The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-09-03, 03:29 AM
Rogue Cheddar Rogue Cheddar is offline
2.21 GB/1.90 GB/0.86
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
firewalled

when i started doing this a few days ago i was firewalled, then i spent a long time forwarding my ports, and then i wasn't firewalled for a couple days, and now it says i am firewalled once again.

why would it change like that? i don't get it.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-09-03, 03:39 AM
Rogue Cheddar Rogue Cheddar is offline
2.21 GB/1.90 GB/0.86
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Re: firewalled

wow just kidding so it now has changed its mind again.

i assume it just does that sometimes?

oh well as long as i'm here, i am running an imac, and using a linksys router, my downloads are typically extremely slow, only occasionally will i get anything faster than 15 KB/S, does anyone have any extra tips for increasing speed?

most of the FAQS out there are for PC so any mac-specific tips would be welcome
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-09-03, 04:11 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: firewalled

what kind of connection do you have?

you might want to try a totally different port. some isp's have got clever on the whole bit torrent thing and will block the mainstream ports used.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-09-03, 10:54 AM
zounds's Avatar
zounds zounds is offline
23.58 GB/27.65 GB/1.17
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Re: firewalled

A simple thing to do is limit your upload speed just below the maximum, because when a torrent client uses all the bandwith to upload it cannot communicate with the tracker, so it slows all your downloads...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-09-03, 11:41 AM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: firewalled

Quote:
Originally Posted by zounds
A simple thing to do is limit your upload speed just below the maximum, because when a torrent client uses all the bandwith to upload it cannot communicate with the tracker, so it slows all your downloads...

How do you limit the upload speed????
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-09-03, 02:47 PM
Rogue Cheddar Rogue Cheddar is offline
2.21 GB/1.90 GB/0.86
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Re: firewalled

im already limiting the upload speed to 10 KB/S.

I am using port 61331. I have verizon DSL.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-09-03, 02:53 PM
Rogue Cheddar Rogue Cheddar is offline
2.21 GB/1.90 GB/0.86
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Re: firewalled

now it says im firewalled again

my one download right now has been at literally 2 KB/S or less all night.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2006-09-04, 07:26 AM
striker327 striker327 is offline
29.47 GB/12.50 GB/0.42
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Re: firewalled

how do u forward ports?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2006-09-04, 12:42 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: firewalled

portforward.com will walk you through the steps for you particular router.

Rogue, you could be downloading at that speed if the seeder is not uploading at a high speed also. Your speed on a torrent depends on so many things besides whether you are firewalled - how many seeders and leechers, what their upload and download speeds are, and the firewalling of all players.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2006-09-04, 01:51 PM
zounds's Avatar
zounds zounds is offline
23.58 GB/27.65 GB/1.17
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Re: firewalled

Quote:
Originally Posted by saveferals
How do you limit the upload speed????
That depends on the torrent client you use... I use utorrent and when you right-click the tray icon there is "upload limit" option... If you use another one try in the option menu or even google the name of your client following with "upload limit", i'm sure you will find something...

ps. I just saw, i'm firewalled, too... But, i guess this is because of my poor ratio... What can i do? I downloaded a DVD and now noone's downloading from me...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2006-09-04, 03:03 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: firewalled

Quote:
Originally Posted by zounds
ps. I just saw, i'm firewalled, too... But, i guess this is because of my poor ratio... What can i do? I downloaded a DVD and now noone's downloading from me...
You are actually only showing up as firewalled on one of those shows. It could have been that at the time the tracker did a check, your ISP or computer connection hiccuped and showed up like that. I wouldn't worry about that. The real problem you have is that only one of the three shows you are uploading on has any leechers. So, just let it be and hopefully someone else will hop onto one of the other shows and download from you. You are doing the right thing by just leaving your windows open like that.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
FIREWALLED - Buckeyedog Technobabble 19 2009-03-12 12:37 AM
Firewalled - canon Technobabble 1 2007-02-04 12:07 PM
Firewalled??? - dannyandamie Technobabble 1 2007-01-31 07:01 PM
there is no way i am firewalled.... - trip4life Technobabble 2 2007-01-25 04:08 PM
Firewalled? - wbaetz Technobabble 8 2007-01-11 05:33 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts