The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #331  
Old 2006-11-22, 10:39 AM
Sid's Avatar
Sid Sid is offline
26 Reds &a Bottle of Wine
3.34 TB/4.73 TB/1.42
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: chunkylover53@aol.com
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by roann
I was afraid this wouldn't work but want to give it a try ...

Other users reported that too ... yesterday it worked, today it fails ... as I wrote above: SOS SOS SOS ...

Robert
Thanks Robert....Hopeful for a fix soon because I dig this tool
__________________
If life is a waste of time,
and time is a waste of life,
then let's all get wasted together
and have the time of our lives !


The Cuervo Gold
The fine Colombian
Make tonight a wonderful thing.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #332  
Old 2006-11-22, 07:16 PM
chunga1's Avatar
chunga1 chunga1 is offline
built2shred
402.89 GB/436.64 GB/1.08
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: laguna beach
Re: Trader's Little Helper

how come when I load the flac file to generate an FFP it does it but the actual FFP is not valid it comes up as unknown application and the "little green "ffp" is not there?????
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #333  
Old 2006-11-22, 10:28 PM
wharfrat73's Avatar
wharfrat73 wharfrat73 is offline
362.41 GB/843.48 GB/2.33
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maryland
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by chunga1
how come when I load the flac file to generate an FFP it does it but the actual FFP is not valid it comes up as unknown application and the "little green "ffp" is not there?????
I have this problem too. I'm not sure what the problem is but it has to do with the way the folder is named, I think. Sometimes my PC thinks the saved ffp file is a flac16 file, for example. If the folder name is longer gd1981-10-16.shure.senn.80060.sbeok.flac16, for example, I don't have that problem. If the folder was named gd1981-10-16.flac16 then I would have that problem.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #334  
Old 2006-11-23, 12:37 AM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.21 TB/588.95 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Question Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by chunga1
how come when I load the flac file to generate an FFP it does it ...
So generating ffp works ... what's the *complete* path and file name?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chunga1
... but the actual FFP is not valid it comes up as unknown application and the "little green "ffp" is not there?????
What do you mean with comes up as unknown application and the "little green "ffp" is not there? Maybe you could attach a screenshot?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #335  
Old 2006-11-23, 07:40 AM
mike1061 mike1061 is offline
1.81 TB/10.08 TB/5.57
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Sid
I think something changed, "it used to work". Did you update windows, or possably did it update itself? Is it possable to use system restore and go back to when it worked? The thing is I'm not sure doing that removes the windows updates, but if it does you can always put the udates back in one at a time.
Thanks Mike
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #336  
Old 2006-11-23, 08:51 AM
Sid's Avatar
Sid Sid is offline
26 Reds &a Bottle of Wine
3.34 TB/4.73 TB/1.42
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: chunkylover53@aol.com
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike1061
Sid
I think something changed, "it used to work". Did you update windows, or possably did it update itself? Is it possable to use system restore and go back to when it worked? The thing is I'm not sure doing that removes the windows updates, but if it does you can always put the udates back in one at a time.
Thanks Mike
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid
I'm running XP Media edition
I have auto updates "off" & I have not updated in mo's

.....this is what is driving me nuts because I update manually & I have not done so in months & this started for about 1week now

Unless Microsoft is doing things without asking BUT they would never do that...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg update.jpg
( 207.3 KB, 144 views)
 
__________________
If life is a waste of time,
and time is a waste of life,
then let's all get wasted together
and have the time of our lives !


The Cuervo Gold
The fine Colombian
Make tonight a wonderful thing.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #337  
Old 2006-11-23, 10:46 AM
wharfrat73's Avatar
wharfrat73 wharfrat73 is offline
362.41 GB/843.48 GB/2.33
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maryland
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by roann
What do you mean with comes up as unknown application and the "little green "ffp" is not there? Maybe you could attach a screenshot?
Quote:
Originally Posted by wharfrat73
Sometimes my PC thinks the saved ffp file is a flac16 file, for example. If the folder name is longer gd1981-10-16.shure.senn.80060.sbeok.flac16, for example, I don't have that problem. If the folder was named gd1981-10-16.flac16 then I would have that problem.
TLH sometimes is not assingning the .ffp extension to the file. It is saving the .ffp or .md5 without the extension.

It saves them as .flac16, shnf, or .flac files depending on what is at the end of the folder name.

If you create a .ffp with TLH and this happens you can save the file and manually type in ".ffp" at the end of the file name when you save it and the PC will then recognize it as the correct file type.

As I said earlier it doesnt happen all of the time. It only occurs, for me, in situations similar to the one I mentioned above.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #338  
Old 2006-11-23, 11:11 AM
Sid's Avatar
Sid Sid is offline
26 Reds &a Bottle of Wine
3.34 TB/4.73 TB/1.42
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: chunkylover53@aol.com
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by wharfrat73
TLH sometimes is not assingning the .ffp extension to the file. It is saving the .ffp or .md5 without the extension.

It saves them as .flac16, shnf, or .flac files depending on what is at the end of the folder name.

If you create a .ffp with TLH and this happens you can save the file and manually type in ".ffp" at the end of the file name when you save it and the PC will then recognize it as the correct file type.

As I said earlier it doesnt happen all of the time. It only occurs, for me, in situations similar to the one I mentioned above.
That occoured everytime with the new version[on xp media ed]....extensions were left off both md5sum & ffp for me...one of the reasons I'm still running 1.0.0 Beta 1(72) version.

I'm sure it will all get worked out by roann in the future
__________________
If life is a waste of time,
and time is a waste of life,
then let's all get wasted together
and have the time of our lives !


The Cuervo Gold
The fine Colombian
Make tonight a wonderful thing.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #339  
Old 2006-11-23, 11:30 AM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.21 TB/588.95 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by wharfrat73
TLH sometimes is not assingning the .ffp extension to the file. It is saving the .ffp or .md5 without the extension.

It saves them as .flac16, shnf, or .flac files depending on what is at the end of the folder name.

If you create a .ffp with TLH and this happens you can save the file and manually type in ".ffp" at the end of the file name when you save it and the PC will then recognize it as the correct file type.

As I said earlier it doesnt happen all of the time. It only occurs, for me, in situations similar to the one I mentioned above.
Got the picture ... ... I'll check the source code.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid
... I'm sure it will all get worked out by roann in the future
In God we trust ...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #340  
Old 2006-11-24, 07:56 AM
mike1061 mike1061 is offline
1.81 TB/10.08 TB/5.57
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Sid
It is easy to see how I missed that. upgates is off post. I don't know if Microsoft can update itself, or not set up like that. I wouldn't put it past them. I've seen messages on my computer something like, windows has been updated and needs to re-start, or just finding the computer had been shut down when I get home.
Anyway, it still would seem something changed. Any new programs installed? How about running your spyware killers, or anti-virues programs? Aol or anything update it-self? I would know how to check, though.
Thanks Mike
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #341  
Old 2006-11-24, 08:16 AM
Sid's Avatar
Sid Sid is offline
26 Reds &a Bottle of Wine
3.34 TB/4.73 TB/1.42
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: chunkylover53@aol.com
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike1061
Sid
It is easy to see how I missed that. upgates is off post. I don't know if Microsoft can update itself, or not set up like that. I wouldn't put it past them. I've seen messages on my computer something like, windows has been updated and needs to re-start, or just finding the computer had been shut down when I get home.
Anyway, it still would seem something changed. Any new programs installed? How about running your spyware killers, or anti-virues programs? Aol or anything update it-self? I would know how to check, though.
Thanks Mike
Thanks Mike,
All input is welcome
I'll let everyone know as soon as it gets worked out.
__________________
If life is a waste of time,
and time is a waste of life,
then let's all get wasted together
and have the time of our lives !


The Cuervo Gold
The fine Colombian
Make tonight a wonderful thing.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #342  
Old 2006-11-24, 08:48 AM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.21 TB/588.95 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid
Thanks Mike,
All input is welcome
I'll let everyone know as soon as it gets worked out.
Please do as follows:

1) Open Windows Explorer and select your Windows directory.
2) Right click on the file "shntool.exe", and choose "Properties".
3) Click the "Compatibility" tab, check the box beside "Run in compatibility mode", and choose "Windows 98 / Windows Me" in the dropbox. Let all other settings unchanged.
4) Click "Apply" and then click "OK" to close the box.
5) Run Trader's Little Helper and do some testing.

If it doesn't work, please undo the changes.

Robert
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #343  
Old 2006-11-25, 10:35 AM
Sid's Avatar
Sid Sid is offline
26 Reds &a Bottle of Wine
3.34 TB/4.73 TB/1.42
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: chunkylover53@aol.com
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by roann
Please do as follows:

1) Open Windows Explorer and select your Windows directory.
2) Right click on the file "shntool.exe", and choose "Properties".
3) Click the "Compatibility" tab, check the box beside "Run in compatibility mode", and choose "Windows 98 / Windows Me" in the dropbox. Let all other settings unchanged.
4) Click "Apply" and then click "OK" to close the box.
5) Run Trader's Little Helper and do some testing.

If it doesn't work, please undo the changes.

Robert
No luck Robert.....
I tried it in all the OS compatibility types
I even tried the same with TLH compatibility types

Marc
__________________
If life is a waste of time,
and time is a waste of life,
then let's all get wasted together
and have the time of our lives !


The Cuervo Gold
The fine Colombian
Make tonight a wonderful thing.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #344  
Old 2006-11-28, 01:33 PM
TBC's Avatar
TBC TBC is offline
8.23 GB/3.23 GB/0.39
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Trader's Little Helper

when loading flac files into TLH to verify the encoding i get the message saying "At least one of the required subcomponents was not found".Processing will be terminated.what subcomponents am i looking for.All previous versions have worked.thx tbc
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #345  
Old 2006-11-29, 02:05 AM
bullpinjohn's Avatar
bullpinjohn bullpinjohn is offline
241.61 GB/353.36 GB/1.46
 
Join Date: May 2006
Re: Trader's Little Helper

I was converting shn to flac using TLH, I'd get a error
"skipping unknown sub-chunk "id3" '. I'd changed the name of two files, I'd get this error, when I put the orginal
names back everything was fine. Does this have to do with tags?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Tags
tlh, traders little helper

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
trader's little helper ? - Mills1988 Lossy or Lossless? 4 2008-03-25 11:19 AM
Trader's Little Helper Help? - dannyandamie Technobabble 2 2007-08-26 01:44 PM
TRADER'S LITTLE HELPER ERROR... - Tuttle Technobabble 6 2007-01-16 06:46 PM
Trader's Little Helper errors, need help please: - donovana Technobabble 4 2005-12-22 06:08 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts