The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-03-13, 06:08 AM
garther's Avatar
garther garther is offline
82.64 GB/234.95 GB/2.84
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal
Gap indication at beginning of disc with EAC

Hi - I've prepared a show to up (my first here) from a 2 disc silver set I have and now the anxiety of screwing up has set in and have a question I can't seem to find addressed in the forums, archive or FAQ:

Is anything to be done with the pregap at the beginning of each disc?

First I want to say being an OSX user if I were just ripping with xACT, I'd never known it was there - doesn't show such things that I can find, and its not unlike other cd's where there's brief silence to open a disc - But upon getting 'atom' problems with xACT and unsatisfactory rip logs I opted for setting up EAC on the peecee to get an error corrected rip, at least as far as the log says, and it did and sounds great (finally XP was good for something!) as did the xACT wavs but thats another thread - anyway EAC showed a 00.00.02.00 pregap in its gui on the first track of each disc upon (f4) - but doesn't show in the log. Now that I've seen it though listed in the gui I have to ask. Can it stay as is? or do I need to edit it out before uploading? and if so with what method? Is there a function in EAC to do this I missed or is it a manual edit thing I should do in SoundTrackPro or similar editing app? Then if so does this edit get noted in the lineage for the two tracks it affects since I would have altered the original content of the silver cd? Or is all this just overly obsessive and annoying

Here's a relevant piece of the log from EAC if thats any help for settings suggestions if applicable.

EAC extraction logfile from 12. March 2007, 11:59 for CD
Unknown Artist / Unknown Title

Used drive : QSI CDRW/DVD SBW242U Adapter: 1 ID: 0
Read mode : Secure with NO C2, accurate stream, disable cache
Read offset correction : 6
Overread into Lead-In and Lead-Out : No

Used output format : Internal WAV Routines
44.100 Hz; 16 Bit; Stereo

Other options :
Fill up missing offset samples with silence : Yes
Delete leading and trailing silent blocks : No
Native Win32 interface for Win NT & 2000


Track 1
Filename C:\Robert Plant - 10-4-93 - Seattle\Disc1\Track01.wav

Peak level 61.7 %
Track quality 100.0 %
Copy CRC 61CAE3EB
Copy OK


thanks for the help/suggestions...just want to get it right the first time adding a torrent here!

greg
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-03-13, 08:18 AM
attheshow's Avatar
attheshow attheshow is offline
111.44 GB/127.92 GB/1.15
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Re: Gap indication at beginning of disc with EAC

I'm new to all this as well, so you may want to wait for an expert response, but what I can tell you is that Toast INSISTS on having a 2 second pre-gap on the first track when burning an audio cd. I think this is part of the redbook standard, probably nothing to worry about.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-03-13, 11:09 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Gap indication at beginning of disc with EAC

Yeah, Toast does insist on a 2-second gap at the beginning of the disc, I think other burning apps do also. (I think?) It isn't usually included in the first track when you rip it, it's just 2 seconds of 'blank' space prior to the first track.

Anyway, can you actually see this gap? Do you have audacity? It's free: http://audacity.sourceforge.net/download/ You may want to open up the first wav and see if that gap really exists there or if EAC was just saying there was a gap prior to extracting. (Or, if you don't want to get audacity, can you actually hear it?)
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-03-13, 06:28 PM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: Gap indication at beginning of disc with EAC

Your drive is problematic as it is listed as purged in http://www.accuraterip.com/driveoffsets.htm so perhaps results are inconsistent

2 sec gap at the beginning of disc is red book standard thus it cannot be changed.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-03-13, 09:07 PM
garther's Avatar
garther garther is offline
82.64 GB/234.95 GB/2.84
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal
Re: Gap indication at beginning of disc with EAC

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
Yeah, Toast does insist on a 2-second gap at the beginning of the disc, I think other burning apps do also. (I think?) It isn't usually included in the first track when you rip it, it's just 2 seconds of 'blank' space prior to the first track.

Anyway, can you actually see this gap? Do you have audacity? It's free: http://audacity.sourceforge.net/download/ You may want to open up the first wav and see if that gap really exists there or if EAC was just saying there was a gap prior to extracting. (Or, if you don't want to get audacity, can you actually hear it?)
Yeah its there for sure on both opening tracks but its not exactly 2 seconds (see below/attachment 1. d1t1, 2. d2t1 3. middle track for ref) - as if its part of the source - so is it to be removed before posting a torrent, or since its seemingly part of the original recording/cd does it stay as is?

http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...id=25401&stc=1

thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: png Picture 4.png
( 56.6 KB, 19 views)
 
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-03-13, 11:22 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Gap indication at beginning of disc with EAC

I would leave it as is. I t's a straight rip from the Silver CDs and the 'gap' is at the beginning of the disc. You should mention in your text notes that you are aware of it and that it is straight from the Silver CDs.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-03-14, 03:15 AM
garther's Avatar
garther garther is offline
82.64 GB/234.95 GB/2.84
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal
Re: Gap indication at beginning of disc with EAC

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
I would leave it as is. I t's a straight rip from the Silver CDs and the 'gap' is at the beginning of the disc. You should mention in your text notes that you are aware of it and that it is straight from the Silver CDs.

Okay will do, thanks for answering my concern...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Nazareth From The Beginning (DVD) - Grapost DVD Covers 4 2010-09-16 08:56 PM
2-disc and 3-disc jewel cases that support standard coverart? - DMBpride Technobabble 10 2004-12-09 08:46 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts