The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #46  
Old 2006-06-28, 03:14 PM
zosa's Avatar
zosa zosa is offline
trigonometric parallax
302.16 GB/406.51 GB/1.35
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

I'll second these:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ffooky
Azureus
xACT
Toast 7
VLC
ffmpegX
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #47  
Old 2006-07-05, 07:53 PM
Scott Scott is offline
305.86 GB/764.55 GB/2.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bottom of a bottle
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

Audio Ripper from DVD's for MAC...What program?

Also, Is there a DVD Decrypter for macs as well?
__________________
ROMNEY 2012
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #48  
Old 2006-07-06, 02:39 AM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.61 GB/1.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

If you want to preserve chapter/track splits, open the VIDEO_TS/disc in the Media Browser of Toast 7's Video tab, drag the tracks across to the main window, select them all and hit the Export button. Choose your format, sample rate etc and let it rip.

N.B. For a VIDEO_TS to be available to the browser it must be either in your ~/Movies directory or on the desktop, unwrapped.

The Decrypter equivalent is MacTheRipper.
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #49  
Old 2006-07-07, 10:07 AM
Scott Scott is offline
305.86 GB/764.55 GB/2.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bottom of a bottle
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

__________________
ROMNEY 2012
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #50  
Old 2006-07-09, 02:32 AM
reece's Avatar
reece reece is offline
Funk Is Its Own Reward
235.85 GB/427.46 GB/1.81
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Everything Is On The ONE!
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

Okay, I have another problem.

I cannot connect to certain websites. I get a "problem loading page"/"unable to connect to..."

For instance, I can get onto real.com but when I try and download the player I get unable to connect to forms.real.com

I cannot connect to http://hydrogenaudio.org/

I can get to this page: http://mac.sofotex.com/downloads/d129443.html
but when I click the download link it says unable to connect to widget.mattvestal.com.

The page loads at www.ebay.com but all of the images won't. They say unable to connect to server at us.ebayobjects.com.


I've pinged these sites and I get a "no route to host."

I'be pinged ebay and I get

Quote:
ping: cannot resolve wwww.ebay.com: Unknown host
I've pinged TTD and other sites which I have no problem connectting with and I get
Quote:
64 bytes from 69.61.60.11: icmp_seq=0 ttl=51 time=106.134 ms
64 bytes from 69.61.60.11: icmp_seq=1 ttl=51 time=107.297 ms
64 bytes from 69.61.60.11: icmp_seq=2 ttl=51 time=105.246 ms
64 bytes from 69.61.60.11: icmp_seq=3 ttl=51 time=107.010 ms
64 bytes from 69.61.60.11: icmp_seq=4 ttl=51 time=108.942 ms
64 bytes from 69.61.60.11: icmp_seq=5 ttl=51 time=104.626 ms
64 bytes from 69.61.60.11: icmp_seq=6 ttl=51 time=105.808 ms
64 bytes from 69.61.60.11: icmp_seq=7 ttl=51 time=106.138 ms
64 bytes from 69.61.60.11: icmp_seq=8 ttl=51 time=106.991 ms
....


Thanks for any help
__________________
Oh, you's a corn-fed fool with a lot of muscle mass. But it's time for Bullhorn to get up in that ass!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #51  
Old 2006-07-09, 09:06 AM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.61 GB/1.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

Are you running a router/firewall/Little Snitch ?
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #52  
Old 2006-07-09, 11:57 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

What ffooky says. But also, what browser? And have you tried the same websites using a different one? If you are running firefox, do you have any extensions installed that might only allow certain websites and not others? (Also, in firefox > preferences > content, do you have load images checked? and For the originating web site only? That one might cause the image problem with ebay that you have.)
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #53  
Old 2006-07-09, 02:20 PM
reece's Avatar
reece reece is offline
Funk Is Its Own Reward
235.85 GB/427.46 GB/1.81
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Everything Is On The ONE!
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

I do have a router. It's a Linksys VOIP router. I had to re-forward the ports when I switched to the imac. I'm using firefox but I have tried the same sites with safari and I get the same reply. The only extension I had added was a "videodownloader" thingy. When I tried to access it I'd get an unable to connect to videodownloader.net. I've removed the extension.

In firefox the "load images" box is checked and the "originating web site" box is not. Should it be?


Thanks guys.
__________________
Oh, you's a corn-fed fool with a lot of muscle mass. But it's time for Bullhorn to get up in that ass!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #54  
Old 2006-07-09, 02:37 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by reece
In firefox the "load images" box is checked and the "originating web site" box is not. Should it be?
No, it should not.

Do you have some sort of parental controls being used? It's like certain sites are being blocked from you for some reason. If it's happening with both browsers, then it isn't a browser thing, it's a computer or router thing. Did you used to be able to get to those sites when you first started using your mac?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #55  
Old 2006-07-09, 03:18 PM
reece's Avatar
reece reece is offline
Funk Is Its Own Reward
235.85 GB/427.46 GB/1.81
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Everything Is On The ONE!
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
No, it should not.

Do you have some sort of parental controls being used? It's like certain sites are being blocked from you for some reason. If it's happening with both browsers, then it isn't a browser thing, it's a computer or router thing. Did you used to be able to get to those sites when you first started using your mac?
I haven't set any parental controls. In safari the "enable parental controls" box is grayed out. I cannot find parental controls for firefox.


No, I've never been able to access those sites. The first one I remember was the realplayer thing. I tried downloading it for the plugin because I couldn't stream anything using realplayer without it (still can't).
__________________
Oh, you's a corn-fed fool with a lot of muscle mass. But it's time for Bullhorn to get up in that ass!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #56  
Old 2006-07-09, 06:05 PM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.61 GB/1.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

Absolute shot in the dark but if you go (in Finder) Go->Go To Folder... and enter:

/etc

is there a document in that directory named host ?

If there is, drop it on TextEdit and see if any of the sites you're unable to access appear there, prefixed with an IP of 127.0.0.1 (or 0.0.0.0)
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #57  
Old 2006-07-09, 06:44 PM
reece's Avatar
reece reece is offline
Funk Is Its Own Reward
235.85 GB/427.46 GB/1.81
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Everything Is On The ONE!
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

There are a number of "host" files

There is a file, "hosts," which says

Quote:
##
# Host Database
#
# localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
# when the system is booting. Do not change this entry.
##
127.0.0.1 localhost
255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
::1 localhost

There is a "hostconfig"

Quote:
AFPSERVER=-NO-
AUTHSERVER=-NO-
AUTOMOUNT=-YES-
CUPS=-AUTOMATIC-
NFSLOCKS=-AUTOMATIC-
NISDOMAIN=-NO-
TIMESYNC=-YES-
QTSSERVER=-NO-
WEBSERVER=-NO-
SMBSERVER=-NO-
SNMPSERVER=-NO-
SPOTLIGHT=-YES-
"hostconfig~"

Quote:
AFPSERVER=-YES-
AUTHSERVER=-NO-
AUTOMOUNT=-YES-
CUPS=-AUTOMATIC-
NFSLOCKS=-AUTOMATIC-
NISDOMAIN=-NO-
TIMESYNC=-YES-
QTSSERVER=-NO-
WEBSERVER=-NO-
SMBSERVER=-NO-
SNMPSERVER=-NO-
SPOTLIGHT=-YES-

There is also "hosts.equiv" and "hosts.lpd" which I cannot open.
__________________
Oh, you's a corn-fed fool with a lot of muscle mass. But it's time for Bullhorn to get up in that ass!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #58  
Old 2006-07-09, 06:54 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

Where did you get the entries to add as your DNS Servers in your Configuration? Are they the same ones that you used when you were using your PC? (Sys Preferences > Network > Built-In Ethernet > Configure > TCP/IP)

I know, total shot in the dark, but I think that's about where we are right now.. in the dark!
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #59  
Old 2006-07-09, 07:40 PM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.61 GB/1.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

The hosts file is kosher but Agent Lynne's angle is a good'un
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #60  
Old 2006-07-09, 11:16 PM
reece's Avatar
reece reece is offline
Funk Is Its Own Reward
235.85 GB/427.46 GB/1.81
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Everything Is On The ONE!
Re: New to imac. Looking for a little advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
Where did you get the entries to add as your DNS Servers in your Configuration? Are they the same ones that you used when you were using your PC? (Sys Preferences > Network > Built-In Ethernet > Configure > TCP/IP)

I know, total shot in the dark, but I think that's about where we are right now.. in the dark!
I don't know what I used with the PC. Everything just worked, I think. I followed instructions to forward ports after I got the VOIP but nothing was committed to memory. There was no difference before or after VOIP on PC.

Here is a screen capture of the Sys Pref > Network > thingy

I don't have anything entered as my DNS Servers

Damn the dark!

__________________
Oh, you's a corn-fed fool with a lot of muscle mass. But it's time for Bullhorn to get up in that ass!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Playing/Burning DVD torrents on Imac - Lippy Technobabble 11 2009-04-23 03:40 PM
new to video torrents-imac user - alaskapanic Technobabble 2 2008-01-25 11:10 AM
Oregon IMAC nov.29 1986 - nowandever CD Covers 0 2007-11-17 04:00 PM
iMac - Track Markers - coni14 Technobabble 6 2006-10-17 02:43 PM
iMac intel BT client? - s_k_y Technobabble 7 2006-01-24 05:14 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts