The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-01-22, 04:45 PM
jaro's Avatar
jaro jaro is offline
208.33 GB/292.18 GB/1.40
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Problem with Portforwarding...

I have been trying to configure my ports to avoid being firewalled...I even downloaded the portforward program that automatically configures your computer...I am having trouble identifying which ports I need to open...I am asked to name the TCP and UDP ports in the configuration screen and I just put 6881 for both....this can't be right....

I used to download at fast speeds (350k or better) and upload was capped at 45k (I am on Comcast High Speed Cable)...now my uploads barely get above 4k and my downloads won't go above 50k...my ratios are getting killed!

I recently upgraded BitTorrent to 5.05 or whatever the latest version is...that's when my troubles started...any help would be greatly appreciated!

Jaro
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-01-22, 05:16 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

I have the same port for both TCP and UDP, so I don't think that is a problem. So ISPs are getting wise to common bittorrent ports (6881-6889) and 'blocking' them (not completely, but basically cutting down on your download/upload rates for those ports), so I would try different ports, like something between 40000 and 52000. See if that improves things. If not, you may try using encryption, which I do not believe is an option using the regular bittorrent client.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-01-22, 06:16 PM
jaro's Avatar
jaro jaro is offline
208.33 GB/292.18 GB/1.40
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
I have the same port for both TCP and UDP, so I don't think that is a problem. So ISPs are getting wise to common bittorrent ports (6881-6889) and 'blocking' them (not completely, but basically cutting down on your download/upload rates for those ports), so I would try different ports, like something between 40000 and 52000. See if that improves things. If not, you may try using encryption, which I do not believe is an option using the regular bittorrent client.
Thanks for the advice...Should I set the TCP 40000 & UDP 52000? I just am not getting my head wrapped around the port stuff....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-01-22, 06:19 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

Try setting them both to the same thing. Then, make sure you put the same port into your bittorrent client (I'm not familiar with the portforward software you are using, so I don't know if it does that for you).
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-01-24, 06:13 PM
jaro's Avatar
jaro jaro is offline
208.33 GB/292.18 GB/1.40
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

I tried using ports 40000 in PFConfig program for TCP & UDP, switched BT to 40000 and am seeding a Jet DVD with only 4k upload speed....this is just horrendous...should I look into running an older version of BT? I had no trouble until I started upgrading...

Once again, thanks for the advice as it is deeply appreciated!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-01-24, 06:37 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

Have you tried running a speed test to see what kind of speeds you should be able to get? (Make sure to do that without anything running that accesses the internet.) Also, are you downloading (or uploading) anything else at the same time?

Did you try encryption at all (or does bittorrent not have that option)?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-01-24, 11:40 PM
wbaetz wbaetz is offline
664.75 GB/1.78 TB/2.74
 
Join Date: May 2005
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

I'm no expert, but if the problems started when you upgraded your bt client, then it's more likely the client settings than a port forwarding issue. I would suggest checking the settings in your bt client..
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-01-26, 04:31 PM
jaro's Avatar
jaro jaro is offline
208.33 GB/292.18 GB/1.40
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

Quote:
Originally Posted by wbaetz
I'm no expert, but if the problems started when you upgraded your bt client, then it's more likely the client settings than a port forwarding issue. I would suggest checking the settings in your bt client..
That was the right call! I clicked off the autodetect bandwidth (which was defaulted at 4k!) and now things are running ok....The only thing now is that BT takes like 20 minutes to connect to the swarm...says "Checking for Firewall" in the lower right corner and I get problem connecting to tracker errors in the Log....after a few hours, it will say "Online ports open"...it works, so I guess I shouldn't complain, but it seems like it takes a long time to run....plus I still show up as firewalled even though BT says my ports are open...

How do I check my speed?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2007-01-26, 06:39 PM
slewofboots's Avatar
slewofboots slewofboots is offline
221.15 GB/2.29 TB/10.60
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

http://www.dslreports.com/speedtests
-Slew
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2007-01-27, 12:10 AM
eNtROpY's Avatar
eNtROpY eNtROpY is offline
127.26 GB/134.89 GB/1.06
 
Join Date: May 2006
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

hey jaro, i just experienced the same problem you did (i'm surprised this thread isn't longer). in the end, you talking about 20 minute connections even tho you 'fixed' the problem scared me off. so i downloaded uTorrent (per this site) and followed the instructions per portforwarding for my router. i had probs initially with torrents still looking for bittorrent even tho i had made uTorrent the new default, but uninstalling bitorrent solved the problem. i'm back in business. not sure why bitorrent messed with a good (or decent anyway) thing.

still not sure why i download at only about 80-100kb/s (connection gets 2.5mb, but this is my usual) if you could pull 350, but i guess that's another thread. good luck sorting this out.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2007-01-27, 09:38 AM
jaro's Avatar
jaro jaro is offline
208.33 GB/292.18 GB/1.40
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

Quote:
Originally Posted by eNtROpY
hey jaro, i just experienced the same problem you did (i'm surprised this thread isn't longer). in the end, you talking about 20 minute connections even tho you 'fixed' the problem scared me off. so i downloaded uTorrent (per this site) and followed the instructions per portforwarding for my router. i had probs initially with torrents still looking for bittorrent even tho i had made uTorrent the new default, but uninstalling bitorrent solved the problem. i'm back in business. not sure why bitorrent messed with a good (or decent anyway) thing.

still not sure why i download at only about 80-100kb/s (connection gets 2.5mb, but this is my usual) if you could pull 350, but i guess that's another thread. good luck sorting this out.

Seems to me that the program I downoaded (and paid $30 for!) doesn't seem to be doing it's job...I will keep working on it...definitely disappointing to think you are getting an upgrade and end up with a headache....I may do the same as you and switch to uTorrent...you have no issues with it, right?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2007-01-27, 12:24 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

jaro, you *paid* for a bittorrent client?

eNtROpY, 2.5 mb download on a speedtest is equivalent to 2500/8 or about 300 kb/s in bittorrent land. You download speed will depend on whether you are also uploading (which will decrease your overall download speed) and also the speed by which others are uploading. If you are connected to two seeders, and they are each only uploading at 30kbps, then your download can only be 2x30 or 60 kbps max.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2007-01-27, 12:53 PM
jaro's Avatar
jaro jaro is offline
208.33 GB/292.18 GB/1.40
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
jaro, you *paid* for a bittorrent client?

eNtROpY, 2.5 mb download on a speedtest is equivalent to 2500/8 or about 300 kb/s in bittorrent land. You download speed will depend on whether you are also uploading (which will decrease your overall download speed) and also the speed by which others are uploading. If you are connected to two seeders, and they are each only uploading at 30kbps, then your download can only be 2x30 or 60 kbps max.

No, I paid for the Portforward software....from the portforward site....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2007-01-27, 01:02 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

You are only the second person I've heard of who has that software. I don't suppose you know if they just recently put it on their site, do you?

The software may be working just fine. We are experiencing some problems on the site with more traffic and thus the tracker is getting a bit more overloaded and probably giving out more 'false positives' on the firewall issue. If you do get the firewalled sign on here, but you are sure you are not firewalled, do NOT worry about it! The bittorrent clients continually will check to see if people are firewalled. So, if you really are not firewalled, other bittorrent clients will know it and treat you as an unfirewalled user.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2007-01-27, 04:25 PM
jaro's Avatar
jaro jaro is offline
208.33 GB/292.18 GB/1.40
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: Problem with Portforwarding...

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
You are only the second person I've heard of who has that software. I don't suppose you know if they just recently put it on their site, do you?

The software may be working just fine. We are experiencing some problems on the site with more traffic and thus the tracker is getting a bit more overloaded and probably giving out more 'false positives' on the firewall issue. If you do get the firewalled sign on here, but you are sure you are not firewalled, do NOT worry about it! The bittorrent clients continually will check to see if people are firewalled. So, if you really are not firewalled, other bittorrent clients will know it and treat you as an unfirewalled user.
First, thanks for the advice you've given me...I appreciate you taking the time to share your knowledge....

I would have to say the software is new to their site, but it appears that my BT is running very well at the moment...I am ports open all the way! I hope this thread might have helped some people out!

Thanks to all who replied...

(BTW- did the speed test and I am running normally....)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
basic ? about portforwarding - Buzz Durden-Hail Technobabble 2 2008-07-18 03:26 PM
Is there anyway to fix my status as firewalled without portforwarding? - Davino Technobabble 7 2008-03-31 02:30 PM
portforwarding-i have done it, but am still firewalled - nicks06 Technobabble 1 2007-03-17 02:48 PM
portforwarding question?? - Jeff B Technobabble 10 2007-01-20 12:14 PM
firewalled - portforwarding doesnt help - micenzo Technobabble 2 2006-12-25 11:47 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts