The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 2005-01-27, 11:00 PM
pauly6's Avatar
pauly6 pauly6 is offline
251.74 GB/205.92 GB/0.82
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: best version of win amp?

One more question......


So I have a few shows that I have converted a while ago from Shn or flac to wav on my hard drives. Can I use Fubar to convert those files to flac without quality loss? Would thease be ok for trading? they never left the computer.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #17  
Old 2005-01-27, 11:20 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: best version of win amp?

do you have the info that came with the shows? You will be needing that.

they should be fine, if you compress to FLAC again and generate fingerprints they will certinaly match the original fingerprints so long as the WAV files are intact. If you have md5s for SHN sets, it can be very tricky to recompress to shn and 100% verify them since wholefile md5s sensitive to encoder settings. 99% chance that they're perfectly fine, just give them a good inspection before trading.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #18  
Old 2005-01-28, 10:40 AM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: best version of win amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by irishcrazy2005
RainDawg,
As I can't help but notice, you are a big fan of Foobar2000. I saw your thing on how to create a data base and all of that. My question for you is whether or not you store all of your shows on your hard drive? If you don't, what is the use of creating such a database? I am just curious. Also, is there any way to get a volume control to show up in Foobar?

-Phil
I don't keep ALL of my shows on my hard drive, but I do keep all of my official CDs and several hundred of my favorite boots on there in OGG format (high quality lossy). And no...I don't pass those one . But I do like to be able to download stuff to my portable or listen to it at home, so I keep the database for the around 500-600 or so albums that are currently on my hard drive to easily navigate and play. I also have the database setup on my wife's computer so that she can easily navigate through the music stored on mine (my media drive is mapped as a network drive) easily...I even configured her database to read a custom tag to hide certain music so that she doesn't have to browse through huge quantities of music to find something she likes. Her tastes are quite a bit more narrow than mine. But you're right, if you don't store the music on your drive, then the database is useless.

Yes, there is a volume control in foobar2000. I know it was part of the foo_tunes UI plugin, and I also know that theres one you can install to the default UI or columnsUI, which is what I use now. I actually don't have a volume bar on foobar, but I know it's out there. I personally use just this program, and it works much more nicely for controlling PC output volume in my opinion:

http://www.snapfiles.com/download/dlvolumouse.html
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #19  
Old 2005-01-29, 04:25 PM
bfrank's Avatar
bfrank bfrank is offline
13.02 GB/166.54 GB/12.79
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Here
Re: best version of win amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pauly6
So if I want to burn an audio CD for the car or something, Convert the Shn of Flac to wave with out deleating the input file, burn the wave files , then delete the wave files. That conversion will not have any effect on the origional files , right?
i think
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #20  
Old 2005-01-29, 04:46 PM
wazoo2u wazoo2u is offline
82.15 MB/96.22 MB/1.17
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: best version of win amp?

The Volume of Foobar 2000 can be controlled by making Foobar the active window, and using your keypad Plus (+) or minus (-) keys. It takes a bit of getting used to, because it lags real time, but once you get the hang of it, it works fine.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #21  
Old 2005-01-29, 08:16 PM
tBT
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: best version of win amp?

So many... ways of things. I kinda have a quick question... I'm more the old schooled mp3 person, pretty much because I have no clue how to get a flac or shn file into my portable (and I don't that I can either.). My question is, is there a way I can convert shn to mp3? I have dbpoweramp but I don't see anything for shns and the concerts I'm getting are shn files.

Thanks in advance for any tips/help. ^^
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #22  
Old 2005-01-29, 08:23 PM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: best version of win amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tBT
My question is, is there a way I can convert shn to mp3? I have dbpoweramp but I don't see anything for shns and the concerts I'm getting are shn files.
It seems that this has become my catch phrase recently:

The answer to this, and any other question regarding audio file playing, converting, or tagging is foobar2000. Yes, it will convert directly from SHN to mp3 if that's what you want. Actually, dbPowerAmp will too though. You need to install both the shn and mp3 codec from their page though:
http://www.dbpoweramp.com/codec-central.htm
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #23  
Old 2005-01-29, 08:36 PM
tBT
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: best version of win amp?

Thanks very much! I feel like such a dope right now...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #24  
Old 2005-01-29, 09:32 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: best version of win amp?

RainDawg: If foobar wasn't free....I'd think you were getting a cut of the action!

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #25  
Old 2005-01-29, 10:44 PM
diggrd's Avatar
diggrd diggrd is offline
1.08 TB/1.70 TB/1.57
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SWNH
Re: best version of win amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMamba
RainDawg: If foobar wasn't free....I'd think you were getting a cut of the action!

If Foobar wasn't free it wouldn't be half the program most likely
__________________
DEMONROAST
LIST
Scene of a Perfect Crime


Quote:
Originally posted by frankenberry
anybody else who decides to call me a fuckhead troll newbie (you know who you are) should be made to listen to phish bootleg taped by a '73 led zeppelin taper
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #26  
Old 2005-01-30, 02:19 PM
ssamadhi97's Avatar
ssamadhi97 ssamadhi97 is offline
meow.
87.81 GB/69.41 GB/0.79
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Old Europe
Re: best version of win amp?

On a related note, there's always foo_burninate for burning gapless* audio cds right from foobar2000 - it automagically decodes files to wav, burns a DAO audio cd using Nero libraries, and deletes the temporary files.

So basically you put a blank into your burner, click thrice (highlight tracks, open context menu, pick Write Audio CD... and get a freshly burned disc.

Anyone feel like doing relevant research and maybe write up a small guide on that? (or browse for one at HA?)


*:of course the cd will only be gapless if your source is gapless as well (mpc, ogg vorbis, mp3s with proper aux info)


I'm too busy and lazy, sorry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #27  
Old 2005-01-30, 05:40 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: best version of win amp?

ssamadhi97, can foo_burninate burn with an offset adjustment like EAC?

ps I love the name!
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #28  
Old 2005-01-30, 06:58 PM
bkm669's Avatar
bkm669 bkm669 is offline
bkm669
2.60 TB/3.56 TB/1.37
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: VA
Re: best version of win amp?

I use the latest winamp 5.08. Your question on keeping your flac and shn files and not converting is great and all. But in order to get your music to a cd for portable listening (i.e.. not sitting at your computer). Your gonna usually have to convert to .wav and burn them, in order to play them on a car/home stereo
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #29  
Old 2005-01-30, 07:01 PM
bkm669's Avatar
bkm669 bkm669 is offline
bkm669
2.60 TB/3.56 TB/1.37
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: VA
Re: best version of win amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RainDawg
It seems that this has become my catch phrase recently:

The answer to this, and any other question regarding audio file playing, converting, or tagging is foobar2000. Yes, it will convert directly from SHN to mp3 if that's what you want. Actually, dbPowerAmp will too though. You need to install both the shn and mp3 codec from their page though:
http://www.dbpoweramp.com/codec-central.htm
Easy Cd creator is able to convert to mp3
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #30  
Old 2005-01-31, 04:12 PM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: best version of win amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkm669
I use the latest winamp 5.08. Your question on keeping your flac and shn files and not converting is great and all. But in order to get your music to a cd for portable listening (i.e.. not sitting at your computer). Your gonna usually have to convert to .wav and burn them, in order to play them on a car/home stereo
See ssamadhi's statement above....foobar can burn as well. Also, for those of us who never burn audio CDs at all, foobar is a godsend. I always play the lossless files directly, and have not made an audio CD in well over a year. I use foobar to convert everything to FLAC and then use my Rio Karma to take it on the road.

Winamp serves no advantage here.
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
New Version of EAC Released - guygee Technobabble 9 2009-05-28 06:51 AM
Which version would you circulate? - emptyzero Technobabble 7 2006-05-09 03:44 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts