The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #226  
Old 2005-11-27, 04:26 AM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.21 TB/588.95 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Re: out of string range error

Because on my machines this "out of string range" error *never* occured I can't track it down or help you out at the moment. I'm gonna completely rewrite the setup program and implement some kind of detailed install log so the next release (which will be out in February 2006) will show what goes wrong during the installation procedure (I hope).

Robert
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #227  
Old 2005-11-27, 03:17 PM
cmaz's Avatar
cmaz cmaz is offline
Now he's just a bag of garbage
340.95 GB/844.47 GB/2.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere in time
Re: Trader's Little Helper

What i found on my machine was when i downloaded the program and clicked <Run> on the "Download Successful" dialog box, i got the out of string error.

When i downloaded the install program and then ran the install from <Start> <Run> "install" or even double clicking the install prog from windows explorer, i didn't get the out of string errors.

One caveat, however, regardless of whether i got the out of string error during the install or not, TLH seemed to work perfectly for me.
__________________
--
chris

----------Nothing is Real!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #228  
Old 2005-12-19, 08:58 PM
zep69fan zep69fan is offline
132.66 GB/173.90 GB/1.31
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Maryland
Re: Trader's Little Helper

I get the same error message when installing...I've installed it on my computer at work (XPPro SP2, just like at home) and it works great. What's funny is I can't get the mkw Audio Compression Toolkit to work on my office PC, but at home it works fine. Traders Little Helper is great at the office for it's one stop and shop capability. At home I use FLAC and the mkw toolkit, but I'd much rather use TLH. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #229  
Old 2005-12-20, 03:57 AM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.21 TB/588.95 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by zep69fan
I get the same error message when installing...I've installed it on my computer at work (XPPro SP2, just like at home) and it works great. What's funny is I can't get the mkw Audio Compression Toolkit to work on my office PC, but at home it works fine. Traders Little Helper is great at the office for it's one stop and shop capability. At home I use FLAC and the mkw toolkit, but I'd much rather use TLH. Any suggestions?
Until the new setup routine isn't coded (see my post above) the only thing I can offer is the old version of Trader's Little Helper (no encoding features) that will install properly. Please contact me if you want me to email you the setup files.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #230  
Old 2006-01-04, 05:00 PM
Borlag's Avatar
Borlag Borlag is offline
368.77 GB/639.95 GB/1.74
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Helsinki, Funland
Re: Trader's Little Helper

I have a different type of problem with the latest version of TLH. I've used it ever since it was first released and never had any problems with it at all. Earlier today however when I was moving shows to computer from DVD's with the SHN's and FLAC's and then verifying them to be copied ok first by the md5's when they existed and then by the test encoded files function. It verified all md5's without any problems, same with ffp files but for some reason I had a single show without either of those, thus I had to verify it with the test function. Right after choosing the files to be tested and clicking the test button, it claimed that the files can't be opened or they don't exist.

Now it claims this same with every single SHN show I have on the computer, yet those other shows verify ok with md5, I can see the audio details just fine, I can even decode them without any problems. I just can't test any SHN files. I'm aware that some of the files may have been made with MKW instead of Shorten or TLH, could this be what confused it? And if so, how would I go in fixing the TLH instal so that I can test SHN's again? Both FLAC's and APE's work just fine. And I did try reinstalling the latest version already.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #231  
Old 2006-01-07, 11:21 AM
wharfrat73's Avatar
wharfrat73 wharfrat73 is offline
362.41 GB/843.48 GB/2.33
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maryland
Re: Trader's Little Helper

It looks like TLH is not available for download at this point. Is that temporary?

I hope so.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #232  
Old 2006-01-07, 02:37 PM
shakedown271's Avatar
shakedown271 shakedown271 is offline
103.09 GB/173.22 GB/1.68
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Trader's Little Helper


nice!
Warfrat73:
I Just got it today, so it should be up.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #233  
Old 2006-01-10, 02:22 PM
wolfsorrow's Avatar
wolfsorrow wolfsorrow is offline
3.61 TB/2.38 TB/0.66
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Re: Trader's Little Helper

howldy
great lil tool... TLH... when fixing SBE's the option to bckward round forward are available... which would be best to use...? thinking round... but then I don't know exactly what it's doing...
any input appreciated...
Wolf
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #234  
Old 2006-01-10, 03:42 PM
pmonk's Avatar
pmonk pmonk is offline
510.95 GB/621.08 GB/1.22
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfsorrow
howldy
great lil tool... TLH... when fixing SBE's the option to bckward round forward are available... which would be best to use...? thinking round... but then I don't know exactly what it's doing...
any input appreciated...
Wolf
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...&postcount=125


pity uhclem is MIA

Last edited by pmonk; 2006-01-10 at 03:51 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #235  
Old 2006-01-11, 06:32 PM
gusphan89
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Hey, I was just wondering if someone could help me out. I have installed Traders little helper, and i have all the files needed in c:/windows, but it is still telling me AT least one of the required subcomponets was not found in the windows directory. Processing will be terminated. Can someone please help me?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #236  
Old 2006-01-12, 08:29 AM
inside'eye's Avatar
inside'eye inside'eye is offline
Sun Araw
78.89 GB/117.24 GB/1.49
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: If you cant be good be good at it
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by gusphan89
Hey, I was just wondering if someone could help me out. I have installed Traders little helper, and i have all the files needed in c:/windows, but it is still telling me AT least one of the required subcomponets was not found in the windows directory. Processing will be terminated. Can someone please help me?
you should read the thread through.I had the same problem,I threw away all other similair programs(foobar,eac,etc....)then uninstalled tlh and reinstalled tlh and the rest was a dream.I recomend reading this thread through first.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #237  
Old 2006-01-12, 10:33 AM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.21 TB/588.95 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by wharfrat73
It looks like TLH is not available for download at this point. Is that temporary?

I hope so.
It was temporary. Sometimes the setup file is gone and I have to re-upload it. It's rather annoying ... I think the guy who runs the server does some clean up from time to time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gusphan89
Hey, I was just wondering if someone could help me out. I have installed Traders little helper, and i have all the files needed in c:/windows, but it is still telling me AT least one of the required subcomponets was not found in the windows directory. Processing will be terminated. Can someone please help me?
Seven files have to be located in your Windows directory:
(1) aucdtect.exe, (2) cygwin1.dll, (3) flac.exe, (4) mac.exe, (5) metaflac.exe, (6) shntool.exe, (7) shorten.exe
If one of them is missing you'll get the error message "At least ... was not found ...".
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #238  
Old 2006-02-01, 09:35 AM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.21 TB/588.95 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Re: "out of stringe range" error

I've just upped a new installer for Trader's Little Helper to http://thor.prohosting.com/roh0205/ that fixes the "out of string range" error some people got during installation. Fingers crossed ... I hope things will running fine now for everyone.

Only use the new installer if there were errors during the setup with the old one and Trader's Little Helper doesn't run properly. If everything was/is fine using the old installer leave it that way.

A big thanks to all the kind people who helped beta testing the new installer.

Robert
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #239  
Old 2006-02-01, 10:09 AM
Sid's Avatar
Sid Sid is offline
26 Reds &a Bottle of Wine
3.34 TB/4.73 TB/1.42
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: chunkylover53@aol.com
Re: "out of stringe range" error

Quote:
Originally Posted by roann
I've just upped a new installer for Trader's Little Helper to http://thor.prohosting.com/roh0205/ that fixes the "out of string range" error some people got during installation. Fingers crossed ... I hope things will running fine now for everyone.

Only use the new installer if there were errors during the setup with the old one and Trader's Little Helper doesn't run properly. If everything was/is fine using the old installer leave it that way.

A big thanks to all the kind people who helped beta testing the new installer.

Robert
Robert

It installed very easy.....

I had difficulties with the last installation but not this version .....very smooth

Thank you

sid
__________________
If life is a waste of time,
and time is a waste of life,
then let's all get wasted together
and have the time of our lives !


The Cuervo Gold
The fine Colombian
Make tonight a wonderful thing.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #240  
Old 2006-02-14, 10:12 AM
showtaper's Avatar
showtaper showtaper is offline
304.10 GB/469.31 GB/1.54
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Re: Trader's Little Helper

The installer file appears to be gone again.......
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Tags
tlh, traders little helper

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
trader's little helper ? - Mills1988 Lossy or Lossless? 4 2008-03-25 11:19 AM
Trader's Little Helper Help? - dannyandamie Technobabble 2 2007-08-26 01:44 PM
TRADER'S LITTLE HELPER ERROR... - Tuttle Technobabble 6 2007-01-16 06:46 PM
Trader's Little Helper errors, need help please: - donovana Technobabble 4 2005-12-22 06:08 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts