The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-02-20, 01:24 PM
coolman5001
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Trouble getting EAC from CD to FLAC

Using foobar2000, I'm trying to rip a CD in my CD-drive to my external hard drive in FLAC format, compression level 8, but I'm getting errors in the conversion. I've tried reinstalling foobar2000, ripping to my hard drive instead of the external drive, and ripping one track at a time, yet none of these solved my problem. I still end up with audible differences; bitverifying sometimes turns up as many as 500,000 different samples.
I checked the FAQ, and all I got was to reinstall foobar2000, which didn't fix the issue.

Should I be ripping another way and then converting to FLAC post-rip?

Thanks for reading, any help is greatly appreciated.
Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-02-20, 01:43 PM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Trouble getting EAC from CD to FLAC

First of all, with all due respect to foobar2k, you should be using EAC to rip the CD. The thread title says you are using EAC, but your post seems to be saying you are using foobar2k to rip.

I'm a bit confused about what your problem is.

Last edited by uhclem; 2005-02-20 at 01:51 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-02-20, 02:21 PM
coolman5001
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Trouble getting EAC from CD to FLAC

What I meant by EAC in the thread title was "Exact Audio Copy" - I didn't realize there was a utility called EAC, I wouldn't have used that wording if I had. I'll try it again with EAC and see how it goes; thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-02-20, 06:20 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Trouble getting EAC from CD to FLAC

check the links in my signature for help with configuring EAC and some foobar2000 tutoritals.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-02-21, 08:45 AM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: Trouble getting EAC from CD to FLAC

Yes, CD > EAC > WAV means that Exact Audio Copy has been used to extract that PCM audio data from disc to .wav format. This is required as per TTD guidelines. WAV > foobar2000 > FLAC8 is the next step.
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-02-23, 09:07 PM
coolman5001
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Trouble getting EAC from CD to FLAC

I managed to get EAC configured properly (thanks for the link, Five) and tried ripping an album to my computer - the same one as before, "Extended Play - Live at Birdland" by the Dave Holland Quintet - and it all went fine except for one track. The entire second disc ripped just fine, as did all of the first disc, except for the track in question. I skipped it to run the rest and then ran it on its own, and left it running overnight. The next morning, EAC said it had been running for nigh on 8 hours, and it was still going. Keep in mind this track is only ~8 minutes long.
Is this track really so badly compromised that EAC has so much difficulty taking a reading, or is something else going on here?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-02-23, 09:13 PM
pmonk pmonk is offline
435.76 GB/607.22 GB/1.39
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Trouble getting EAC from CD to FLAC

Yes. The CD can be damaged (i.e. scratched) our could be very dirty. Look at bottom side of the CD and check to see if it is scratched. Sometimes if dirty you can clean it and this might help. If the CD is scratched/damaged then nothing can be done.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain beyond
Mine is nearly dead. FUCK YOU and THE MOM THAT SHIT YOU OUT, you worthless POS. Now you go right ahead and call Lynne and get me banned you fucking cockroach. No problem. THREADS ALL YOURS, along with THE LOUNGE. See ya out there on the trail, Cowgirl. Classy. Real Classy. COWARD.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-02-24, 04:01 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Trouble getting EAC from CD to FLAC

you're welcome for the link.

pmonk66 is right... some cd/cdrs are fubar'ed, sometimes just a couple tracks, sometimes the whole thing. I've had cdrs give me trouble and managed to get a perfect extraction by using "paranoid mode". Go to EAC > Drive Options > (click OK) > Extraction Method > select Paranoid.

Beware, tho! it says it could potentially cause permanent damage to your drive, altho mine is fine. If it's spending more than an hour on an 8 minute song I'd hit the cancel button, even if it works at that point it will probably be full of errors.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-02-24, 10:48 PM
coolman5001
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Trouble getting EAC from CD to FLAC

Awesome. Paranoid mode worked perfectly; no read errors, no sync errors, track quality of ~96%.
I'll remember to use that if any others give me trouble. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2005-02-25, 06:30 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Trouble getting EAC from CD to FLAC



I usually switch it back to "secure" when I'm done just so I don't forget later.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble getting Adobe Audition 1.5 to recognise flac files - juxtiphi Technobabble 5 2009-07-31 10:19 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts