The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-02-08, 04:05 PM
cmaz's Avatar
cmaz cmaz is offline
Now he's just a bag of garbage
333.29 GB/823.35 GB/2.47
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere in time
lossless database like gracenote?

Anybody know if there is a lossless database out there like gracenote or freedb? And if so, is there any program that will look at a set of flac files (or shn's or ape's or whatever) and retrieve the information for that fileset?

Thanks for any replies.
__________________
--
chris

----------Nothing is Real!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-02-11, 08:38 AM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: lossless database like gracenote?

You could put information for a lossless set to freedb just like any other set. I know that there are many boot sets on CDDB.
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-02-11, 03:28 PM
cmaz's Avatar
cmaz cmaz is offline
Now he's just a bag of garbage
333.29 GB/823.35 GB/2.47
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere in time
Re: lossless database like gracenote?

Raindawg, i'm glad you responded because, mainly i'm interested in speeding up the process of entering information into my Music Collector database (which i'm using because of your recommendation back at STG).

So anyway, you mention that there are many boot sets on CDDB, but there's no way to get music collector to get at that information, is there? i mean, i might find Jerry Garcia Band 3/18/78 on CDDB, but the information that MC will download is specific to the CD version, not the flac fileset.

How do *you* go about inputting information into MC for lossless shows?

Thanks for any help!
__________________
--
chris

----------Nothing is Real!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-02-13, 10:32 AM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: lossless database like gracenote?

You add stuff using the "wizard mode" which will allow you to search by artist/album. The problem here is that it might be hard for you type in album not knowing the syntax with which it was entered into the database. I've not tried this, but you may get limited results...certainly not consistent I can guarantee.

There are quite a bit of things such as JGB and other boots on feedb.org, and you can get info from there directly through foobar2000 by selecting the files and searching. This is based on track times, AFAIK, and should download the tags if the show is in the db. I don't know just how many will be there, but you could certainly tag your files and then submit the set for build the database.

That being said, I am actually in the process of moving away from Music Collector. It is great software, but I have been quite hampered by it's rather limited options for importing and exporting entries. I really need to be able to get shows directly into the database from foobar2000.

Right now, I'm working on learning mysql and php in order to be able to build my own custom database that I can very easily input stuff to.
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-02-14, 03:21 PM
cmaz's Avatar
cmaz cmaz is offline
Now he's just a bag of garbage
333.29 GB/823.35 GB/2.47
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere in time
Re: lossless database like gracenote?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RainDawg
Right now, I'm working on learning mysql and php in order to be able to build my own custom database that I can very easily input stuff to.
When you do, put it up for sale here!
__________________
--
chris

----------Nothing is Real!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Gracenote - EVAN772 Technobabble 0 2007-06-17 06:35 PM
How To Do A List Database? - Ritual Technobabble 4 2007-03-11 12:29 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts