The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-02-15, 12:04 AM
stlphishhead stlphishhead is offline
235.24 GB/205.67 GB/0.87
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Timeout error, all the time

Hello,
I already posted this thread a couple weeks ago, but I couldn't find it, sorry.
I use azereus to download, and am completely successful at every other torrent site. On this site however, I always get a time out error. I have tried using numerous clients, called my isp and they don't block 6969. I know for sure my ports are open. Please help, going crazy!
Thanks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-02-15, 12:23 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Timeout error, all the time

How about we get the exact error and your OS to start with. (And how do you know your ports are forwarded?)
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-02-15, 09:21 AM
stlphishhead stlphishhead is offline
235.24 GB/205.67 GB/0.87
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Timeout error, all the time

The exact error I get is "Connection Error (timeout)". I am using windows xp SP2, and I know my ports are open because in Azureus when downloading from a different torrent site I get all green smile faces. If the ports are closed you can only get yellow smile faces.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-02-15, 11:22 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Timeout error, all the time

And you just let the client sit and try to connect for several minutes even though you get the connection error?

From filesoup's FAQ:

BitTorrent Error Messages: What is “error 10060 Connection timed out”, and how do I fix it?
This means that you sent a request to a peer or tracker, and there was no response. Again this error generally sorts itself out given time, and can be caused by a busy tracker. If the problem is persisting double-check to make sure your torrent is seeded and the tracker is working.

or from Brian's BT FAQ:

Problem connecting to tracker - timeout exceeded
Problem connecting to tracker - HTTP Error 503: Connect failed
Problem connecting to tracker - [Errno socket error] (10061, "Connection refused")
Problem connecting to tracker - (111, 'Connection refused')
There was a problem contacting the tracker. Trackers tend to be heavily loaded, and connections sometimes fail. The best thing to do is just be patient and leave the client open. If you find you're getting this a lot, you can try increasing the HTTP request timeout by adding the parameter "--http_timeout 120" (the default is 60, unit is seconds.) See the FAQ section (Xref) How do I change the command line parameters in Windows? if you need help doing this.

I'm not sure which of those errors fits what you are seeing.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-02-15, 11:35 AM
stlphishhead stlphishhead is offline
235.24 GB/205.67 GB/0.87
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Timeout error, all the time

I have let the client try to connect for several hours at a time and just keep getting "Connection Error (timeout)". When I click on the tracker link it comes up with the page cannot be displayed screen.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-02-15, 11:38 AM
stlphishhead stlphishhead is offline
235.24 GB/205.67 GB/0.87
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Timeout error, all the time

I don't get any of the timeout messages in Brian's faq with the error numbers or anything like that.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-02-15, 12:05 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Timeout error, all the time

Azureus won't really show those types of messages. Usually the normal bittorrent client will give you the more specific error message with the number and everything.

And, the tracker link won't work usually because when you make the torrent, most clients don't allow you to put one in, so it usually just shows the announce url, and for here, you can't see the tracker.

Are you downloading the torrent to your desktop and launching it from there?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-02-15, 12:55 PM
stlphishhead stlphishhead is offline
235.24 GB/205.67 GB/0.87
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Timeout error, all the time

Yes, I am downloading to a folder and then launching the torrents.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-02-15, 01:16 PM
stlphishhead stlphishhead is offline
235.24 GB/205.67 GB/0.87
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Timeout error, all the time

I tried to download Moe. 2005-2-10 Tsunami relief DVD in BitTornado and got the following more detailed error message
"Problem connecting to tracker-<urlopen error(10060,'operation timed out')>
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2005-02-15, 01:35 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Timeout error, all the time

Which is the filesoup one and the one you see on the list of common bt errors

I would try leaving that window open for awhile. Could it be that before, when you left the window open, that our tracker was down? I noticed that your last post was on 1/31 which was when we switched servers, so it could have been that our tracker was down then and so you really were having problems connecting to a dead tracker. The tracker is up and running right now though.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2005-02-15, 03:49 PM
stlphishhead stlphishhead is offline
235.24 GB/205.67 GB/0.87
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Timeout error, all the time

I have had Bit Tornado open for nearly 2 1/2 hours now, and still haven't connected at all. I don't think it was because your tracker was down, I have tried downloading from this site many times between 1-31 and now.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2005-02-18, 12:00 AM
stlphishhead stlphishhead is offline
235.24 GB/205.67 GB/0.87
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Timeout error, all the time

I still haven't been able to connect for last two days. I guess I'll give up.
Man that sucks.
Thanks for all your help though
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2007-05-31, 12:21 AM
sunnyvale07
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Timeout error, all the time

I stumbled upon this link while searching Google for answers to the same problem. While this thread/website did not prove helpful, I resolved the issue and wanted to share my solution:

1. Go to Security Center.
2. Disable firewall.
3. Restart Azureus.

Worked for me. =)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2007-05-31, 02:14 AM
KoolKat's Avatar
KoolKat KoolKat is offline
Video Guru
49.89 GB/89.01 GB/1.78
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: On A Shelf Near You
Re: Timeout error, all the time

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnyvale07
I stumbled upon this link while searching Google for answers to the same problem. While this thread/website did not prove helpful, I resolved the issue and wanted to share my solution:

1. Go to Security Center.
2. Disable firewall.
3. Restart Azureus.

Worked for me. =)
Not clever..
just add the client to the firewall exceptions.

K_K

(You still use windows firewall )
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
error on seeding - Backyard Tyrone Technobabble 3 2006-10-02 10:06 PM
i keep getting this error - alan price Technobabble 5 2006-06-26 11:36 PM
error, help please - mrownu Technobabble 0 2006-03-15 04:28 PM
Error Reads? : I/O error: Errno13 permission denied - croce33 Technobabble 5 2005-02-21 01:17 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts