The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-04-14, 03:32 PM
bullpinjohn's Avatar
bullpinjohn bullpinjohn is offline
241.61 GB/353.36 GB/1.46
 
Join Date: May 2006
Netgear WGR614 v6

I'm on a network, using a Netgear router and the pci
are also Netgear. Does anyone know how to encrypt, the
other two PC's? Do I enter a password or what, any
help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-04-14, 03:48 PM
katnapz's Avatar
katnapz katnapz is offline
What'cha Got There?
208.73 GB/1.99 TB/9.77
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Netgear WGR614 v6


I'm lost...maybe someone else can figure out what you're asking for.

Are you trying to encrypt your wireless connection?...or somehow set things up so the other two PC's can't see what's going on by using encryption? Or lock down your network using encryption?...or....

What are you trying to do?
__________________
...Catnip is my middle name...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-04-14, 05:10 PM
bullpinjohn's Avatar
bullpinjohn bullpinjohn is offline
241.61 GB/353.36 GB/1.46
 
Join Date: May 2006
Re: Netgear WGR614 v6

I think my neighbor is connecting to my wireless connection
using his laptop, he has no isp, I think he's using mine.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-04-14, 05:14 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Netgear WGR614 v6

We have a Belkin wireless, but under the Security tab there are several options. We use the Mac Address option (it is not related to having a macintosh computer) and just input the mac address from the computers we want to 'see' our router and only they can see it. (Unless you know how to spoof a mac address that we have input into that list.)
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-04-14, 07:45 PM
katnapz's Avatar
katnapz katnapz is offline
What'cha Got There?
208.73 GB/1.99 TB/9.77
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Netgear WGR614 v6

When it comes to the subject of your network wireless security, you might want to actually go to the Netgear homepage and read the owners manual to make sure that you cover all the steps.
If you bought the router new, and still have the documentation there should have been a "quick start guide" that came with it that simplifies the set-up steps for enabling wireless security....I've had Netgear, Linksys and Belkin routers and they all have that initial poster size set-up sheet or the equal.

Just think, there is the chance that the advice that someone here gives you may only be part of the process you need to do, continuing to leave your network open....while you feel secure. I'd go to Netgear.com and download the manual.
__________________
...Catnip is my middle name...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-04-14, 07:55 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Netgear WGR614 v6

what Lynne said + WEP encryption is as good as it gets for that device.

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-04-14, 08:49 PM
katnapz's Avatar
katnapz katnapz is offline
What'cha Got There?
208.73 GB/1.99 TB/9.77
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Netgear WGR614 v6

Quote:
Originally Posted by direwolf-pgh
what Lynne said + WEP encryption is as good as it gets for that device.

Yep,...additional details....

So, to broadcast or to not broadcast? Details, details....

bullpinjohn, i'm not picking on you, it's just a Sat night.

And I really do worry about other people's network security. I see some pretty scary stuff sometimes...
__________________
...Catnip is my middle name...

Last edited by katnapz; 2007-04-14 at 08:54 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-04-16, 12:29 PM
bullpinjohn's Avatar
bullpinjohn bullpinjohn is offline
241.61 GB/353.36 GB/1.46
 
Join Date: May 2006
Re: Netgear WGR614 v6

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
We have a Belkin wireless, but under the Security tab there are several options. We use the Mac Address option (it is not related to having a macintosh computer) and just input the mac address from the computers we want to 'see' our router and only they can see it. (Unless you know how to spoof a mac address that we have input into that list.)
I found the Mac at netgear.com, so do I put Mac address
on each pc in wep encryption, maybe I'm not saying it
right.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2007-04-16, 01:27 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Netgear WGR614 v6

Get the mac address from each computer, it is unique to the computer. Then in the Security tab (at least that is what it is called on mine), you can add each of the mac addresses. You also need to make note of the 'name' of the router (for us it shows up in the main screen labeled as "SSID"). Then, go back to the PCs and the wireless connection and it will ask what wireless network it should look for and you have an option to input a name. You input that SSID and it looks for it, sees that it allows that PC because of the mac address and then connects.

That is all for our computer, so yours may be different.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2007-04-17, 11:57 AM
bullpinjohn's Avatar
bullpinjohn bullpinjohn is offline
241.61 GB/353.36 GB/1.46
 
Join Date: May 2006
Re: Netgear WGR614 v6

well i did the mac thing, and in the process, one of the pc's
would not connect. now i have to start over.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts