The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-06-21, 03:34 PM
philnepp philnepp is offline
484.49 GB/2.62 TB/5.53
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
why firewalled?

for some reason i am showing as firewalled while dl the kid creole. i've never been firewalled before nor on any other sites i use ( lma, dime etc. )

would appreciate any guidance.

thanx,

philnepp
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-06-21, 03:55 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: why firewalled?

Did you already verify that your router has port 6346 forwarded for the IP that shows up when you do an ipconfig in a terminal? You might also want to do a NAT check here: http://btfaq.com/natcheck.pl
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-06-25, 12:26 PM
silky13
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: why firewalled?

I thought it was 6881-6889 that needed to be forwarded? Do I need to forward 6346 as well?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-06-25, 12:53 PM
xequence's Avatar
xequence xequence is offline
34.48 GB/65.23 GB/1.89
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Re: why firewalled?

You shouldent use any port around 6881 because ISPs tend to block them, as they are often used for P2P.

To test if your ports are forwarded right, take whatever port you use and add it to this URL:

http://www.utorrent.com/testport.php?port=

I recomend using a port in the 50000's.

EDIT: I guess the other link posted does the same thing. I didnt know what NAT was, so I didnt think it was the same thing as port forwarding...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-06-25, 01:17 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: why firewalled?

It sounds like you may have your bittorrent client set to randomly pick a port (thus you were on port 6346 on that torrent). Go into the bittorrent preferences and tell it what range you have forwarded through your router so it only uses those particular ports.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
FIREWALLED - Buckeyedog Technobabble 19 2009-03-12 12:37 AM
Firewalled - canon Technobabble 1 2007-02-04 12:07 PM
Firewalled??? - dannyandamie Technobabble 1 2007-01-31 07:01 PM
there is no way i am firewalled.... - trip4life Technobabble 2 2007-01-25 04:08 PM
Firewalled? - wbaetz Technobabble 8 2007-01-11 05:33 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts