The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-05-21, 10:06 AM
greenie44 greenie44 is offline
56.11 GB/238.77 GB/4.26
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
AVI problems

Please forgive me in advance if this is not an appropriate forum for this question, but I have always found the folks here to be extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

I recently got a new computer )Compaq) with XP Media Edition on it. Whenever I try and access an AVI, I get a Windows error. I fixed this problem for File Explorer by turning off the preview function with a command (regsrvr32 /u shmedia.dll), but I still have the problem whenever I try to access the file to burn it with Nero, make a DVD from them with DVD Santa, etc. I'm thinking its some DLL somewhere, but I don't know where.

Anyone familiar with this problem? Any suggestions on where to go for help?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-05-21, 10:23 AM
hanshak2015's Avatar
hanshak2015 hanshak2015 is offline
Fleet Street Afficionado
38.02 GB/41.65 GB/1.10
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Legoland
Re: AVI problems

If you just want to play the vids, use a freeware software called Video Lan Client (VLC). It's the best player around for AVIs/XVIDs.

I never converted an AVI to DVD with Nero so no idea how to do that.
__________________
the bakery - yes, we're open.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-05-21, 10:56 AM
greenie44 greenie44 is offline
56.11 GB/238.77 GB/4.26
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Re: AVI problems

Thanks for the tip. VLC plays the AVIs great, but I still have a problem whenever I try to burn them with Nero StartSmart. It looks like I get an error when it tries to open the AVI in preview mode. I also get the problem with DVD Santa after I add files and try to select a directory to burn the DVD files to.

Could this be some registry, DLL or codec (sp?) issue?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-05-21, 10:58 AM
hanshak2015's Avatar
hanshak2015 hanshak2015 is offline
Fleet Street Afficionado
38.02 GB/41.65 GB/1.10
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Legoland
Re: AVI problems

I'd say yes, because you get the problem with different progs. How do you want to burn those AVIs? Just as a data disc or converted to DVD?
__________________
the bakery - yes, we're open.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-05-21, 11:13 AM
greenie44 greenie44 is offline
56.11 GB/238.77 GB/4.26
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Re: AVI problems

Thanks again for your advice. I loaded VLC and it plays the files fine - pretty nice little app, too.

For these files, I can get by with just a VCD. It appears I can do that with Nero using the 'Advanced' setting, where I just drag files to the template. But I would like the ability to combine AVIs together to make a DVD, as I did in the past.

And it just ticks me off that there is an underlying problem, too. I don't care if I can't preview the files in Explorer, but why should there be a general issue with XP on such a common file type? (I know it's not your fault , but I'm just venting a bit )

Thanks again for your help.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-05-21, 11:23 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: AVI problems

I'm not a windows user, so I can't help on this specific problem. But, you might want to try googling "windows XP avi problem" or similar and take a look at the responses. I had several hits but I wasn't sure if they addressed your specific problem.

Good luck!
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-05-21, 11:30 AM
hanshak2015's Avatar
hanshak2015 hanshak2015 is offline
Fleet Street Afficionado
38.02 GB/41.65 GB/1.10
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Legoland
Re: AVI problems

AVI covers a whole of different formats, so do all AVIs have these problems? You could try downloading a codec pack (Nimo Codec Pack) for example and see if the problem disappears. Maybe your system is just missing some codecs.
__________________
the bakery - yes, we're open.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2006-05-21, 11:56 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: AVI problems

"avi" can contain many codecs... VLC doesn't require codecs, everything it uses comes with it. so most likely it is something with your system. I've heard its best to uninstall all codec packs and install the latest versions of the codecs you use. I've got a similar problem on one of my machines when using xvid codec.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2006-05-21, 11:58 AM
greenie44 greenie44 is offline
56.11 GB/238.77 GB/4.26
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Re: AVI problems

hanshak2015 and U2Lynne -

With your help and suggestions, problem resolved! Lynne, I had googled, but I used your search terms and was able to find a codec finder, which allowed me to drag the AVI in question to it and it told me that the codec wasn't there. hanshak, I then googled to find a codec pack, installed it, and, walla, it all works.

Thanks for all the help folks - you guys and gals are the greatest. If only Microsoft had people of your caliber working there . . . . (huge opening for sarcastic comments
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2006-05-21, 01:25 PM
hanshak2015's Avatar
hanshak2015 hanshak2015 is offline
Fleet Street Afficionado
38.02 GB/41.65 GB/1.10
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Legoland
Re: AVI problems

Glad I could help.
__________________
the bakery - yes, we're open.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2006-05-21, 03:28 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: AVI problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenie44
hanshak2015 and U2Lynne -

With your help and suggestions, problem resolved! Lynne, I had googled, but I used your search terms and was able to find a codec finder, which allowed me to drag the AVI in question to it and it told me that the codec wasn't there. hanshak, I then googled to find a codec pack, installed it, and, walla, it all works.

Thanks for all the help folks - you guys and gals are the greatest. If only Microsoft had people of your caliber working there . . . . (huge opening for sarcastic comments
Cool. As I was reading, the first thing that popped into my head was codecs...and then everyone answered that too.

Can you post a link to that codec finder?
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2006-05-21, 09:45 PM
greenie44 greenie44 is offline
56.11 GB/238.77 GB/4.26
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Re: AVI problems

Sure - http://downloads.vnunet.com/download...er/_36024.html

Pretty cool - you just drag a file over to the finder and it tells you what codec it uses and if you have it installed on your machine.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Serious Problems - VHS - Need Help - Crotchy Technobabble 14 2007-04-23 09:07 AM
DVD Problems.... - kidrocklive Technobabble 4 2005-09-23 06:31 PM
problems??? - ucusty Site Announcements & Suggestions 2 2005-02-24 11:14 PM
md5 Problems - pmonk Technobabble 2 2005-02-21 11:25 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts