The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 2005-05-27, 06:13 AM
Ted Ted is offline
You are TOO
2.08 GB/7.38 GB/3.55
 
Join Date: May 2005
Re: Shntool frontend

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakes
I know FLAC is a loss-less encoder but if I had a FLAC already and decoded to WAV then encoded back to FLAC wouldn't that just make the audio worse, or no?
I'm still far from knowledgable about this stuff but I'd think that since flac is lossless, converting it to wav (the uncompressed version), and then back to flac, it should still be lossless - and no degradation to the sound would appear, though the finger print would be different betwen the two flac versions if you SBEfix'ed it in the middle of the conversion process.

EDIT: BTW, I'm refering to the "FLAC > WAV > SBEfix > FLAC" process, NOT the "FLAC > SBEfix > FLAC" process - I'm not sure about that one. I don't think it would compress more and I'm really not sure if the SBEfix would be "allowed" or even possible, since it's compressed.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #17  
Old 2005-05-27, 06:49 AM
kotti
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Shntool frontend

I love Speek's frontends! I have no trouble with command line but this certainly speeds up the process a lot. I just (re)checked something like 1500 SHN, APE and FLAC files for SBEs with a couple of mouse clicks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #18  
Old 2005-05-27, 07:19 AM
range_hood's Avatar
range_hood range_hood is offline
lsmf
11.44 GB/10.00 GB/0.87
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: Shntool frontend

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakes
So basically, can I do -- FLAC > SBEfix > FLAC?
Yes, you can.
Drag and drop the files in the window that run into each other and try:
shntool fix -o flac <allfiles>

If there is something to fix, the fingerprints will differ from the original ones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakes
I know FLAC is a loss-less encoder but if I had a FLAC already and decoded to WAV then encoded back to FLAC wouldn't that just make the audio worse, or no?
No. If you just convert between formats like: Wav>flac>wav>flac>shn>ape>flac(compressionlevel7)>flac(lvl3) the fingerprints and quality will not change.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #19  
Old 2005-05-27, 08:08 AM
Shakes Shakes is offline
181.32 GB/72.86 GB/0.40
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Shntool frontend

Thanks for the help and information, range_hood.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #20  
Old 2005-05-28, 02:47 PM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Shntool frontend

Before you go and do this, why do you want to fix just one file? Are you sure that's all that needs to be fixed?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #21  
Old 2005-05-28, 03:33 PM
Shakes Shakes is offline
181.32 GB/72.86 GB/0.40
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Shntool frontend

Quote:
Originally Posted by uhclem
Before you go and do this, why do you want to fix just one file? Are you sure that's all that needs to be fixed?
I put my files into foobar2000 and I notice that some shows only have a file with a sector bound error.

I only have a few shows that have sbe's in only one file.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #22  
Old 2005-05-28, 04:43 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
189.30 GB/594.78 GB/3.14
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Shntool frontend

if the SBE is anything but the final track of a disc then padding the end with silence will be a disaster. Also, if the audio is continuous from disc to disc (i.e. end of d1 to beginning of d2) you wouldn't want to pad even the end track of a disc with silence.

can you please post a shntool len check for one/more of these shows?
__________________
Checksums Demystified | ask for help in Technobabble

thetradersden.org | ttd recommended free software/freeware webring
shntool tlh eac foobar2000 spek audacity cdwave vlc

Quote:
Originally posted by oxymoron
Here you are in a place of permanent madness, be careful!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed - RainDawg Technobabble 88 2005-08-12 12:56 AM
Audiophilia - The Shntool Frontend Update - RainDawg Technobabble 3 2005-02-23 02:43 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts