The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-02-14, 04:45 PM
pmonk pmonk is offline
473.91 GB/618.14 GB/1.30
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Using BitTorrant to Hack??

Is this possible???
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain beyond
Mine is nearly dead. FUCK YOU and THE MOM THAT SHIT YOU OUT, you worthless POS. Now you go right ahead and call Lynne and get me banned you fucking cockroach. No problem. THREADS ALL YOURS, along with THE LOUNGE. See ya out there on the trail, Cowgirl. Classy. Real Classy. COWARD.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-02-14, 05:10 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

It is my understanding that there would have to be something in the code of your client for an attack to be made this way. One in a Billion chance, and in the unlikely event you would probably see a thread about it very quickly.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-02-14, 05:36 PM
pmonk pmonk is offline
473.91 GB/618.14 GB/1.30
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

I would imagine that! So it would be far-fetched that someone can use my BT client to be able to enter my office network and delete files!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain beyond
Mine is nearly dead. FUCK YOU and THE MOM THAT SHIT YOU OUT, you worthless POS. Now you go right ahead and call Lynne and get me banned you fucking cockroach. No problem. THREADS ALL YOURS, along with THE LOUNGE. See ya out there on the trail, Cowgirl. Classy. Real Classy. COWARD.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-02-14, 06:02 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

I'm no programmer but I've seen this topic come up several times and the techsperts unanimously agree that bt is safe.

hopefully somebody will stop by and post a more detailed explanation than I'm capable of!
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-02-15, 07:11 AM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

I'm not really qualified to comment, but I'll say that I have heard from people who's opinions I respect that opening ports and using BT software is quite safe.
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-02-15, 02:10 PM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

Perfectly safe you say? BitTorrent seems to have hacked my computer pretty bad. I started running it 18 months ago and in that time it has managed to flood my harddrive with SHN and FLAC files.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-02-16, 10:58 AM
Rider's Avatar
Rider Rider is offline
11.76 GB/25.98 GB/2.21
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

Nothing is 100% safe but like Five said, there would have to be something in the client. And considering how vocal the BT world is I think the second an exploit came out in one of the BT clients everyone would know about it.

It would also be a good idea to stick with the more well used clients.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-02-16, 11:42 AM
pmonk pmonk is offline
473.91 GB/618.14 GB/1.30
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

Just BT clients officially endorsed by STG, R-O and TTD
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain beyond
Mine is nearly dead. FUCK YOU and THE MOM THAT SHIT YOU OUT, you worthless POS. Now you go right ahead and call Lynne and get me banned you fucking cockroach. No problem. THREADS ALL YOURS, along with THE LOUNGE. See ya out there on the trail, Cowgirl. Classy. Real Classy. COWARD.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-02-16, 12:17 PM
Rider's Avatar
Rider Rider is offline
11.76 GB/25.98 GB/2.21
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmonk66
Just BT clients officially endorsed by STG, R-O and TTD

Also becarefull where you get the cleints from. There was a site that was hosting a version of Shadows that was full of spyware
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2005-02-16, 12:39 PM
irishcrazy2005's Avatar
irishcrazy2005 irishcrazy2005 is offline
Yeah, that's a zebra donkey
110.97 GB/130.20 GB/1.17
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

I have a question about this. By opening up ports 6881-6999 in your firewall, aren't you becoming more vulnerable to attack? I understand that all internet activity occurs through open ports, but I am a little confused here.

-Phil
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2005-02-16, 02:55 PM
chipwhite935's Avatar
chipwhite935 chipwhite935 is offline
96.95 GB/393.10 GB/4.05
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

Quote:
Originally Posted by irishcrazy2005
I have a question about this. By opening up ports 6881-6999 in your firewall, aren't you becoming more vulnerable to attack? I understand that all internet activity occurs through open ports, but I am a little confused here.

-Phil
Only if you have a program on your machine that is listening on those ports and it is either malicious or has some nasty vulnerabilities. Just having ports open by itself should not be a problem.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2005-02-16, 03:26 PM
irishcrazy2005's Avatar
irishcrazy2005 irishcrazy2005 is offline
Yeah, that's a zebra donkey
110.97 GB/130.20 GB/1.17
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

Quote:
Originally Posted by chipwhite935
Only if you have a program on your machine that is listening on those ports and it is either malicious or has some nasty vulnerabilities. Just having ports open by itself should not be a problem.
Pardon my stupidity, but why then have a firewall in the first place?

-Phil
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2005-02-16, 03:46 PM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

You're right, irish. It's not simply a matter of whether a program is listening to a particular port that determines vulnerability. Opening ports does make you more vulnerable to attacks regardless of whether a particular program is using that port. But the only way to assure absolute security from attack via the net is to not be connected to the net.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2005-02-17, 06:48 PM
TedBell TedBell is offline
38.31 GB/97.47 GB/2.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

gotta be careful that you are downloading your clients from official channels...there are some hacked versions of bittorrent clients out there which contain evilware...first client i ever downloaded contained a nasty keystroke logger.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2005-02-17, 08:52 PM
chipwhite935's Avatar
chipwhite935 chipwhite935 is offline
96.95 GB/393.10 GB/4.05
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Re: Using BitTorrant to Hack??

Quote:
Originally Posted by irishcrazy2005
Pardon my stupidity, but why then have a firewall in the first place?

-Phil
That's not a stupid question.

I didn't mean to imply that you can just open up all of your ports and not worry about being hacked. The question was about the standard Bittorrent ports 6881-6999. But there are many "Well Known" system ports that should be protected by a firewall. In this case, the operating system and its related utilities are listening on these ports.

Also, a firewall can help detect and prevent outbound data traffic that might be generated by spyware running on your machine.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts