offline
1.13 TB/1.06 TB/0.94
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Re: Video_TS for multiple discs

Ok, I'm gonna try this again, and maybe since I'm not starting a new thread my question will get answered. I was going to try to split up files from a 7 or 8 gb show by trying to seperate the video-ts files into 2 folders, and changing the name of the last few from VTS_01_5, 6 and 7 to VTS_02_1, 2 and 3, and putting them into a disc 2 folder, with the VTS_01_1,2,3 and 4 in the disc 1 folder. Will that work?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-08-03, 05:16 PM
b3118207 b3118207 is offline
108.98 GB/121.08 GB/1.11
 
Join Date: May 2007
Re: Video_TS for multiple discs

Quote:
Originally Posted by hashysh13
Ok, I'm gonna try this again, and maybe since I'm not starting a new thread my question will get answered. I was going to try to split up files from a 7 or 8 gb show by trying to seperate the video-ts files into 2 folders, and changing the name of the last few from VTS_01_5, 6 and 7 to VTS_02_1, 2 and 3, and putting them into a disc 2 folder, with the VTS_01_1,2,3 and 4 in the disc 1 folder. Will that work?
I was actually kind of wondering the same thing... if anyone knows please shed some light. Thanks very much to those who have helped so far in this thread.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-08-03, 06:13 PM
vladsmythe's Avatar
vladsmythe vladsmythe is offline
TTD VIP
10.96 TB/4.70 TB/0.43
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Video_TS for multiple discs

I think it can be done with convertXtodvd. Click "build dvd" select the file, open the TS file and it shows you each chapter of the dvd with running times. I think you then select the chapters in order and follow the prompts and it will re-author. Not 100% sure but I thinks so. It creates a new image file so you need at least that much free space on your drive.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-08-03, 06:31 PM
KoolKat's Avatar
KoolKat KoolKat is offline
Video Guru
49.89 GB/89.01 GB/1.78
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: On A Shelf Near You
Re: Video_TS for multiple discs

Quote:
Originally Posted by b3118207
I was actually kind of wondering the same thing... if anyone knows please shed some light. Thanks very much to those who have helped so far in this thread.
@Both of you....

Now then chaps ,are you actually asking if it's possible to split a Double Layer size DvD into 2 Discs?Thats how i'm reading between the lines of your questions.

If so..then yes & you can still keep the menus using some of the software available.
Lots of different software to do it with a lot more to be more specific for what you want.DvD Fab i hear is quite Kool!

If you use keywords in your search bar like "Splitting Dual Layer"
,you will find your needed software and good walk-throughs for what software you choose for the job in hand at various good DvD forums.

I'd actually bookmark a few of those sites as they will be of use to you in the future.They are for everyone

If i read you wrong with what you want to do........then hey,you found some very useful sites using those keywords anyway

K_K

Last edited by KoolKat; 2007-08-03 at 06:37 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-08-03, 06:54 PM
vladsmythe's Avatar
vladsmythe vladsmythe is offline
TTD VIP
10.96 TB/4.70 TB/0.43
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Video_TS for multiple discs

Thanks Kool Kat! How about converting PAL to NTSC? I've not found any decent software. Many different issues, still not as good as my Philips deck into a standalone. I do lose chapters that way, but the image is the best I've found. What's your take?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2007-08-03, 07:19 PM
KoolKat's Avatar
KoolKat KoolKat is offline
Video Guru
49.89 GB/89.01 GB/1.78
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: On A Shelf Near You
Re: Video_TS for multiple discs

Quote:
Originally Posted by vladsmythe
Thanks Kool Kat! How about converting PAL to NTSC? What's your take?
Whats my take...Hmmm
There are some that are very reasonably priced and do a marvelous job HERE




K_K
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2007-08-03, 07:34 PM
vladsmythe's Avatar
vladsmythe vladsmythe is offline
TTD VIP
10.96 TB/4.70 TB/0.43
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Video_TS for multiple discs

Philips does the best job. I have 3 others in the basement - brand new just taking up space. Either an audio imperfection or bad video frame rate processing. Philips hands down. Under $50.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
multiple computers - nixxy099 Technobabble 1 2009-01-12 02:17 AM
Mac: extracing VIDEO_TS audio; replacing VIDEO_TS audio? - cleantone Technobabble 37 2007-11-05 10:02 AM
Burning multiple VIDEO_TS dvds on one DVD - hebrew assassin Technobabble 5 2007-03-19 05:03 PM
Downloading from multiple PCs - Stash Technobabble 1 2006-11-22 12:18 AM
video_ts - newfie Technobabble 2 2005-10-06 06:21 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts