The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-05-12, 08:49 PM
keo72467 keo72467 is offline
763.11 GB/1.96 TB/2.63
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Help with new dual layer DVD burner

I have just purchased a new external DVD burner mostly for dual layer DVD's.It's a Sony DRX-830U and I'm looking for any input on this from any other users.Anybody out there own this unit?It's supposed to support all DVD media on the market and I was wondering which dual layeredDVD's should I use for music movies which I've doanloaded from here and elsewhere?I like sony's but which is the best-DVD-R or DVD+R?Also it comes with a CD software which includes Nero which I all ready have on my computer,can I use nero from my computer or should I use the enclosed software too,it seems like I wouldn't have too since Nero is all ready there.I havn't used it yet until I get some input from some of you techies out there any help?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-05-13, 10:38 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Help with new dual layer DVD burner

if you already have Nero, no need to install the burning software...you'll definitely want to update the firmware after the drive is installed:
http://sony.storagesupport.com/dvdrw/firmware.htm#830

as for DL DVDRs, i don't use a Sony drive, but i've found the Verbatim discs to be reliable...i had some issues with Ritek's DL discs, but i know others who have had no problems so it coulda been a drive support issue on my end
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-05-13, 10:51 AM
keo72467 keo72467 is offline
763.11 GB/1.96 TB/2.63
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Re: Help with new dual layer DVD burner

Thank you AAR.oner,I have gone to that website and this unit is not on there-mainly the reason for asking about this unit to see if other people have used this before or not.I havn't used it yet or installed yet until I get hopfully more responses here.I am going to call company too to see what input they can give me on Monday.It seems like the unit can do a lot just a little leary because it is not on website-maybe too new yet?Any way thanks again for your input-any one else have any comments please let me know.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
question about dual layer authoring/layer break - datdork Technobabble 24 2008-09-12 04:10 PM
Best Dual-layer burner for the money - alzeppelin Technobabble 9 2008-09-11 05:25 AM
Dual layer DVD to 2 SIngle layer DVD,s - bob francais Technobabble 1 2008-02-03 03:25 AM
Break up dual layer for mac? - Jobiwan24 Technobabble 1 2006-09-05 08:21 PM
Dual Layer Burner- What to look for? - roberthunter Technobabble 4 2005-07-10 10:15 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts