The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-05-23, 03:47 PM
pauglife's Avatar
pauglife pauglife is offline
Who's the Masta???? Shonuff!!
968.56 GB/954.35 GB/0.99
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Top Dead Centah, Massahfahkinchusetts
anyone use a jvc minidv?

Just got mine and wondering what the proper way to connect it to my pc is. I have a firewire card in my pc and a 4 pin to 6 pin dv cord and it doesn't work. So I was looking at the jvc cords and they have those core filters on them. But they only sell 4 to 4 pin or 6 to 6 cables. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated
__________________
I never could read no roadmap
No I don't know what the weather might do

The Dude abides
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-05-23, 03:55 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: anyone use a jvc minidv?

Why do you think it doesn't work? Do you have it set to be in VCR mode? I've never used one but I can't imagine there is anything unique about them.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-05-23, 04:26 PM
pauglife's Avatar
pauglife pauglife is offline
Who's the Masta???? Shonuff!!
968.56 GB/954.35 GB/0.99
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Top Dead Centah, Massahfahkinchusetts
Re: anyone use a jvc minidv?

I have it set to vcr mode. i bought one of the no name 4 to 6 pin cables cause that's all i could find. it's also a new firewire card but it seems to be working properly. But when i plug in my cable to my camcorder there is no response at all. I'm using vegas and it's just giving me the "please connect a device screen"
I looked at the jvc support site and all they say is for certain firewire connections you will have to use third party cables. That's what I have so....
__________________
I never could read no roadmap
No I don't know what the weather might do

The Dude abides
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-05-23, 04:28 PM
pauglife's Avatar
pauglife pauglife is offline
Who's the Masta???? Shonuff!!
968.56 GB/954.35 GB/0.99
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Top Dead Centah, Massahfahkinchusetts
Re: anyone use a jvc minidv?

btw thanks salt. I was all set to follow your instructions on proper dvd settings for vegas and can't get this damn thing rollin
__________________
I never could read no roadmap
No I don't know what the weather might do

The Dude abides
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-05-23, 04:54 PM
leatherman leatherman is offline
345.52 GB/460.50 GB/1.33
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Re: anyone use a jvc minidv?

I have a jvc mini dv cam I use with Final Cut Pro all the time. Never had any problems with it. You sure you're using the firewire port on the cam and not the usb? I know that sounds stupid, but the small usb & firewire ports can be pretty easy to confuse.

also, make sure it's definitely in vcr mode.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-05-23, 05:33 PM
pauglife's Avatar
pauglife pauglife is offline
Who's the Masta???? Shonuff!!
968.56 GB/954.35 GB/0.99
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Top Dead Centah, Massahfahkinchusetts
Re: anyone use a jvc minidv?

I tried using the ulead software that came with my firewire card and it tells me there are no capture drivers installed in this system. ?
__________________
I never could read no roadmap
No I don't know what the weather might do

The Dude abides
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-05-23, 06:11 PM
pauglife's Avatar
pauglife pauglife is offline
Who's the Masta???? Shonuff!!
968.56 GB/954.35 GB/0.99
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Top Dead Centah, Massahfahkinchusetts
Re: anyone use a jvc minidv?

well just got off the phone with jvc support and after about 20 minutes of monkeying around they told me my firewire card is most likely not compatible with my camera. (just waited a damn week for my card in the mail) so i'm off to buy a new card and if that doesn't work
__________________
I never could read no roadmap
No I don't know what the weather might do

The Dude abides
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
miniDV to DVD - AC3 or PCM? - NoddingTurdFAN Technobabble 8 2005-01-08 05:11 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts