The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-07-23, 12:31 PM
metsker's Avatar
metsker metsker is offline
1.64 TB/1.80 TB/1.10
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana
Boosting the audio signal for DVD

I'm trying to get a small dvd together, and the audio is fairly quiet,
rather than release it & tell folks 'turn it up', i'd like to boost it in someway.
I've been using DVD Lab Pro for chapter & menus, so the audio is already demuxed into .ac3 without 're-encoding' is there any way to make the signal stronger? Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-07-23, 12:59 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Boosting the audio signal for DVD

do you have access to the lpcm wav audio? if its only ac3 you have then boosting the volume will mean that you have to decompress to wav, boost, then re-encode to ac3 which would make it double-lossy.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-07-23, 01:17 PM
metsker's Avatar
metsker metsker is offline
1.64 TB/1.80 TB/1.10
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana
Re: Boosting the audio signal for DVD

it was vhs > standalone burner,
dvd decrypter > vobs > DVD Lab Pro > AC3
if that makes any sense.
I could replay the vhs > standalone & send the audio through a mackie board & booste it there, I was just hoping to find an easier way. guessing not
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-07-23, 01:32 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Boosting the audio signal for DVD

will the standalone allow you to capture as LPCM wav instead of AC3, or AC3 yer only option?

if so, i'd recapture that way...then you can dump the wav into any audio editing program and boost the levels easily...

as Five said, you defintiely dont want to go AC3 > wav > boost level > AC3 again
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-07-23, 01:46 PM
metsker's Avatar
metsker metsker is offline
1.64 TB/1.80 TB/1.10
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana
Re: Boosting the audio signal for DVD

the standalone has minimal audio options, i extracted it as a set of vobs (which i still have), then the demuxing was with DVD Lab Pro, maybe not 1st choice, but it's easy. I think the best option is to re-encode the audio & send it through a preamp on it's way to the standalone. OR, can I extract the audio from VOB as wav ? sorry for the newb questions, I appreciate it
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-07-23, 01:53 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Boosting the audio signal for DVD

i would send it thru yer pre-amp and recapture...to extract the audio from the vob [which you said is AC3, i.e. "lossy"], convert to wav for editing, then re-encode would make it "double-lossy", kinda like taking an mp3, converting to wav, then back to mp3

DVD Lab Pro *might* allow you to adjust audio levels of AC3 files internally, but i've got no knowlege of that program, so...you might check their website or videohelp.com to research more
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-07-23, 02:13 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Boosting the audio signal for DVD

Quote:
Originally Posted by metsker
I could replay the vhs > standalone & send the audio through a mackie board & booste it there, I was just hoping to find an easier way. guessing not
that's your best option.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
NEED HEARTLAND/SIGNAL SHOWS - garth Snail Mail Trading 3 2008-06-25 09:40 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts