The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #991  
Old 2006-02-08, 08:27 PM
gregpua
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Dvd Converters

Not sure if this is the right forum,but what converter do you use to go from any compressed format to decompress it?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #992  
Old 2006-02-08, 09:28 PM
lepaul lepaul is offline
477.22 GB/402.65 GB/0.84
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
DualLayer DVD Help

I wonder if anyone has run into this. I have a couple of duallayer dvd's that I've burned from video shows that were created for duallayer so over 4.7GB. There was no problem downloading the files, no problem in explorer when the files were on my HD, no problems burning to duallayer (NEC 3540A with newest firmware) and no problems playing the dvd's after.
However, and I noticed this right after the burning, when I pop the dvd back into my dvd-rom (either my regular dvd-rom or the nec), the info (VIDEO_TS folders, etc) does not show up in explorer. It's as if there is no data on the disc (even though it plays fine).
My problem is I would like to access the dvd to burn copies but I can't get it to show up for copying, either to HD, or to my TMPEng 1.6 software.

What gives? And how do I get around this?

Windows XP 2
1054 MB RAM
HP computer


Thanks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #993  
Old 2006-02-08, 10:01 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: DualLayer DVD Help

Is this happening with only dual layer DVD's?
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #994  
Old 2006-02-08, 10:04 PM
jcrab66's Avatar
jcrab66 jcrab66 is offline
We all walk the Long Road....
75.63 GB/483.42 GB/6.39
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Bootleg
Re: DualLayer DVD Help

i have experienced the exact same thing with the only dual layer show i burned, havent tried it in a stand alone yet so i am not sure if its the disc or the puter....
__________________
If you want to see a damn good live show check out THIS band.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #995  
Old 2006-02-08, 10:21 PM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: Dvd Converters

The DVDs that you download from this site (VIDEO_TS folders) are not compressed and do not need to be converted in order to burn them.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #996  
Old 2006-02-08, 10:42 PM
lepaul lepaul is offline
477.22 GB/402.65 GB/0.84
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Re: DualLayer DVD Help

Yes, it's only with duallayer dvd's - anything over a regular single layer 4.7GB file.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #997  
Old 2006-02-09, 09:57 AM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: DualLayer DVD Help

Try to use Total Commander: http://www.ghisler.com
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #998  
Old 2006-02-09, 10:37 AM
lepaul lepaul is offline
477.22 GB/402.65 GB/0.84
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Re: DualLayer DVD Help

OK, I tried Total Commander. I get an error message: Drive not ffound on whichever drive I point it to that the duallayer dvd is in.
This whole thing is mystifying. The video show exists, I can play it on stand-alone and my PC, but why does the disc properties not show up in Explorer? It should be just data information to the computer, no matter what size it is.

I also thought perhaps it's the media. It's Verbatim DVD+R DL 8.5GB.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #999  
Old 2006-02-10, 12:22 PM
micenzo's Avatar
micenzo micenzo is offline
223.23 GB/152.44 GB/0.68
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Slovakia
Red face DVD show burning question

Alright, I have downloaded dvd video show. Now how do I burn it so its playable in dvd standalone player?

Might sound stupid but... I suck
__________________
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1000  
Old 2006-02-10, 01:34 PM
armstron armstron is offline
150.65 GB/104.20 GB/0.69
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
DVD Burning Question

Hi, all -- searched a bit, but couldn't find specifics. Anyways -- after downloading dvd's, I have tried burning using a variety of programs. (roxio and nero specifically.) Whenever I create a new project, it involves creating a 'main screen' or menu screen. Most of the dvds I download already have menus created -- I assume I only want to use these, and not use the creation utility in the programs. When I have burned, it seems to 'double up' the menus -- ie. start with the menu I create, and then 'play' the downloaded menu as a part of the video. Any suggesions on how to bypass the 'creation' phase, and just use what has been downloaded. Am currently using NERO 7 demo version and Roxio 6.0. thanks.
Craig
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1001  
Old 2006-02-10, 01:44 PM
overlordprod overlordprod is offline
94.14 GB/74.04 GB/0.79
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Re: DVD Burning Question

Just drag and drop all the files you download into the VIDEO_TS folder in Nero or Roxio, and burn. I don't see why you are getting another menu from the programs itself. You might want to check your settings to see if there is some sort of generate menue setting. But a far as Nero 6 Ultra, I never had this problem.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1002  
Old 2006-02-10, 01:59 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: DVD show burning question

what type of os are you running [windows, mac osx, linux]?
what program do you usually use to burn DVDs [nero, roxio, etc...]?
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1003  
Old 2006-02-10, 02:01 PM
Shakes Shakes is offline
177.82 GB/72.86 GB/0.41
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: DVD Burning Question

Are you opening Nero through Nero Burning Rom, or Nero Xpress? Every one seems to use Xpress for some stupid reason when Nero Burning Rom (selecting it from the start menu) should bring it up for you and burn a normal DVD. And just overlord said, I've never had this problem with Nero.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1004  
Old 2006-02-10, 02:11 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: DVD Burning Question

always use Nero Burning ROM...*not* nero express, etc...

to burn a "watchable" copy [i.e. on yer home dvd player]:
--open Nero Burning ROM
--select "DVD-Video" as yer project type
--drag *all* of the files in the show's Video_TS folder [.ifo, .bup, & .vob files] to the RED Video_TS folder in the project window.
--burn

to burn a "data disc" [which is what you'll want to use for archiving & trading]:
--open Nero Burning ROM
--select "DVD-ROM [ISO/UDF]" as yer project type
--drag the entire show's folder to the project window [including the Video_TS folder, info text, the .md5 checksum, artwork, etc]
--burn
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1005  
Old 2006-02-10, 03:04 PM
funkymeterjosh
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
How Do I transfer

the meters show I just downloaded to the VLC media player to a DVD disc? Id like to take it off my PC and burn unto a Dsc for play on my DVD player at home? What program converts this from the VLC player to a disc? Also what kind of disc do I use CDR? or blank DVD?

Thanks,
Josh
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Problems burning dual layer DVDs - Tubular Technobabble 68 2009-05-04 12:58 PM
Problems burning dvds, answer asap!! - popeye Technobabble 1 2007-02-17 01:11 PM
CD burning problems...Nero... - Gratefulzepp Technobabble 3 2006-04-12 09:41 PM
Need help with burning problems - taylordb Technobabble 7 2006-02-18 10:40 PM
Burning audio problems - Greengoat Technobabble 5 2005-01-15 07:07 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts