The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-02-04, 04:38 PM
barley masticus's Avatar
barley masticus barley masticus is offline
487.87 GB/1.45 TB/3.03
 
Join Date: May 2006
incomplete dvd burns...

i wonder why some of my dvds are not completing?
i burn the entire folder, but they will quit playing halfway through.
sometimes they freeze for several minutes and pick back up a few songs later.
it seems to happen with roxio 7. any ideas?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-02-04, 05:19 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: incomplete dvd burns...

Are you making sure to run the md5 checksums against the files prior to burning? (And then removing the md5s from the VIDEO_TS folder prior to burning.) Does your DVD player play both PAL and NTSC? Do they play fine on your computer, just not in your DVD player? Have you changed media brands lately (or just gotten a new spindle)?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-02-04, 10:09 PM
barley masticus's Avatar
barley masticus barley masticus is offline
487.87 GB/1.45 TB/3.03
 
Join Date: May 2006
Re: incomplete dvd burns...

i don't always remove the md5 checksums...
it's happened with at least 5 different brands of DVDs.
as far as the player, i have an older sony that won't play nero burns.
the roxio play, but even on high-end players they freeze or finish halfway through.

thanks Lynne.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-02-04, 10:32 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: incomplete dvd burns...

OK, wait.....

If you don't remove the md5s from the VIDEO_TS folder, you WILL have problems! You can put them in an EXTRAS_TS folder in the DVD, but the only files allowed in the VIDEO_TS folder are ifo, bup, and vob files.

Since your Sony player won't play Nero burns, what software are you using to burn your DVDs - Roxio 7? Have you ever tried Ones?

And again, have you tried to play the same shows on your computer and do they play all the way through then?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-02-04, 11:41 PM
barley masticus's Avatar
barley masticus barley masticus is offline
487.87 GB/1.45 TB/3.03
 
Join Date: May 2006
Re: incomplete dvd burns...

gotta give Ones a shot... it's in schmoe's sig, right?
i'm going to find it and give it a shot. gotta be better than Roxio 7.
but, as far as the md5 files go... i've never really considered that they could be trouble. guess i'll just have to play with a few.
and check out Ones.
not sure if they play through completely on my computer... kinda funny b/c i have a huge monitor, 7.1, and a great video card. maybe i should pop one in.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-02-04, 11:48 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: incomplete dvd burns...

Don't you ever play them prior to burning? That's what I'm asking about. Use a DVD player like VLC from videolan.org and you can play the DVD on your computer prior to burning it.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-02-05, 12:02 AM
barley masticus's Avatar
barley masticus barley masticus is offline
487.87 GB/1.45 TB/3.03
 
Join Date: May 2006
Re: incomplete dvd burns...

oh. yes, they play. i usually just do a quick quality check and burn. watch them on the tv, though...
i'm putting VLC on my to-do list, too.
thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-02-05, 10:54 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: incomplete dvd burns...

So the shows play fine on your computer and only do the 'freezing' when you play them back on your DVD player? Does it always freeze in the same place (like can you go back to the beginning and play it and it will freeze in the exact same place)?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2007-02-05, 02:29 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: incomplete dvd burns...

I had this issue of "freezing" once with my Sony DVD player.
replaced my DVD burner with a new sony burner. now everything is great.

it was strange because the original burns worked fine on other DVD players &
also in the computer - had to be a tracking issue.

2 cents
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2007-02-05, 05:11 PM
barley masticus's Avatar
barley masticus barley masticus is offline
487.87 GB/1.45 TB/3.03
 
Join Date: May 2006
Re: incomplete dvd burns...

yup. sony dvd player here. they do fine when using my machine w/ a sony burner (and b's rec. gold), but not so well when using the lg and sony dvd player...
and they freeze at (or very, very close to) the same spot every time. my folks dig floyd and coltrane... so i give them a couple of dvds of each. we watch over christmas on their $ony system... freeze frame. the same spot i get the freeze on my dvd player. and the same spot my neighbor gets the frozen screen.
guess i'm going to invest in some new hardware in a few weeks. that's probably my best bet... geez. i sound like a consumer whore...
thank you guys for your help. i'm going to try a new burner and Ones before getting back i do any more complaining...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2007-02-18, 09:34 AM
Kingfish127's Avatar
Kingfish127 Kingfish127 is offline
256.91 GB/184.38 GB/0.72
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan, Cedar Springs
Re: incomplete dvd burns...

I had a issue like this, new DVD player would not play burned disc without locking up.. Well it turned out I was burning on -R when I should of used R+
my burner uses both so I started useing +R disc and that was the trick for me.

Hope this helps
Kingfish
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
chapter menu - which program burns it on DVD? - Tequila_sunrise Technobabble 1 2007-10-10 10:32 AM
[Closed] Pre-Burns (DVD) for B&P ***closed*** - skodechoker B&P Offers 1 2006-05-21 12:08 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts