The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-01-02, 05:37 PM
Tate Tate is offline
21.53 GB/3.46 GB/0.16
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
dBPowerAMP question

Sorry for the dumb question, but I was wondering..... does it make a difference if files (SHN, FLAC, APE) are converted to WAV with dBPowerAMP instead of their own program, like mkw audio, flac frontend, monkey's audio.

I always use these programs, but now I got some APE files that I can't decode with Monkey's Audio (for some reason, I get an error) but I can convert them with dBPowerAMP. Does it make a difference? Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-01-02, 05:46 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
189.30 GB/594.78 GB/3.14
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York City
Re: dBPowerAMP question

try foobar as well... if you still have to decode using dbpoweramp, at least you can bit-verify the files using foobar and find out for certain if it is decoding perfectly.
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ead.php?t=1112
__________________
Checksums Demystified | ask for help in Technobabble

thetradersden.org | ttd recommended free software/freeware webring
shntool tlh eac foobar2000 spek audacity cdwave vlc

Quote:
Originally posted by oxymoron
Here you are in a place of permanent madness, be careful!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-01-03, 11:17 AM
Tate Tate is offline
21.53 GB/3.46 GB/0.16
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: dBPowerAMP question

Thanks, never heard of that program. I'll give it a try
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-01-04, 10:57 AM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: dBPowerAMP question

It may make a difference, actually. dbPowerAmp may decode through a certain error that will alter the audio of the file itself.

Use foobar using the tutorial Five has linked above, to check the original APE file and the resultant WAV file using BitVerify to confirm that they are acoustically identical.

Under normal circumstances, it shouldn't matter what program you use to convert lossless files, but it's always best to use BitVerify after every conversion to ensure that no corruption error has occured...especially since APE does not have the robust internal error-checking that FLAC does.
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-01-04, 06:41 PM
Tate Tate is offline
21.53 GB/3.46 GB/0.16
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: dBPowerAMP question

Cool, did not know that!
Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-01-05, 05:21 AM
rerem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: dBPowerAMP question

Ape takes forever to convert-hope it dissapears
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
TLH Shn Decoding Question + Torrent Question - EasilyFound Technobabble 13 2009-03-24 05:13 PM
md5 question - Drewa311 Technobabble 30 2008-02-25 12:19 PM
EAC question - artatore Technobabble 6 2007-12-25 09:09 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts