The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1366  
Old 2006-07-12, 04:29 AM
wolf_in's Avatar
wolf_in wolf_in is offline
538.57 GB/237.45 GB/0.44
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
help with dvd-r dule layers

every time i burn a duel layer disk it does not play in my dvd player. i have a DL. burner and all that jive but every time i end up having to shrink it to 2 disks to play it on my player if any one could help me out our maybe tell me what i might be doing wrong i would be very grateful. btw i have a g.e dvd player that plays just about any other disks but DL.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1367  
Old 2006-07-12, 08:31 AM
schmoe75's Avatar
schmoe75 schmoe75 is offline
VBT Mod
TTD Staff
0.00 KB/5.57 TB/Inf.
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Re: help with dvd-r dule layers

That's it...like most other technology, things havnt completely caught up to date. there are some dvd players that are not equipped to play DL blanks.
Have you tried playing the discs in your computer after burning them to make sure it is the player and not the discs?

(217.18 GB/49.46 GB/0.23)....talk about a horrendous ratio
__________________
While we were all dancing these people were working & now freely sharing - Ray
We dont play black, we dont play white, we just play what we know & feel - Miles
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1368  
Old 2006-07-24, 07:44 PM
Homebrew101's Avatar
Homebrew101 Homebrew101 is offline
1.34 TB/1.43 TB/1.07
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: City of Festivals
Burning a DVD - Region Settings

I live in the USA, my standalone DVD player is region 1. My Lite-On DVD burner in my pc is set for region 1.
I just burned a dvd that my standalone player (Sony) will not play citing that it is "prohibited by area limitations" which I assume to be referring to the region code. I burned the dvd with Nero Express. It plays fine on my pc with PowerDVD.

I have since burned Hendrix at the Atlanta Pop Festival and that plays fine on the Sony.

What went wrong? Nero? The original files? I want to burn it again but not for another 30 cent coaster.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddyray View Post
I got a big bunch of dick, I am measuring it with a chicken.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1369  
Old 2006-07-24, 07:50 PM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: Burning a DVD - Region Settings

What DVD did you try burning? And had anyone else in the thread had similar problems?
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1370  
Old 2006-07-24, 07:55 PM
Homebrew101's Avatar
Homebrew101 Homebrew101 is offline
1.34 TB/1.43 TB/1.07
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: City of Festivals
Re: Burning a DVD - Region Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsmyth79
What DVD did you try burning? And had anyone else in the thread had similar problems?
It was ELO Live in London 1976 - I got off of Zomb. It's been snatched over 50 times with no problems as far as I know.
Is there anyway I can read the dvd I burned on my pc to see what region it is showing?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddyray View Post
I got a big bunch of dick, I am measuring it with a chicken.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1371  
Old 2006-07-24, 07:58 PM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: Burning a DVD - Region Settings

I'm sure there is but I don't use PCs so I would try videohelp.com. That place is great.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1372  
Old 2006-07-25, 05:45 AM
Karst's Avatar
Karst Karst is offline
Utterly Bastard Groovy
71.16 GB/89.50 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belfast
Re: Burning a DVD - Region Settings

I think there are lists online that give you codes that let you set your player to region 0. A friend brough the Led Zep live boxset once from the US and we got the code and it played fine. That said my DVD player was quite cheap and Sony are known for being awkward with this.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1373  
Old 2006-07-25, 01:39 PM
worm worm is offline
428.98 GB/892.01 GB/2.08
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
BURNing DVD9's....HELP!!

I know this has probably been brought up 1000 times but... I have a dual layer burner so I figured I could just drop dvd9 files into nero like dvd5's, then put in the extremely expensive dual layer disk and bling it up but I guess not. They burned to completion just fine so I figured it worked but they will not play. What special things do I need to do. I have wasted over 20 gigs of downloaded shit that I had to delete for space and 25$ on blanks. I got one blank left and want to get it right PLease help
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1374  
Old 2006-07-25, 02:41 PM
jackbutler jackbutler is offline
78.90 GB/77.58 GB/0.98
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Florida
Re: BURNing DVD9's....HELP!!

Will they not play in the PC or a standalone DVD player? Some standalones won't play burned DL. As far as Nero goes it should have worked just fine if it completed the burn with no errors depending on how you burned it (for example dont burn VOBs as data it needs to be burned as DVD Video).
__________________
My DVD List: http://db.etree.org/jackbutler
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1375  
Old 2006-07-26, 04:07 AM
Explosivo Explosivo is offline
58.56 GB/59.33 GB/1.01
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California
Re: Burning a DVD - Region Settings

You said the show was in London, so am I correct in assuming its PAL? Regardless of the region settings, if you have a US Sony DVD player that will be the message you receive with a pal disc. There is a header trick you can use, where you change the ifo files to say NTSC and that should make the disc playable (Sony's can convert PAL -> NTSC on the fly but this ability is turned off). I dont remeber the details of it, but its not very difficult. Do a search for ifo edit header trick and you should find directions.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1376  
Old 2006-07-26, 07:26 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Burning a DVD - Region Settings

here's the trick for PAL > NTSC, or vice versa

http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...20&postcount=5
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1377  
Old 2006-07-26, 11:11 AM
sjoseph's Avatar
sjoseph sjoseph is offline
532.16 GB/214.29 GB/0.40
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Angry gettin' fed up with dvd burnin!!!

Gotta VENT: I've been burning DL-ed audio shows for years now and have ventured into video just recently, but I gotta tell ya I haven't had much success at all. Of the twenty or so shows I've downloaded (days on end, as you all know), only a handful have actually burned correctly. I use Nero (DVD vid , not data) have Windows XP, and have read all the forums for directions and help, but still get the following:
reallocation error when attempting to burn or it burns without error, but when playing in my standalone (which accepts dl-ed shows cuz I've played others), it either skips, pauses and freezes, or it says this is an "incorrect disc." The latter seems to be the problem currently (the Miles Davis part one, the John Butler Trio from Woodford for example)

What the heck??
"George is gettin' angry"
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1378  
Old 2006-07-26, 01:19 PM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: gettin' fed up with dvd burnin!!!

Check a bad disc quality with http://www.cdspeed2000.com and post here a screenshot. Test speed should be set to 8x, regardless what you use for burning.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1379  
Old 2006-07-26, 01:24 PM
bburnett's Avatar
bburnett bburnett is offline
68.76 GB/71.77 GB/1.04
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: gettin' fed up with dvd burnin!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjoseph
Gotta VENT: I've been burning DL-ed audio shows for years now and have ventured into video just recently, but I gotta tell ya I haven't had much success at all. Of the twenty or so shows I've downloaded (days on end, as you all know), only a handful have actually burned correctly. I use Nero (DVD vid , not data) have Windows XP, and have read all the forums for directions and help, but still get the following:
reallocation error when attempting to burn or it burns without error, but when playing in my standalone (which accepts dl-ed shows cuz I've played others), it either skips, pauses and freezes, or it says this is an "incorrect disc." The latter seems to be the problem currently (the Miles Davis part one, the John Butler Trio from Woodford for example)

What the heck??
"George is gettin' angry"
Is your stand alone player older than 3 years? That's most likely your problem.
Older players freeze on the switch from layer 1 to layer 2.
The more data you have, the more likely you are going to have problems, its just the nature of DL.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1380  
Old 2006-07-26, 02:45 PM
sjoseph's Avatar
sjoseph sjoseph is offline
532.16 GB/214.29 GB/0.40
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Re: gettin' fed up with dvd burnin!!!

thanx for the help so far...why the "incorrect disc" error on my standalone? I get it for both single and dual layer...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Problems burning dual layer DVDs - Tubular Technobabble 68 2009-05-04 12:58 PM
Problems burning dvds, answer asap!! - popeye Technobabble 1 2007-02-17 01:11 PM
CD burning problems...Nero... - Gratefulzepp Technobabble 3 2006-04-12 09:41 PM
Need help with burning problems - taylordb Technobabble 7 2006-02-18 10:40 PM
Burning audio problems - Greengoat Technobabble 5 2005-01-15 07:07 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts