The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-11-04, 04:32 PM
Emmett T. Jones Emmett T. Jones is offline
185.33 GB/173.88 GB/0.94
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Tracker Status: OK (dht:)

I'm currently seeding a torrent and I have this under my tracker status
heading. What does it mean?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-11-04, 04:45 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Tracker Status: OK (dht:)

It means you have dht turned on. This isn't always a good thing. If you are connected to someone via DHT, then that means the tracker is no longer 'in-the-loop'. Which in turn means stats don't get updated for any data transferred between you and the other person via dht (at least, this is my understanding of the end result. I turn DHT off in Azureus (look up decentralized tracking in the option menu).
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-11-07, 08:41 AM
Emmett T. Jones Emmett T. Jones is offline
185.33 GB/173.88 GB/0.94
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Re: Tracker Status: OK (dht:)

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
It means you have dht turned on. This isn't always a good thing. If you are connected to someone via DHT, then that means the tracker is no longer 'in-the-loop'. Which in turn means stats don't get updated for any data transferred between you and the other person via dht (at least, this is my understanding of the end result. I turn DHT off in Azureus (look up decentralized tracking in the option menu).
Altering the DHT setting in Azureus shows up in a couple of places:

1) Under the "connection" section there is a bullet under peer sources that is default set to "decentralized tracking"

2) Under the "sharing" section there is a bullet choice between "allow decentralized tracking when tracker is unavailable" and "private torrent - only accept peers from the tracker"

3) Also in the "sharing" section there is a pop-up under "protocol for shared resources" and the choices are "decentralized" (the default), UDP, HTTP and HTTP (ssl)


I'm not sure which ones to set. I turned off the bullet mentioned in (1) but the seed is still seeding and the tracker status is still "OK (dht)". I also clicked the bullet mentioned in (2) to "private torrent". The only thing I haven't altered is the pop-up because I'm not sure what to set it too -- UDP, HTTP or HTTP (ssl).

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-11-07, 10:48 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Tracker Status: OK (dht:)

Well, I have the following set for me and don't see the OK(dht) message anymore.

1) Peers Source - I only have From a tracker checked
2) I have none of those four options checked
3) I have the drop-down set to http

My tracker status always just says "OK" now.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-11-07, 11:09 PM
Emmett T. Jones Emmett T. Jones is offline
185.33 GB/173.88 GB/0.94
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Re: Tracker Status: OK (dht:)

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
Well, I have the following set for me and don't see the OK(dht) message anymore.

1) Peers Source - I only have From a tracker checked
2) I have none of those four options checked
3) I have the drop-down set to http

My tracker status always just says "OK" now.

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll try those settings out.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
On Azureus, what does "scrape OK" under tracker status mean? - fonzbear2000 Technobabble 6 2011-04-11 12:31 AM
Tracker Status: Tracker sending invalid data: <NULL> - dmonte Technobabble 2 2008-05-06 06:11 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts