The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-07-30, 03:55 PM
axlelarry's Avatar
axlelarry axlelarry is offline
160.36 GB/154.59 GB/0.96
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Perkinsville VT
TD thinks I'm firewalled. Why?

In the middle of DLing the Velvet Underground show, I returned to TD to see why it was suddenly going so slow (avging about 5Kb/sec through Bit Torrent). In the box by my stats, it said I was firewalled. I checked my network and firewall settings, and everything was as it should be. I checked Dimeadozen, from which I was also DLing a show, and there was no indication that I was firewalled there, while others were clearly indicated to be firewalled.

My upload rate is slower than usual (currently DL=70 KB, UL=5KB, capable of 180 and 45--using DSL). Did I do something wrong?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-07-31, 12:59 AM
dogbiscuit dogbiscuit is offline
8.52 GB/4.51 GB/0.53
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: south florida
Re: TD thinks I'm firewalled. Why?

i'm in the same boat as axlelarry....TD says i'm firewalled but i checked everything and my proper ports are open...i downlaod on dime and jungleland and neither of those say i'm firewalled.

i know my ratio sucks but i'm working on that!

thanks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-07-31, 01:08 AM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: TD thinks I'm firewalled. Why?

Sometimes TTD says you're firewalled when you're actually not (I think, because this seems to happen a lot: there are at least 3 threads a week about it). My suggestion is to restart everything: computer, modem, router, and try again. Your sudden decline in speeds may indicate that there actually is a problem, though.

This site will tell you if you're firewalled or not:
http://btfaq.com/natcheck.pl
make sure you enter the right port #.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-07-31, 01:09 AM
dogbiscuit dogbiscuit is offline
8.52 GB/4.51 GB/0.53
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: south florida
Re: TD thinks I'm firewalled. Why?

saw this is a duplicate thread....logged off and back on and voila--a green light...sorry for the wasted post.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-07-31, 01:16 AM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: TD thinks I'm firewalled. Why?

__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts