The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-12-04, 02:52 PM
Black Dog's Avatar
Black Dog Black Dog is offline
appalachianamerican
1.26 TB/2.77 TB/2.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Stuart, VA
CPU at 100%.........

I'm running XP Pro SP2. When win loads, the taskbar is blank.
Taskmanager\Performance says "CPU usage 100%"

I'm thinking something has corrupted explorer.exe......

Ideas?
__________________
*************************************************
http://www.flickr.com/photos/black_dog_/show/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-12-04, 03:08 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: CPU at 100%.........

Look at your processes list and see what's using up 100% of your CPU.

CTL+ALT+DEL > Task Manager > Click on the processes tab > click on CPU to sort by what's using so much...
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-12-04, 03:18 PM
Black Dog's Avatar
Black Dog Black Dog is offline
appalachianamerican
1.26 TB/2.77 TB/2.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Stuart, VA
Re: CPU at 100%.........

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMamba
Look at your processes list and see what's using up 100% of your CPU.

CTL+ALT+DEL > Task Manager > Click on the processes tab > click on CPU to sort by what's using so much...
explorer at 99%
__________________
*************************************************
http://www.flickr.com/photos/black_dog_/show/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-12-04, 03:27 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: CPU at 100%.........

Something's not right then...don't think I've EVER seen that.

Try rebooting (if you haven't already)...see if it takes a long time to reboot. If that doesn't work, try rebooting in Safe Mode.

If you're pretty good with computers, I'd say reinstall XP and see if that does anything...I can't walk you through that right now...I'm at work.
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-12-04, 03:29 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: CPU at 100%.........

Also...have you changed ANYTHING on your computer lately?
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-12-04, 03:47 PM
Black Dog's Avatar
Black Dog Black Dog is offline
appalachianamerican
1.26 TB/2.77 TB/2.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Stuart, VA
Re: CPU at 100%.........

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMamba
Something's not right then...don't think I've EVER seen that.

Try rebooting (if you haven't already)...see if it takes a long time to reboot. If that doesn't work, try rebooting in Safe Mode.

If you're pretty good with computers, I'd say reinstall XP and see if that does anything...I can't walk you through that right now...I'm at work.
This is probably what I'm going to have to do...

....and that means pulling my HD to copy everything to another drive...

Guess I'll be using the laptop for a few days.....

Thanks
__________________
*************************************************
http://www.flickr.com/photos/black_dog_/show/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-12-04, 03:57 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: CPU at 100%.........

They only other thing I can think of is if you recently updated anything, installed new drivers, new virus program, etc.
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2006-12-04, 04:47 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: CPU at 100%.........

i've seen that all the time. some program is crashing causing a memory leak. If explorer.exe is pegging out then something is wrong. I'd uninstall. Seems like it could be a sign of someone/program attempting to inject into another programs (explorer.exe) memory to go undetected. How people hide trojans, etc... just went bad this time. for them that is.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2006-12-05, 01:20 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: CPU at 100%.........

run an anti-adware prog or two before you wipe it, see if that helps
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2006-12-05, 06:06 PM
diggrd's Avatar
diggrd diggrd is offline
1.10 TB/1.70 TB/1.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SWNH
Re: CPU at 100%.........

Download HijackThis and post the logfile here
__________________
DEMONROAST
LIST
Scene of a Perfect Crime


Quote:
Originally posted by frankenberry
anybody else who decides to call me a fuckhead troll newbie (you know who you are) should be made to listen to phish bootleg taped by a '73 led zeppelin taper
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2006-12-06, 02:02 PM
Black Dog's Avatar
Black Dog Black Dog is offline
appalachianamerican
1.26 TB/2.77 TB/2.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Stuart, VA
Re: CPU at 100%.........

Quote:
Originally Posted by diggrd
Download HijackThis and post the logfile here
I can't install or run anything!

Once the desktop loads, it locks....

I removed the HD, installed it in a ext. case and went to copy docs, pics etc to another drive....

C:\documents and settings\my docs appears empty....

free space has not changed, so the files are still there....

Why won't it let me see them?
__________________
*************************************************
http://www.flickr.com/photos/black_dog_/show/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2006-12-06, 02:21 PM
sadu sadu is offline
789.83 GB/484.60 GB/0.61
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Re: CPU at 100%.........

try viewing them through DOS

-> start menu
-> run
type cmd

type dir C:\documents and settings\my docs
type dir /p

does it show any files
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2006-12-07, 02:32 AM
diggrd's Avatar
diggrd diggrd is offline
1.10 TB/1.70 TB/1.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SWNH
Re: CPU at 100%.........

Can you start in safe mode or hold shift key when xp starts then run an online virus program like http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
__________________
DEMONROAST
LIST
Scene of a Perfect Crime


Quote:
Originally posted by frankenberry
anybody else who decides to call me a fuckhead troll newbie (you know who you are) should be made to listen to phish bootleg taped by a '73 led zeppelin taper
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2007-03-19, 06:08 AM
Black Dog's Avatar
Black Dog Black Dog is offline
appalachianamerican
1.26 TB/2.77 TB/2.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Stuart, VA
Re: CPU at 100%.........

I'm still trying to figure out a way to recover my stuff..

I may have to send the HD to the pros...I can't think of any other options
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen shot.png
( 62.7 KB, 47 views)
 
__________________
*************************************************
http://www.flickr.com/photos/black_dog_/show/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2007-03-19, 07:41 AM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: CPU at 100%.........

try this solution Drew

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=810881
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts