The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-09-07, 12:01 PM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
UTorrent Port settings

I am changed over to uTorrent because of problems with Bit. Any suggestions on port range settings please?
Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-09-07, 12:19 PM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: UTorrent Port settings

Lynne-

I used the port that was in the box already (15845) Can you check on your end f everything is working alright please?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-09-07, 01:33 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: UTorrent Port settings

you're not showing up firewalled right now.
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-09-07, 01:39 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: UTorrent Port settings

You look OK on both the torrents you are on. However, I seem to recall that the default for uTorrent is to pick random ports. So, make sure you go into Options > Preferences > Connection and uncheck the "Randomize port each time uTorrent starts" box. And, you probably want to check the "Add uTorrent to Windows Firewall" option.

Also, you may want to play with the Bandwidth Limiting options to maximize your upload and download rates (set upload to about 80% of the maximum and that will allow good download and upload rates).
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-09-07, 01:49 PM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: UTorrent Port settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
You look OK on both the torrents you are on. However, I seem to recall that the default for uTorrent is to pick random ports. So, make sure you go into Options > Preferences > Connection and uncheck the "Randomize port each time uTorrent starts" box. And, you probably want to check the "Add uTorrent to Windows Firewall" option.

Also, you may want to play with the Bandwidth Limiting options to maximize your upload and download rates (set upload to about 80% of the maximum and that will allow good download and upload rates).

Thanks Lynne-

I'll go ahead and do...also I disabled "Off" my windows firewall. I really don't need it on since I am using a router anyway.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-09-07, 01:52 PM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: UTorrent Port settings

Lynne-

What numbers should I put in the bandwidth boxes for up and down? You said 80% but what is 80% of maximum? (not sure what max number is)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-09-07, 01:58 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: UTorrent Port settings

You should do a speed test for your type of service (dsl or cable modem or whatever). Your ISP probably has it's own page where you can do the test. The numbers you get will probably be in bps (bits per second) so you will need to divide that number by 8 to get Bps (Bytes per second) which is the way bittorrent refers to speeds.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2006-09-07, 02:02 PM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: UTorrent Port settings

Thanks again Lynne!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2006-09-07, 02:14 PM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: UTorrent Port settings

Lynne-

My speeds are:

UP: 540 Kbps

Down: 4300 Kbps

So do I divide these by 8 and put those numbers in the bandwidth limit options for up and down respectively?

So:
UP: (67.5)
and

DOWN: (537.5)

?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2006-09-07, 04:10 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: UTorrent Port settings

Well, I would cap my upload at about 54. That should allow you to still upload at a good rate and download at a really fast rate (assuming you can get that high of a download rate on a torrent). If you need to also be on the computer at the same time, the first thing I would do is cap your download rate if you are getting that high of a speed. I'd put it at about half the max (around 250) and then cap the upload at about 45 or so. You should play with the numbers and see what works for you though.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2006-09-07, 04:12 PM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: UTorrent Port settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
Well, I would cap my upload at about 54. That should allow you to still upload at a good rate and download at a really fast rate (assuming you can get that high of a download rate on a torrent). If you need to also be on the computer at the same time, the first thing I would do is cap your download rate if you are getting that high of a speed. I'd put it at about half the max (around 250) and then cap the upload at about 45 or so. You should play with the numbers and see what works for you though.
Thanks Lynne
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
can anyone help with Azureus Settings? - COLOGNESHARK Technobabble 4 2008-05-22 06:41 AM
Port Forwarded> Firewalled without changing settings? OSX - cleantone Technobabble 17 2006-03-30 12:05 PM
Windows Settings/Account Gone! - netyuppie Technobabble 9 2006-02-14 08:37 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts