The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-05-04, 07:37 PM
garther's Avatar
garther garther is offline
82.64 GB/234.95 GB/2.84
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal
What about uploading a show that is in inactive torrents

I recently acquired silvers that have been seeded here before (over two years dead) and are in the inactive audio torrents section. http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...t=robert+plant

So - do I just start a new thread for this and upload my new torrent or is there another procedure?

thanks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-05-04, 07:40 PM
schmoe75's Avatar
schmoe75 schmoe75 is offline
VBT Mod
TTD Staff
0.00 KB/5.57 TB/Inf.
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Re: What about uploading a show that is in inactive torrents

http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...faq_audioguide
__________________
While we were all dancing these people were working & now freely sharing - Ray
We dont play black, we dont play white, we just play what we know & feel - Miles
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-05-04, 08:46 PM
guygee's Avatar
guygee guygee is offline
Non Serviam
1.17 TB/2.93 TB/2.50
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Astro Intergalactic Infinity
Re: What about uploading a show that is in inactive torrents

Quote:
Originally Posted by garther
I recently acquired silvers that have been seeded here before (over two years dead) and are in the inactive audio torrents section. http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...t=robert+plant

So - do I just start a new thread for this and upload my new torrent or is there another procedure?

thanks
I was kind of curious about this too, since even if EAC or suitable alternative is used, and even if we all know the READ OFFSET for our own particular DVD/CD drive, it is still likely that the md5s and the ffps will be different for different transfers "from silver". So if the ffps are different in the new seed transferred "from silver" compared to the old seed transferred from a supposedly identical "silver" boot, does it constitute a "reseed" or a whole new seed?
__________________

Constantly choosing the lesser of two evils is still choosing evil. --Jerry Garcia
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-05-04, 09:33 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: What about uploading a show that is in inactive torrents

a 'reseed' is still a new seed - just add a link to the old inactive thread
-thats my understanding of it
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-05-04, 10:40 PM
guygee's Avatar
guygee guygee is offline
Non Serviam
1.17 TB/2.93 TB/2.50
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Astro Intergalactic Infinity
Re: What about uploading a show that is in inactive torrents

Quote:
Originally Posted by direwolf-pgh
a 'reseed' is still a new seed - just add a link to the old inactive thread
-thats my understanding of it
I agree with you that it is a new seed in the sense that somebody has to seed a new torrent, but I thought the term "reseed" was reserved for filesets that have identical flac or shn fingerprints as those from a previous seed...or maybe even identical wholefile md5s for all of the music files...

I would go as far to say that if it is a true reseed in the way I would use the term, there should potentially be others with the same file set that could (theoretically) jump on and help seed at least the musical portion of the fileset (ignoring info files, artwork, etc.)...

If I am wrong about this and I am in fact nitpicking about the definition of a "reseed" please let me know
__________________

Constantly choosing the lesser of two evils is still choosing evil. --Jerry Garcia
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-05-05, 12:51 AM
garther's Avatar
garther garther is offline
82.64 GB/234.95 GB/2.84
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal
Re: What about uploading a show that is in inactive torrents

Quote:
Originally Posted by guygee
I was kind of curious about this too, since even if EAC or suitable alternative is used, and even if we all know the READ OFFSET for our own particular DVD/CD drive, it is still likely that the md5s and the ffps will be different for different transfers "from silver". So if the ffps are different in the new seed transferred "from silver" compared to the old seed transferred from a supposedly identical "silver" boot, does it constitute a "reseed" or a whole new seed?

Exactly - my just created filesets names, checksums, art, and info file names do not match the files of the existing dead torrent so that would be pointless to 'reseed'. I'd say its a new thread and torrent all together. So a ruling from a TTD Mod would be nice - the link to the FAQ doesn't cover the topic unless I am missing it....

thanks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-05-05, 06:47 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: What about uploading a show that is in inactive torrents

a reseed, as i understand it, would have to be the exact same fileset as the previous...what yer doing would be a whole new torrent -- i'd consider it another "version" in the trading pool...therefor you'll just follow the steps in the link schmoe posted above

but since you are adding a new "version", i would step it up from the previous...make sure you use an error-correcting extraction program [EAC or xACT or cdparanoia] and that it is properly configured in re: to offsets, etc...also, include the extraction log, since most collectors would prefer to have it...and include st5 checksums for both the flac AND the wav files

[if you already knew the above, my apologies -- we never know what folks know or don't in re: to lossless trading, so we try to break it down completely to cover all the bases ]
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-05-05, 06:14 PM
garther's Avatar
garther garther is offline
82.64 GB/234.95 GB/2.84
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal
Re: What about uploading a show that is in inactive torrents

Quote:
Originally Posted by AAR.oner
a reseed, as i understand it, would have to be the exact same fileset as the previous...what yer doing would be a whole new torrent -- i'd consider it another "version" in the trading pool...therefor you'll just follow the steps in the link schmoe posted above

but since you are adding a new "version", i would step it up from the previous...make sure you use an error-correcting extraction program [EAC or xACT or cdparanoia] and that it is properly configured in re: to offsets, etc...also, include the extraction log, since most collectors would prefer to have it...and include st5 checksums for both the flac AND the wav files

[if you already knew the above, my apologies -- we never know what folks know or don't in re: to lossless trading, so we try to break it down completely to cover all the bases ]

Thanks - no need to apologize - I'm after all the guy asking for more info from more experienced traders - I don't have all the answers! yeah its all set to go as described - but the ST5 checksum? Is that the number in my included EAC log with each extracte file? i.e "Copy CRC DCE83089" or another checksum to be calculated with xACT as is done for the the FFP?

thanks for the help
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2007-05-05, 06:21 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: What about uploading a show that is in inactive torrents

wav st5s using xACT....

Open xACT to the Checksums tab
Add all the wav files
Hit Checksums
You'll be asked if you want shntool or standard checksums
Hit shntool
Tell it where to save the checksums and give it a name (the extension is .st5)
Let xACT do it's thing


st5 - shntool md5
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2007-05-06, 02:44 AM
garther's Avatar
garther garther is offline
82.64 GB/234.95 GB/2.84
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal
Re: What about uploading a show that is in inactive torrents

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
wav st5s using xACT....

Open xACT to the Checksums tab
Add all the wav files
Hit Checksums
You'll be asked if you want shntool or standard checksums
Hit shntool
Tell it where to save the checksums and give it a name (the extension is .st5)
Let xACT do it's thing


st5 - shntool md5
got it - thanks again
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2007-05-12, 08:17 AM
Tubular
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: What about uploading a show that is in inactive torrents

If it is the same pressing of the CD, and
if your read offset was properly corrected, and
if the CD extracts with no errors,
then the wav files' md5's should match. (unless one set
has been mastered or edited or otherwise changed after
extraction)

If you go wav #1 > SHN version 2.90 (or whatever)
and then wav #1 > SHN version 3.60

then both SHN's md5's won't match because the newer version of SHN compresses better and the checksum is changed. There is also the issue of seek tables with SHN's. Some SHN seeds don't have them at all, some have them appended, and some have them as a separate .skt files. Two SHN sets made from identical wav files won't match if one set has seek tables appended and one set doesn't have them. FLAC's fingerprint remains the same though, because it just represents the audio data (not tags or replay gain) no matter what compression level or version is used.

Last edited by Tubular; 2007-05-12 at 08:25 AM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Inactive Audio Torrents - GRC Site Announcements & Suggestions 8 2009-01-22 01:07 PM
need help uploading a show - rollenran Technobabble 3 2006-10-20 07:59 PM
There's got to be a better way -- Inactive torrents - Chachi420 Site Announcements & Suggestions 20 2006-10-11 03:21 PM
help uploading my first show - bigwurock Technobabble 7 2006-03-07 02:38 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts