The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-04-01, 11:53 AM
general eclectic's Avatar
general eclectic general eclectic is offline
91.12 GB/166.20 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney suburbia
ports

why do my ports show as open only some of the time? such as, not now!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-04-01, 12:08 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: ports

Are tehy showing the same port numbers sometimes open and sometimes closed? Or showing different ports all the time? Something to check.... open up your terminal and type "ipinfo" (I think that is it) and it will tell you your local IP - something like 192.168.1.xxx . Do that both when your ports are opened and closed and see if that value is different.

You can also take a look at canyouseeme.org and see if your port is currently open.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-04-01, 12:36 PM
general eclectic's Avatar
general eclectic general eclectic is offline
91.12 GB/166.20 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney suburbia
Re: ports

canyouseeme can see me

would it hurt for me turn uTorrent off then on again to see if it changes anything?

re: ipinfo is that in the DOS prompt window? if so the command is wrong...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-04-01, 12:55 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: ports

Whoops.... it's "ipconfig" Sorry.

If you are fine on canyouseeme, but TTD, err, COBT ( ) is showing you as firewalled, try just stopping the torrent and then starting it again.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-04-01, 12:59 PM
general eclectic's Avatar
general eclectic general eclectic is offline
91.12 GB/166.20 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney suburbia
Re: ports

thanx, took a note of the IP whilst i'm showing in red, just gotta wait now for the port to appear to be open again...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-04-01, 01:06 PM
general eclectic's Avatar
general eclectic general eclectic is offline
91.12 GB/166.20 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney suburbia
Re: ports

Aaah, uTorrent is now showing the magic green circle with the white tick in it.

Next time yr tracker updates i think it should show my ports as open. Thanx for the help, but why does it do that? Anybody know?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-04-01, 01:10 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: ports

It is this one you are showing up as firewalled on: Jeff Lang 1990s Real Scars (FLAC)

You should stop it and then start it again and the firewalled sign should go away.

As for why it does that.... well either at the time you started the torrent you were having connection problems (ISP stuff) and so the tracker thought you were firewalled OR when you started, our tracker load was up and gave a false positive on you being firewalled.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-04-01, 01:17 PM
general eclectic's Avatar
general eclectic general eclectic is offline
91.12 GB/166.20 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney suburbia
Re: ports

Thanx Lynne, did you get the Az show?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2007-04-01, 01:27 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: ports

Getting it now. I wish they had a one-button-grabs-all for the flac files.

Thanks!
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2007-04-01, 01:44 PM
general eclectic's Avatar
general eclectic general eclectic is offline
91.12 GB/166.20 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney suburbia
Re: ports

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
Getting it now. I wish they had a one-button-grabs-all for the flac files.

Thanks!
Wouldn't that be nice. Surely someone's suggested it to them before now.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2007-04-01, 02:09 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: ports

Actually, they used to have that, but then they changed the site configuration and never put it back on. I don't know if there was ever a reason given for why they didn't put it back.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
I have my ports forwarded BUT - cokelight1244 Technobabble 2 2007-03-27 10:56 AM
How many ports needed? - hey-daddio Technobabble 2 2007-01-25 11:53 PM
Ports question - WolfgangAM Technobabble 2 2005-12-06 11:59 AM
Trying to open ports.need help - Long_Line_of_Geeks Technobabble 2 2005-11-08 03:53 PM
Opening Ports - livejamz Technobabble 2 2005-05-23 06:53 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts